ab24_5qh Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Why is it when I come to replace my car I can never quite afford what I want, and don't really want what I can afford Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Why is it when I come to replace my car I can never quite afford what I want, and don't really want what I can afford Sounds like delusions of grandeur. Link to comment
ab24_5qh Posted March 18, 2016 Author Share Posted March 18, 2016 Sounds like delusions of grandeur. Probably right....or innate tightness. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Probably right....or innate tightness.It can't be innate tightness as you have said you cannot afford what you want. That's not being tight that's having champagne tastes and lemonade wages. Link to comment
Redstar Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Sounds like delusions of grandeur.MT should be well placed to advise on this state of being. 4 Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 If you can't afford what you really want and aren't happy with what you can afford... Go for the cheapest option possible. Save the money between it and the mid range option you can afford. One day you will be able to afford what you really want with the saved cash.* *or you'll have some cash to upgrade a different aspect of your life style. I'm 30 never bought a car, inherited something worth under £1k from my parents. I'll be buying crap cars until I can afford something I really want. Fuck paying £12k or the likes for a new corsa. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Why is it when I come to replace my car I can never quite afford what I want, and don't really want what I can afford Its always the way in life! But look to see if you can find a compromise to get what you want, for example: - maybe consider a higher miles example, or lower spec, on the model of car you want- or an older model / earlier 'mark' These things are OK to do if its a decent make of car and has been looked after; to be honest most cars are build pretty decent these days. No brand has a joke reputation these days, the way Lada / Skoda / FSO etc were regarded in the 1980s. I got a good deal on my Skoda as although it had low miles, it was 4 years old and a new model had just come out. The same car and model would have been at least 6k extra, for one which was only 2 years old (and likely had higher miles than mine). Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Its always the way in life! But look to see if you can find a compromise to get what you want, for example: - maybe consider a higher miles example, or lower spec, on the model of car you want- or an older model / earlier 'mark' These things are OK to do if its a decent make of car and has been looked after; to be honest most cars are build pretty decent these days. No brand has a joke reputation these days, the way Lada / Skoda / FSO etc were regarded in the 1980s. I got a good deal on my Skoda as although it had low miles, it was 4 years old and a new model had just come out. The same car and model would have been at least 6k extra, for one which was only 2 years old (and likely had higher miles than mine).Keeping up with the Jones'. All that's wrong with modern life. Don't compromise. Spend what you can afford and be happy with your lot. 1 1 Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Keeping up with the Jones'. All that's wrong with modern life. Don't compromise. Spend what you can afford and be happy with your lot. wise words, Boofon. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Keeping up with the Jones'. All that's wrong with modern life.Dont listen to Boofon Jones here! Compromise isnt about keeping up with anyone, here its about getting what you want within what you can afford! Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 wise words, Boofon. Awa', he was havering as usual! Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 I think it was an English poet who wrote; You can't always get what you want. You can't always get what you want.You can't always get what you want. But if you try sometimes, well, you might find,You get what you need. Write down a list of what you NEED in a motor, not what you want... then narrow down the models until you have a shortlist. Very often you'll discover that what you wanted and what you needed are two very different beasts.* I purchased a Crossfire, cash money, back in the day. It looked the part, but was, in fact, not what I needed. 6 months later it was fired aff the roof, and I had a Jeep sitting in the garage, which I was 4.7 times happier with (The result of careful calculations). *Beasts as in 'consumer products', not Beasts as in child-raping priests Beasts. Link to comment
Poodler Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Fiat 500Big in the hairdressing game post redundancy? Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Keeping up with the Jones'. All that's wrong with modern life.Don't compromise. Spend what you can afford and be happy with your lot. Dont listen to Boofon Jones here! Compromise isnt about keeping up with anyone, here its about getting what you want within what you can afford!Hold on, you're both saying the same thing, you're in agreement?!?!? Beelzebub is nae happy with the temperature drop! Just do what I do and buy second hand cars with the view that they can be replaced cheaply when they start costing more to fix/mot. Currently have my hairdressery option of MX5 and Nissan Xtrail for work. Might go for some fast hatchback next Focus ST or Civic Type R, proper mid age crisis hitting soon Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 18, 2016 Share Posted March 18, 2016 Big in the hairdressing game post redundancy? Link to comment
