BWG Posted June 27, 2016 Share Posted June 27, 2016 Is there substance in the suggestion Flood is on his way? I wouldn't be unhappy if he was personally, I feel he was quite poor last season and we need a stronger performer middle of the park.Must be if the EE are reporting it https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/aberdeen-fc/reports-link-willo-flood-dundee-united-move/ Surely they haven't just been reading the hat again? Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted June 27, 2016 Share Posted June 27, 2016 I really hope not - I like Flood and feel he still has a lot to offer. He would be a first team player for many teams outside ourselves and Celtic. I hope he stays. My on;y issue isn't so much with him but the mere fact Jack and Flood are detrimental to the team when playing alongside one another. As you say Flood doesn't really compliment Jack. We can't afford to hang on to too many squad players hence I'd be pretty happy to let him move on now. Never understood those on here that like Flood. all he ever seems to do is run around in circles and never get anywhere. Never rated him and never will. I think he did quite well when he came in so I'm not going to slag him off - his input was very welcome from my point of view. But things have changed since he joined and the squad/first 11 needs to develop every season. Alongside Robson, Flood was a crucial component of our midfield in McInnes first season. The only problem was playing Jack with them as it bogged down the midfield. However I agree that he's not a player we need now - certainly isn't a starter that's for sure - so can see him making the move to someone else and whether it's Utd so be it This ^ Link to comment
mavv1903 Posted June 29, 2016 Share Posted June 29, 2016 His youtube reel he looks not bad....Wonder if Derek will play him a DM role ? Will he be a starter in 1st 11 or another bench warmer ? Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted June 30, 2016 Share Posted June 30, 2016 His youtube reel he looks not bad As good as McGhee's wikipedia page? Link to comment
dervish Posted June 30, 2016 Share Posted June 30, 2016 Alongside Robson, Flood was a crucial component of our midfield in McInnes first season. The only problem was playing Jack with them as it bogged down the midfield. However I agree that he's not a player we need now - certainly isn't a starter that's for sure - so can see him making the move to someone else and whether it's Utd so be it Agree with that. Also importantly, a non-match-sharp Flood isn't the same player, he needs games. Like you say good player and it's a mark of how far we've come he's not getting a game. Reckon he'll do very well with them. 1 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 28, 2016 Share Posted September 28, 2016 Really like the cut of this mans jib. He seems to have a fkn great attitude also. https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/aberdeen-fc/aberdeen-anthony-oconnor-title-challenge/ https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/aberdeen-fc/anthony-is-fitting-here-says-boss/ Future assistant captain, or even captain material???????? Obviously depending on the Jack/Shinnie situation but possibly even at one of their expenses. Still young for a central defender also Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 28, 2016 Share Posted September 28, 2016 If Reynolds/Considine could hit top form & strike up a decent partnership with him, we'd be pretty strong defensively.Anything that keeps Taylor benched is a good thing imo. Link to comment
KenDodd'sDad Posted September 28, 2016 Share Posted September 28, 2016 Shame he wasn't given a chance in the Euro games, we maybe could have got through... Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 28, 2016 Share Posted September 28, 2016 Yeah, didn't help when he got subbed off at HT after being one of the better players on the field. That one still baffles me from McInnes. Think O'Connor has only had one poor game for us. Which isn't bad considering how he's been used. Link to comment
boboisared Posted September 28, 2016 Share Posted September 28, 2016 I think we'll sell him for a lot of money in the future. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 28, 2016 Share Posted September 28, 2016 I think we'll sell him for a lot of money in the future.Hopefully he earns that for us. Link to comment
Zander1903 Posted September 28, 2016 Share Posted September 28, 2016 hoping Reynolds can find a bit of form again & get a reliable Partnership with O'Connor then Taylor should get punted at the end of the season(out of contract if I remember right) Gonna miss India more than Ash tbh Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 28, 2016 Share Posted September 28, 2016 hoping Reynolds can find a bit of form again & get a reliable Partnership with O'Connor then Taylor should get punted at the end of the season(out of contract if I remember right) Gonna miss India more than Ash tbhSee if we can get a wee swap deal with St's. Taylor for Anderson lol Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted September 29, 2016 Share Posted September 29, 2016 Shame he wasn't given a chance in the Euro games, we maybe could have got through... Well I doubt he'd have pulled off the howler Taylor managed in the 1st leg against Maribor Link to comment
