Tord31 Posted July 15, 2016 Share Posted July 15, 2016 Doubtful: Morris A couple of changes are called for but difficult to pick who the fall guys should be Lewis Logan Taylor Reynolds Considine Jack Shinnie Storey Hayes Rooney Stockley subs: Alexander, Morris, O'Connor, McGinn, McLean, Burns, Pawlettprediction: 2-2 Link to comment
BWG Posted July 15, 2016 Share Posted July 15, 2016 Think it'll be Storey leading the line, Shinnie at left back and O'Connor beside Jack. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 15, 2016 Author Share Posted July 15, 2016 Good to have Storey on, maybe Burns, for pace as they'll have to hold a much higher line than 1st leg Link to comment
BWG Posted July 15, 2016 Share Posted July 15, 2016 Should McGinn be given another week off now that we have Storey and Burns to fill in? A risk, but one that could pay off towards the end of the season? Link to comment
Guest the shepherd Posted July 15, 2016 Share Posted July 15, 2016 Should McGinn be given another week off now that we have Storey and Burns to fill in? A risk, but one that could pay off towards the end of the season?Nae a better time to gie Niall McGinn another week aff. Surely we hiv done enough to get through........ Link to comment
Scotty_Toronto Posted July 15, 2016 Share Posted July 15, 2016 "Aberdeen would face either Maribor or Levski Sofia" Link to comment
Mr John Posted July 15, 2016 Share Posted July 15, 2016 "Aberdeen would face either Maribor or Levski Sofia" So that's a packet of wine gum teddy bear sweets, or one of the Golden Girls (Russian edition) yeah? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted July 15, 2016 Share Posted July 15, 2016 Doubtful: Morris This will be a constant throughout the season. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted July 15, 2016 Share Posted July 15, 2016 Think it'll be Storey leading the line, Shinnie at left back and O'Connor beside Jack. Surely he's due a chuncey. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted July 15, 2016 Share Posted July 15, 2016 Do we have a friendly planned between the 2nd leg and (hopefully but taking nothing for granted) the 3rd round 1st leg? Quite like to see an established first 11 albeit nice early subs to keep it fresh and mix it up like last night. Link to comment
Mr John Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 Nerp. Straight into the away leg on Thursday. Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 Would drop Taylor and McLean who were rotten in first leg. Don't really see where McLean fits in. Doesn't do enough for a number 10 and lacks energy and aggression to play deeper, while not enough pace to play wide. Taylor is worryingly reminiscent of a latter day Zander Diamond. Rash tackling style and tendency to horribly miscue the ball under no pressure. He's the worst of our very dodgy central defenders. Good range of options across the front four positions though. Want to see more of Burns and hopefully Storey gets an appearance. Lewis Logan Reynolds Considine Shinnie O'Connor Jack Burns Storey Hayes Rooney Link to comment
rumpus Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 I'd give Hayes the week off rather than McGinn. No need for him to get kicked all over the place in a pointless excercise. Link to comment
Panda Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 I'd start the same team on Thursday that we plan to play the Maribor/Levski Sofia match. Get a bit of familiarity into the side. These will be two massive matches if we're to get to the play-offs and we really need to be at it from the word go. I don't think we're at the stage yet where people need a rest. More that they need as many 90 minutes under their belts as they can get so they're up to full match sharpness, which I don't think is the case for a few of them yet. So, looking ahead to next week, on Thursday I'd go with:- Lewis Logan O'Connor Considine Shinnie Jack Storie (?) McGinn McLean Hayes Rooney Question mark around Storie because haven't seen any word of him this season. Is he struggling for fitness/injured? Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 18, 2016 Author Share Posted July 18, 2016 The back four certainly will not be that for QR3L1 Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 I'd start the same team on Thursday that we plan to play the Maribor/Levski Sofia match. Get a bit of familiarity into the side. These will be two massive matches if we're to get to the play-offs and we really need to be at it from the word go. I don't think we're at the stage yet where people need a rest. More that they need as many 90 minutes under their belts as they can get so they're up to full match sharpness, which I don't think is the case for a few of them yet. So, looking ahead to next week, on Thursday I'd go with:- Lewis Logan O'Connor Considine Shinnie Jack Storie (?) McGinn McLean Hayes Rooney Question mark around Storie because haven't seen any word of him this season. Is he struggling for fitness/injured?Agree with the sentiments but not the 