Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 Inspired by MTs Capri thread, what cars have you owned and what became of them? Preferably list the vehicles in proper order. All my cars have been 2nd hand - doubt I'd buy a new one ever. Though my most recent car only had 2,000 miles on it when I got it. 1. Rover 214 SLi. Written off in a head-on car crash directly outside sellick park (of all places). 2. Rover 414i. Head gasket went but still managed to trade it in (!) against #3. 3. Vauxhall Astra 1.6 Club. Served me quite well but developed oil leaks. Traded in (!) against #4. 4. Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTi. 80,000 miles and going strong. 6 yrs old this yr. (I remember the spectacular 4-vehicle crash in (1) like it was yesterday. It remains the loudest noise I have ever heard. The lousy c*nt who caused the crash didn't even stop and left me and two other motorists blocking London road in a flurry of smashed cars, broken glass and split fuel.) Next I'd like either: (no hurry to swap though - other priorities). - Chrysler 300C (3.0 V6 turbo-diesel) OR - Vauxhall Insignia 4x4 Bi-Turbo (2.0 turbo-diesel) Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 1/ Escort MK4 1.3 Traded in against # 2 2/ Rover Metro GTI Nippy as fuck . Sold to a wifie in Stoney 3/ BMW 318 bucket of shite, gearbox and master cylinder replaced, the age when everything was going wrong with it...Traded in against #4 4/ Renault Laguna 1.8 RT Bland as fuck but done the job. Traded in against #5 5/ Subaru Impreza Sport decent enough but knew I needed to get shot as I was getting a new car delivered from daaan sawf...Traded in for the wife to get a Clio i think 6/ Subaru Impreza WRX STI WR1 Still got it after nearly 5 years and still makes me smile when Im driving it (except when I go down pot holes) Link to comment
cow Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 Inspired by MTs Capri thread, what cars have you owned and what became of them? Preferably list the vehicles in proper order. All my cars have been 2nd hand - doubt I'd buy a new one ever. Though my most recent car only had 2,000 miles on it when I got it. 1. Rover 214 SLi. Written off in a head-on car crash directly outside sellick park (of all places). 2. Rover 414i. Head gasket went but still managed to trade it in (!) against #3. 3. Vauxhall Astra 1.6 Club. Served me quite well but developed oil leaks. Traded in (!) against #4. 4. Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTi. 80,000 miles and going strong. 6 yrs old this yr. (I remember the spectacular 4-vehicle crash in (1) like it was yesterday. It remains the loudest noise I have ever heard. The lousy c*nt who caused the crash didn't even stop and left me and two other motorists blocking London road in a flurry of smashed cars, broken glass and split fuel.) Next I'd like either: (no hurry to swap though - other priorities). - Chrysler 300C (3.0 V6 turbo-diesel) OR - Vauxhall Insignia 4x4 Bi-Turbo (2.0 turbo-diesel) 1st car - Lexus GS 300 sedan Wonderful car. Bought it with 47,000 on the clock, changed brake pads at 70,000, discs at 105,000. Other than oil and filters no work done sold it 4 years later with 130,000 on the clock. 2nd car - Ford Focus 1.6 Bought it new in 2007 for £15,900 sold it a year later for £12,400 piece of shite. Poorly made, terrible to drive and the drivers seat game me TMJ problems. 3rd Car - Lexus IS 250. Stunning motor that I simply can't fault. Again you have to do nothing to the car its just brilliantly made. Looks understated, but reeks of class. I want the F- Sport but I can't quite afford it at present. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 VW Golf, umm... canna mind.. hit a bus with it though. Some kind of Renault, hit a tree on South Anderson drive, then plowed into some woman's garden through a brick wall. A Rover... traded it for a Nissan. A Nissan, favourite (non-Jeep) car evar... A Ford Escort, company car and without a doubt, despite being brand new, was the worst piece of four-wheeled shite I have ever driven. Never bought a Ford following that experience. Jeep Cherokee 4x4... the greatest vehicle in the history of automobile making. I drove that fucker through 3 feet of snow after a boozy weekend at the Flats in Ohio. Nothing could stop that motor... absolute monster. Chrysler Crossfire... good-looking, fast, absolute piece of shit. One of those 'status' card that utter tossers wank over, "Oh look what I bought!" Realised my mistake very, very quickly. I buy cars based on practicality, not because of the fucking badge on the front. Impala... boring as fuck. Sebring Convertible.. boring as fuck, but looks the part. Jeep Grand Cherokee... good for plowing through mud and snow and piss poor dirt tracks, not in the same league as the Cherokee though. Couple of other jeeps, I currently forget the names of, but unspectacular next to the Cherokee. Chevy Traverse... big family crossover vehicle. Carries masses of people or masses of cargo. Looks like an orthopedic shoe. There have been various others, can't remember them all thopugh. Link to comment
