a don in oz Posted February 8, 2016 Share Posted February 8, 2016 Well that was an unexpected email. My connection to RedTV was pretty shit during the Celtic game. Kept on going to low-res and occasionally buffering. This while I have a 112Mbps connection so there's no way it should be doing any of that. Contacted RedTV during the game and they asked a few questions and had a few suggestions (none of which were useful) and so I forgot about it. Got an email today saying they've *investigated* and there is a problem with the final hops to my connection (so they took a tracert to my IP) and asked my ISP because they want to get in touch to find out what is going on (because they use Amazon AWS for their streaming (and I know there *is* a presence in Oz for AWS so there shouldn't be an issue there). So that was quite bizarre. The old mob that ran RedTV would never have bothered following up. I'm quite impressed. 1 Link to comment
BWG Posted February 8, 2016 Share Posted February 8, 2016 Well that was an unexpected email. My connection to RedTV was pretty shit during the Celtic game. Kept on going to low-res and occasionally buffering. This while I have a 112Mbps connection so there's no way it should be doing any of that. Contacted RedTV during the game and they asked a few questions and had a few suggestions (none of which were useful) and so I forgot about it. Got an email today saying they've *investigated* and there is a problem with the final hops to my connection (so they took a tracert to my IP) and asked my ISP because they want to get in touch to find out what is going on (because they use Amazon AWS for their streaming (and I know there *is* a presence in Oz for AWS so there shouldn't be an issue there). So that was quite bizarre. The old mob that ran RedTV would never have bothered following up. I'm quite impressed. I have to say, I've been quite impressed with the new RedTV support as well. Think it's a company in Livingston that support it. Link to comment
WA_Don Posted February 9, 2016 Share Posted February 9, 2016 Adoninoz who you with? Telstra? Link to comment
WA_Don Posted February 9, 2016 Share Posted February 9, 2016 They are I'm with them and Im contracted to have adsl2 and it's shite. you got nbn where you are yet? Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 9, 2016 Author Share Posted February 9, 2016 No NBN here. It'll be late next year if it comes and will be delivered via the existing Cable (HFC) network which sucks. No fibre to the ANYTHING (FTTN/FTTC/FTTH) for me. And yeah it's Telstra Cable I've got. The speed is pretty impressive against the alternatives but something is up re: RedTV with it. I usually download stuff at 10-13MB/s with the connection so it's plenty fast for a poxy streaming feed. Hope they figure it out. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 9, 2016 Author Share Posted February 9, 2016 In the name of FUCK! Mine dribbles through at 2 Mbps. Probably originates from your local server... Until November last year I was on ADSL2 getting a stonking 4Mbps connection which usually was utterly useless in peak periods (evenings, weekends) getting maybe 50KB/s downloads. Was crap. Now I pay double what I paid then but get the speeds I do so... worth it for me but it's not cheap. about GBP60/month for internet+phone. Link to comment
WA_Don Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 Until November last year I was on ADSL2 getting a stonking 4Mbps connection which usually was utterly useless in peak periods (evenings, weekends) getting maybe 50KB/s downloads. Was crap. Now I pay double what I paid then but get the speeds I do so... worth it for me but it's not cheap. about GBP60/month for internet+phone. is that with telstra? im averaging 12.9mbps off peak, have called them to see if i can get it faster Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 10, 2016 Author Share Posted February 10, 2016 Telstra Cable. My package with them is $109 I think which gives 30/1. I pay an extra $20 to get the 100+/2. It's peak-ish right now here and I'm only getting about 72/1.8 actually... no, I was downloading. just stopped that and did it again. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 Can you keep this Australian internet pish to a seperate thread. 5 Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 10, 2016 Author Share Posted February 10, 2016 Fuck. Mine is about 4 on adsl2+. Crap. I'm going to wait for the NBN. I don't want to give Telstra one cent directly. Does it make a difference if you have loads of stuff accessing the internet? Not really. Had multiple things going together up to about the 13MBps. Honestly though not much online will let you download from it at that rate (Steam is one thing). Link to comment
WA_Don Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 cant get telstra cable in my area so adsl2+ for me alscotoz, call your provider about your connection, the max mbps i could get for my connection is 17, so they did a reset and update on their end and i jumped from 4 to 14-15mbps Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 Fuck sake, there's another one Link to comment
WA_Don Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 throw another shrimp on the barbie for us cobbah! Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 Throw a fuckin convict on the barbie. Link to comment
WA_Don Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 Throw a fuckin convict on the barbie.most have been dead for a 100years or so, so should make nice kindleing Link to comment
WA_Don Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 and just to rub it un a bit further, instead of 5oC and rain, it was 42oC and sunny here today :D Link to comment
dave_min Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 doesnt bother me, im a migrantDeported? Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted February 10, 2016 Share Posted February 10, 2016 Great gallahs! . Link to comment
WA_Don Posted February 11, 2016 Share Posted February 11, 2016 Stone the crows! Boofs a hater Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 11, 2016 Share Posted February 11, 2016 Stone the crows! Boofs a hater Too many of you Aussie pricks at my work who keep banging on about Gorgon. If Gorgon is that great a project why you nae still fucking on it? Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 11, 2016 Author Share Posted February 11, 2016 Fucks sake we're trying to talk about Australian internet here Boofon. Keep your off topic oil shite to OilChat-Forum.com or something ffs. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 11, 2016 Share Posted February 11, 2016 Fucks sake we're trying to talk about Australian internet here Boofon. Keep your off topic oil shite to OilChat-Forum.com or something ffs. Ram it. @@Sonoftherock showing his true colours here. Link to comment
woohoo Posted February 11, 2016 Share Posted February 11, 2016 Have RedTV sorted the net for us Aussies? Last two games I've got up for have been unwatchable... normally quality is grand.Internet where i am is pretty decent. Don't know fuck all about speeds but i can stream porn n netflix no bother. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 11, 2016 Share Posted February 11, 2016 Ripper. Aye that's probably why you had to move out of Dundee you beast. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 11, 2016 Share Posted February 11, 2016 Aye that's probably why you had to move out of Dundee you beast. Rack off Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 11, 2016 Share Posted February 11, 2016 Flamin Galaahs Link to comment