herouali Posted September 29, 2016 Share Posted September 29, 2016 O'Connor was definitely Man of the Match v Rangers! Solid, communicative and good on the ball - see ya Taylor! Reynolds looked a lot better with O'Connor alongside him. Link to comment
northernlights Posted September 29, 2016 Share Posted September 29, 2016 O'Connor was definitely Man of the Match v Rangers! Solid, communicative and good on the ball - see ya Taylor! Reynolds looked a lot better with O'Connor alongside him. yeah i think we have the makings of a good defensive partnership. Link to comment
BWG Posted September 29, 2016 Share Posted September 29, 2016 Surely, SUURREELLY to fuck that's the end of the road for Taylor unless one of O'Connor or Reynolds fucks up massively? Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted September 29, 2016 Share Posted September 29, 2016 the shot if him looking down at the wee hun wank on the deck, with a look of "what the fuk are you up to." Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted September 29, 2016 Share Posted September 29, 2016 Taylor will leave on a free at the end of the season.He'll pack up his ripped jeans and head south with India. 1 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted September 29, 2016 Share Posted September 29, 2016 Taylor will leave on a free at the end of the season.He'll pack up his ripped jeans and head south with India. Looked an absolute donkey when he came here, then somehow went on to have a pretty good season. Started last season ok but has resorted to donkey levels for all of 2016 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted September 29, 2016 Share Posted September 29, 2016 Looked an absolute donkey when he came here, then somehow went on to have a pretty good season. Started last season ok but has resorted to donkey levels for all of 2016Aye. I thought I had made a cunt of it when I christened him pish but it's very rare I'm ever wrong and justice prevailed. Link to comment
graham Posted September 30, 2016 Share Posted September 30, 2016 When I read in the summer Aberdeen had signed Anthony O'Connor from Burton Albion I was totally underwhelmed.Another complete never heard of him from a team I couldn't even tell you what division they are in.But from first full game at Pittodrie v Hearts he has been outstanding,man of the match nearly every game,immense against Rangers and probably my favourite Aberdeen player just now.Great signing ! Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted September 30, 2016 Share Posted September 30, 2016 When I read in the summer Aberdeen had signed Anthony O'Connor from Burton Albion I was totally underwhelmed.Another complete never heard of him from a team I couldn't even tell you what division they are in.But from first full game at Pittodrie v Hearts he has been outstanding,man of the match nearly every game,immense against Rangers and probably my favourite Aberdeen player just now.Great signing ! That's the thing with players from lower leagues, there are good ones in there, and we will almost never have heard of them until they arrive at a bigger club or in the Scottish game. There are actually quite a few examples in the EPL and Championship of players making the step up from much lower leagues. Problem is, you need good scouting to find good players and bring them in before someone else finds them! Link to comment
Guest RosemountRed Posted September 30, 2016 Share Posted September 30, 2016 Yeah get Reynolds back in from now on. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted September 30, 2016 Share Posted September 30, 2016 Saw that clip of o'connor lording it over the Hun. He's looking down with disdain and the boy is trying to claw up his leg in a begging fashion. It's absolute class. Need a photo of it. Link to comment
the sheep Posted September 30, 2016 Share Posted September 30, 2016 Posted by the sheep on 21 August 2016 - 08:38 PM in AFC and Scottish Football "I think both Joe and O'cconor will prove to be our best signings so far this season". I know my shit just saying Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted September 30, 2016 Share Posted September 30, 2016 Posted by the sheep on 21 August 2016 - 08:38 PM in AFC and Scottish Football "I think both Joe and O'cconor will prove to be our best signings so far this season". I know my shit just sayingNobody likes a smart arse.Just look at the backlash that davemin is suffering. Link to comment
Panda Posted September 30, 2016 Share Posted September 30, 2016 League 2 shite. Don't care. He was a bit part player in a promoted L1 side and played too few games to trigger his clause for a second year/subsequently released. Hasn't thrived at any level above L2. Fair tooling up. Let me convert this into auld money A player who is a'right in the English 4th division and may well manage to hold his own in the 3rd division is the mighty Dons latest signing. Oooh, I won't be able to sleep tonight with all the excitement. He sounds absolutely shite. Sevco sign Barton and we sign this dude.... it's gonna be a tough season alright 1 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted October 1, 2016 Share Posted October 1, 2016 I was laughing right up until the last one! Mine is actually by far the worst call hahaha Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted October 1, 2016 Share Posted October 1, 2016 The foundation of our successful* start to the season is he? *lol Link to comment