fatjim Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 NIssan Micra scrapped Honda Accord still got. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 NIssan Micra scrapped Honda Accord still got. ..if guys buy cars as a penis extension... how small would your cock have to be for a Nissan Micra to be considered 'an extension'? You can use that... on stage. For your comedy act. Just tell them Kelt said it is all I ask by way of recognition. Link to comment
fatjim Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 ..if guys buy cars as a penis extension... how small would your cock have to be for a Nissan Micra to be considered 'an extension'? You can use that... on stage. For your comedy act. Just tell them Kelt said it is all I ask by way of recognition. To be honest I am not that into motors. If it gets me from A to B that is enough. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 Specialised hard rock ultra - stolen Union 3 speed - lost Maxwell 4 speed - misplaced Another union 3 - still goin strong g :beers: Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 Fiat Tempra- sold to some farmer's wifeNissan Primera - engine exploded. Didnae see much point in owning a car after I moved to torry, supermarket, town, bus and railway station are all 10 minutes walk fae the gaff. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 Mini 850, loved that motor. Austin Allegro Vauxhall Viva Capri 1600. Capri 2000 sport, was beautiful. Ford XR2i. Ford XR3i Renault Clio Vauxhall Mireva Ford Focus. Been loads of other short term cars but they were my main one's I think, my black capri and red xr3 were my favourites. First mini was a bucket of shit but I had some amount of fun in it, really liked it as well. i run cars into the ground and only change when I have to, apart from the Clio which was written off in a crash the rest just fell apart I think, the Focus is pretty new and still going strong, hope to get 10 years out of it. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 The Clio and Mireva were my bankrupt years. I was building up nicely till then. Link to comment
MincePie Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 I have a Clio, couldn't give a shit about cars to be honest. If it gets me from A to B I'm happy. 2 Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 I have a Clio, couldn't give a shit about cars to be honest. If it gets me from A to B I'm happy. My Clio never missed a beat and was reliable as fuck, some silly cunt run into the side of me at a roundabout, would still have it now were it not for that. Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 Mk4 Polo - several dents and finally met it's end at the hands of a gate - Scrapped Focus 1.6 - Sold on ebay when the MOT & tax expired. MK4 Golf - Sold to a guy up near aberlour! been seen recently in that direction by a mate! Currently own another focus for winter, and a E46 BMW which is laid up for winter! Link to comment
Guest Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 I can't remember the decades of previous cars. My current are perfect. My own one wouldn't be worth more than £4k now even though it's the best car ever built. My new car for the wife delivered last week is worth more than ten times as much but much as it is a luxury we don't need, I fucking love it already. Cars are over-rated. Faggot talk. Link to comment
Guest Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 One thing that is very important however. Drive a car that you've had from new. False economy otherwise. Haven't had a used car for well over a decade and never will. Buying the unknown. And if you're intelligent, like me, you never deal with a dealer. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 1967 VW Beetle Baja - soldV Reg Mini 1050 - wrote off on roundabout in HavantY Reg Talbot Solara - traded in for ...C Reg Talbot Solara - sold to mateHyundai Excel (my fucking God, did I own that?) - gave to ex-girlfriend as part of split dealFord Escort - scrapped, piece of shitNissan Sunny - written off, boozy driving nae good for carsFord Escort - sold to mate at Uni - piece of shit - swore never to buy a Ford againAudi 80 - absolute machine, sold to mateAudi 80 - another beautiful car - written off on 20th anniversary of Gothenburg, the deer didn't surviveMazda MX6 - nice 2.5l sports car, immaculate - soldVolkswagen Polo - I know, I know - it was really my birds but I drove it most - sold to "wewillbuyyourcar.com"Ford Falcon XR6 - brand new, 4.0L machine - however still a Ford - why did I buy another Ford? Traded in for ...Nissan 350z convertible - lovely car, tight as hell - wish I'd kept it, traded in for ...Nissan X-Trail - Chutney, you need your heid looked at. The worst car I have ever owned, traded in for ...Nissan Dualis - brand new, this car was ok, though felt like a twat driving it, traded in for ...Peugeot 308 Touring - nice car, really happy with it - fully specced, full leather - doing the family thing quite well Not all of these have been UK cars, and I am probably missing out one or two early ones that never lasted long. Favourite cars have been the 350z and the current one. I won't buy brand new cars again - best to wait until they have about 5,000 miles on the clock and have taken their major depreciation hit. Would always sell a car before it is out of warranty or going to start getting problems - 50,000 on the clock absolute maximum. Edit to add, two-wheeled machines are also deemed quite important in the ChutneyLove garage. Link to comment