11. I imagine it's more likely to be the same but with one or two tweaks maximum. Perhaps one or two of O'Connor, Burns, Stockley or Storey in somewhere. Lewis Logan Taylor Reynolds Considine Jack Shinnie McGinn McLean Hayes Rooney Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 That's my thinking too. In the absence of other significant signings resign yourselves to Considine at Left Back and Shinnie in Floods hole . I agree Mclean has been a disappointment at number 10 (especially now that we have several second striker options) but still think its worth persevering with him in the deeper creative role if for no other reason than to show Jack that Derek has options for his position. On the basis that I suspect Jack will be un-droppable and having yet to see O'Connor young Master Storie should probably be investing in some splinter cream. Link to comment
Andy_123 Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 IF we do progress through this round, and the next, I dread to think how our back line would cope should we draw a big team in the last qualifier. Horribly i'd imagine Link to comment
Wee Alickie Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 Nerp. Straight into the away leg on Thursday.In the 3rd round we were drawn out of the hat first so we play the home leg first next Thursday (all being well). Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 Would drop Taylor and McLean who were rotten in first leg. Don't really see where McLean fits in. Doesn't do enough for a number 10 and lacks energy and aggression to play deeper, while not enough pace to play wide. Taylor is worryingly reminiscent of a latter day Zander Diamond. Rash tackling style and tendency to horribly miscue the ball under no pressure. He's the worst of our very dodgy central defenders. Good range of options across the front four positions though. Want to see more of Burns and hopefully Storey gets an appearance. Lewis Logan Reynolds Considine Shinnie O'Connor Jack Burns Storey Hayes RooneyThat's a good balance to our back line.......... Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 I know there have been some poor performances but I don't think huge number of changes will necessarily help, particularly where we need players to find form and establish partnerships. Personally I'd keep the same CB and CM pairing for the start of this game, although I don't think either is really the long term partnership. Considine at LB will be fine for an away game where he won't need to get forward to support so much. Up front I think there's less risk in changing the mix, maybe even play storey up top with mcginn, hayes and burns behind... sounds tasty for counter attacking that. - would quite like to see O'Connor come in again but maybe better to do that off the bench rather than disrupt things. Link to comment
the sheep Posted July 18, 2016 Share Posted July 18, 2016 I would start with Stockley and possibly drop Rooney for one of the fast guys to play upfront with Stockley. Stockley was the guy that did the damage in the first game and his strength would be good to defend set pieces. Storey or Burns to catch them on the break. Link to comment
thedandydon Posted July 19, 2016 Share Posted July 19, 2016 I reckon Burns will be held in reserve again to be an impact sub if needed but Stockley caused them problems and they seemed vunerable in the air so wouldn't be surprised to see him start. Storey will need to come in to the mix sometime and he'll want to get off the mark as soon as possible so maybe an opportunity to get him involved. Don't envisage too many changes otherwise. If we can get the away goal early doors it will virtually kill the tie and maybe allow us to give some of the younger players some experience. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted July 19, 2016 Share Posted July 19, 2016 IF we do progress through this round, and the next, I dread to think how our back line would cope should we draw a big team in the last qualifier. Horribly i'd imagine They should draw inspiration from Lee Mair's Pittodrie performance against Bayern Munich Link to comment
Zeus Posted July 19, 2016 Share Posted July 19, 2016 Zander Diamond marked Luca Toni out the game! Link to comment
Guest RosemountRed Posted July 19, 2016 Share Posted July 19, 2016 Zander Diamond marked Luca Toni out the game! Not so well in the 2nd leg. Link to comment
Andy_123 Posted July 19, 2016 Share Posted July 19, 2016 Langfield Maybury Mair Diamond Considine That was our back line v Bayern. Toni and Klose upfront for them. If that back line managed to get us to the knockouts of the uefa cup then there is hope for us yet Link to comment
Zeus Posted July 19, 2016 Share Posted July 19, 2016 Not so well in the 2nd leg.If only had Mackie put that chance away And langfield didn't shite it from Lucio's freekick Link to comment
Mr John Posted July 19, 2016 Share Posted July 19, 2016 That Bayern team was shite though. What year was it? 2007 or 8? It was the first time they never made the CL. Link to comment