Jigot Posted March 21, 2016 Share Posted March 21, 2016 I have only once bought a spanker. Transit van for my work which cost 13k. The monthly payments were more than my mortgage (over 4 years) never again. I run about in a Seat Leon tdi, it had 60k on the clock (04 plate) for £800. I got copper brake pipes fitted for it's MOT, £100 + £40 to plug it into a computer to bleed the system.Electric window packed in but that's the only bother it's given me, oh aye, door seals but sorted them masel for under a tenner.All you want is something to get you from A to B, safely and cheaply. Talking as an auld cunt, that is. Link to comment
ab24_5qh Posted March 21, 2016 Author Share Posted March 21, 2016 I have only once bought a spanker. Transit van for my work which cost 13k. The monthly payments were more than my mortgage (over 4 years) never again. I run about in a Seat Leon tdi, it had 60k on the clock (04 plate) for £800. I got copper brake pipes fitted for it's MOT, £100 + £40 to plug it into a computer to bleed the system.Electric window packed in but that's the only bother it's given me, oh aye, door seals but sorted them masel for under a tenner.All you want is something to get you from A to B, safely and cheaply. Talking as an auld cunt, that is. To be perfectly honest it's more about me being tight than anything. I set an upper limit and everything I fancy is a bit higher. I'll no doubt end up topping up the budget, Link to comment
Jigot Posted March 21, 2016 Share Posted March 21, 2016 To be perfectly honest it's more about me being tight than anything. I set an upper limit and everything I fancy is a bit higher. I'll no doubt end up topping up the budget,It's better to be, no tight, sensible,Postcode. Christ, when I was younger I spunked good money on bingers because I was daft and wanted to show off, why? Fuck knows, but it makes me cringe when I think of the shit I bought and the money I spent keeping them on the road. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 23, 2016 Share Posted March 23, 2016 @ab24_5qh How are you getting on with your search, any progress? Link to comment
Pash Posted March 23, 2016 Share Posted March 23, 2016 Thinking of trading in the S5 for an S3 sportback. Could be sensible and get a Skoda estate but they are shit. Link to comment
dave_min Posted March 23, 2016 Share Posted March 23, 2016 Thinking of trading in the S5 for an S3 sportback. Could be sensible and get a Skoda estate but they are shit. +1. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted March 23, 2016 Share Posted March 23, 2016 Thinking of trading in the S5 for an S3 sportback. Could be sensible and get a Skoda estate but they are shit. What with all those completely different VW parts...... Link to comment
caledonia Posted March 23, 2016 Share Posted March 23, 2016 http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=291713882166&clk_rvr_id=1002610631777&rmvSB=true http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=281847171374&clk_rvr_id=1002588286812&rmvSB=true Link to comment
Ohjimmyjimmy Posted March 23, 2016 Share Posted March 23, 2016 haha things of beauty mine is the wee brother of that bad boy in pic 2 not the one im watching, but same car come on...does a car GET any better than that?!The Mustang is a classic, the Capri is a raft. 1 1 Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted March 23, 2016 Share Posted March 23, 2016 Cars are gay as fuck. A to BComfy All I care about, so many people at my work pay 1/5th of their monthly wage on a car/finance. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted March 24, 2016 Share Posted March 24, 2016 Eleanor is a fucking sexual machine!! Just awa to sell my car and drive the blons seat Ibiza as she's got a company car. Any young team looking for a 2.0 Clio 2011 41000 miles, Affa machine. I'll just get in first and say fuck off @@The Boofon before you rain down the hate!! Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted March 24, 2016 Share Posted March 24, 2016 Eleanor is a fucking sexual machine!! Just awa to sell my car and drive the blons seat Ibiza as she's got a company car. Any young team looking for a 2.0 Clio 2011 41000 miles, Affa machine. I'll just get in first and say fuck off @@The Boofon before you rain down the hate!!Top tip in sales, don't alienate potential customers before you even start selling! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 24, 2016 Share Posted March 24, 2016 Eleanor is a fucking sexual machine!! Just awa to sell my car and drive the blons seat Ibiza as she's got a company car. Any young team looking for a 2.0 Clio 2011 41000 miles, Affa machine. I'll just get in first and say fuck off @@The Boofon before you rain down the hate!!Not sure why you tagged me here other than attention seeking. Your hairdresser car is hideous but it's got me home from the football before so it gets a free pass in that respect. Wise move selling it though as it's gay as fuck. Never knew your bird was old enough to drive. Link to comment