dave_min Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 Had a Mini, it caught fire. Had a Punto, crashed it. Never been that into cars. Gonna buy a Harley instead once I grow my hair. Link to comment
Notorious Chee Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 Not owned many cars since they are for wimmen/wimps, more into my motorbikes. Bought a Renault Megane R26 for my first car, still have it. Had a 1.2 clio campus which I used as a project car before punting on. Compared to motorbikes, cars are just boring and require no real skill to drive at their limits. Link to comment
Jings Crivvens Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 First car was Renault Clio, traded in for:Nissan Almera, traded it in for new version of Almera. Then traded it in for a car with bigger boot as had a kid, so stupidly got:Renault Laguna. The worst car I ever had. Traded it in for:Vauxhall vectra. But after 3 years the turbo blew up. Had a few shitty cheap cars for 18 months then got vauxhall Astra. Still got it now Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 Mk3 Ford Escort 1.3 - Scrapped as it was a bucket of shite Mk2 Nissan Micra 1.2 - Sold through Aberdeen Auctions, got about 500 quid for it Renault Clio 1.4RT - Bucket of shit that again was sold through Aberdeen Auctions VW Polo 1.4 - Sold through the EE before I moved abroad Jeep Wrangler 4.0 - Loved that car. Sold to some Arab who probably used it in the desert Dodge Challenger 3.8L - Fecking love my car. Only done 10k miles in it so far, will probably keep it for a couple more years before getting something else Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 Cool discssion guysLook Blurto, you don't have to be "into" cars to have had a few of them, which I think is the point of the thread. I've listed 17 cars in 24 years of driving - means I go through them at just over one per year. I think if I thought carefully there are probably another couple I have left out too. If folk were talking about how ace their cars were, or how they've done them up, driven them at record speeds or shagged plenty birds down the boully in them, then I'd understand your moan. As it is, folk are listing their cars. It seems you've never had one, I think what you listed were pushbikes. Yer either a mink who spends his money on booze and fags or the patent office doesn't pay that well. It's ok, I understand. Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 Peugeot 206 Xsi - first car when I started working, was alright. Sold it to a guy from work who crashed it about 1 month later. Alfa 147 2.0 - Sold Alfa 147 GTA - Incredible and don't plan on changing anytime soon as not sure what I could get that would compare. 10 years old now so needs a bit of work now and again which isn't always cheap Never had a brand new car and I don't think I will. It would be great to have a new car that you are 99% confident in it's reliability but the cost that comes with that seems disproportionately high. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 I only drive about 40-50 miles a week so no point in me having a second car. So Wifes honda civic, lovely motor pretty nippy would buy another one Mazda 2 Sport, lovely motor but a bit boring to drive, perfect for family life though Dads VW Golf blue motion - love driving it - got lots of speed and a nice quick burst Link to comment
Foster14 Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 NICE! colour? NICE! colour? for me, rover 214i in british racing green haha - very first car bought at a whim at an auction, sold to my cousin for a profit, who totalled it MG ZT 135 CDTi in x-power grey - loved that car. got water in the boot, so swapped it for... MG TF 135 in black - lovely wee car, but in hindsight a mistake as i was way, way too big for it Capri 2.0S in black - we all know about that Honda Shadow motorbike MG ZT 190 in red - current badboy LOVELY stuff You well love a Rover. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 A brown Honda Civic with go faster stripe. Eh was 16 so wheels were wheels. Fuckin seatbelt alarm went off every time it rained. A shitey wee fiat something or other. Citroen AX Citroen Saxo Peugeot 106 Ford Focus Saab 9-3 Nissan Leaf Link to comment
rgudon Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 Vauxhall Astra 1.6 3 Door - sold it for £500 Peugeot 306 TD 3 Door - ended up upside down in a field after demolishing a dry stane dyke between Rothienorman and Inverurie BMW 3 Series - Sold to some polish boy in Torry VW Golf GTI - Sold it to my bro Land Rover Discovery II - Bought as a second for £1k to tow a horse box, Needed a heap of welding done for MOT so broke it for spares and still making money off it, renewed my scot ads advert every week for the last year. Land Rover Discovery 3 - for sale Next ??, either a GTR or 911. Link to comment