The Rich Get Richer

A new system for the club coefficients: clubs will be judged on their own records (deletion of the country share for individual club coefficient unless that coefficient is lower than 20% of the association's coefficient).

Historical success in the competition will also be acknowledged in coefficient calculation (points for previous European titles with a weighted system for UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League titles)

Hope that clears it up :happy:

As long as Celtic don't get automatic entry that's the main thing.

If this makes it harder for Celtic to qualify, then perversely, it will turn out to be a good thing for the game in Scotland.

The winners of the SPFL deserve automatic entry over English teams who finish 2nd, 3rd and 4th.

They should just leave them 4 'elite' countries and set up our own Champions League.

I don't watch the CL and my only interest in the EPL is how the players get on in my fantasy team.

I'm only interested in the Dons and how we as a team progress but you don't want our national league struggle to keep up with even the smaller nations in Europe but that's the way its going. The wealth is being funnelled into 4 nations so they can afford to pay the inflated wages they already offer whilst the rest are left to fight for the scraps.

If we achieved the unlikely and actually won the league when this comes into effect how many rounds of qualifying will we have to get through just to win the right to join the 4th placed club in England in a CL pot.

Fuck this. Fuck this right off! This is exactly what we've all been decrying on the LOL@Celtic thread. Fucking awful. if one of the top four leagues lost every game in Europe, they'd still be 26th ranked in the world. In fact higher as they'll have "previous winners" coefficient points propping them up. It's fucking atrocious!

The winners of the SPFL deserve automatic entry over English teams who finish 2nd, 3rd and 4th.

They should just leave them 4 'elite' countries and set up our own Champions League.

They maybe do deserve automatic entry, but the money Celtic get from Europe is a negative for Scottish football.

So although this is vastly unfair, i support it as my primary concern is Scottish football not Europe.

Celtic and Rangers have carved up Scottish football for years, they can hardly complain now that some bigger boys have come along and are now doing it to them.

Its all about money, fuck all else.

The Spanish and German clubs throw out some vague threats about setting up a break away league. UEFA shit it thinking they wont have the TV money to fill their own pockets with from the CL so give them 4 spots and raise the prize money for their clubs.

If it was a fairer competition with teams from every nation getting in then they'd probably get more coverage and with that more money. Limiting the competition can only harm it in the future.

If you don't like it, don't watch it.

its got nothing to do with liking it or wanting to watch it. It was bad enough that smaller teams outwith the "big four" were made to jump through too many hoops to get there but now these teams will not even be able to dream of making it to the group stages let alone win the bloody cup.

This is closing the door to many clubs to keep a select few at the top of the table.

I am in total agreement with a breakaway European Competition. Always maintained why enter a competition you have no hope of winning. In days of old smaller clubs had a wee chance of getting to a final now that is impossible. Let the big boys carry on but also have a European Cup competition to keep the fans of the other clubs happy.

UEFA know that another Cup competition would most likely attract more viewers if LIVE TV picked it up and that is why they are against it. Its time the monopoly by UEFA was broken.

Just divorce the Europa League entirely from the CL and leave us diddy teams to compete for something with a thread of level playing field attached. It’s a nonsense that CL drop-outs can just parachute in at the business end and steal the glory from teams who may have played a dozen ties to get that far.

Guest the shepherd

I am in total agreement with a breakaway European Competition. Always maintained why enter a competition you have no hope of winning. In days of old smaller clubs had a wee chance of getting to a final now that is impossible. Let the big boys carry on but also have a European Cup competition to keep the fans of the other clubs happy.

Agree to a point with you but us football supporters of other clubs feel cheated and undervalued as it is without the introduction of a new tournament that features teams from countries outwith the so-called big four countries of The Faroe Islands, San Marino, Andorra and Gibraltar (sorry Germany, Spain, Italy and England). I remember not too long ago the UEFA Cup was deemed to be a Mickey Mouse tournament until they changed the format to cater for the needs of the bigger clubs who are not good enough to progress in the 'Champions' League.

its got nothing to do with liking it or wanting to watch it. It was bad enough that smaller teams outwith the "big four" were made to jump through too many hoops to get there but now these teams will not even be able to dream of making it to the group stages let alone win the bloody cup.

This is closing the door to many clubs to keep a select few at the top of the table.

It's got everything to do with people still watching it.

Zero viewing figures equal zero advertising money.

Do the maths, eh

Agree to a point with you but us football supporters of other clubs feel cheated and undervalued as it is without the introduction of a new tournament that features teams from countries outwith the so-called big four countries of The Faroe Islands, San Marino, Andorra and Gibraltar (sorry Germany, Spain, Italy and England)

a7b6db948237f3f0bd3e232685f5ac77f547f142

as usual you are arguing a completely different point

No.

My point is Uefa get away with this cause there is still considerable interest in the current format.

And these "smaller teams outwits the big 4" for teams read countries still get excited over match day 4,5 and 6.

Wheresa were this euro wide interest not to exist then Uefa would be forced into radical change and not merely a facelift, which this move is.

It's up to fans to tune off, and vlubs\national governing bodies to to voice these concerns rather than just accept them like the monkey nations they are happy to be treated as.

No.

My point is Uefa get away with this cause there is still considerable interest in the current format.

And these "smaller teams outwits the big 4" for teams read countries still get excited over match day 4,5 and 6.

Wheresa were this euro wide interest not to exist then Uefa would be forced into radical change and not merely a facelift, which this move is.

It's up to fans to tune off, and vlubs\national governing bodies to to voice these concerns rather than just accept them like the monkey nations they are happy to be treated as.

I think a breakaway European competition would be perfect. I am so fucking sick of football being run by cunts and rigged in favour of a select group of clubs because they can generate the most money.

Keep the Champions League for anyone who wants to still compete in it, including Celtic if they continue to delude themselves they are a big club, and then all the rest of the teams, all the people who actually value a competitive, level playing field, where, you don't get parachuted into another competition if you lose, where all leagues are equal, you qualify on merit, rather than by the fact that your league has the biggest TV deal, where EVERY TEAM starts in round 1 and where the best team wins, and even better, everyone has at least a chance.

This is the same reason why the vast majority of Scottish football fans would be fucking delighted if Celtic and The Rangers fucked off somewhere else and left us to it. Most of us couldn't give a fuck if we have no TV deal and less money. All we want is a competitive league.

Fuck UEFA, Fuck FIFA, Fuck the top four nations, Fuck Celtic.

Top level football was a sport once upon a time. Nowadays, it's only a sport in the wee leagues. Everywhere else it's just a business that could not give a shite about it's customers.

I think a breakaway European competition would be perfect. I am so fucking sick of football being run by cunts and rigged in favour of a select group of clubs because they can generate the most money.

Keep the Champions League for anyone who wants to still compete in it, including Celtic if they continue to delude themselves they are a big club, and then all the rest of the teams, all the people who actually value a competitive, level playing field, where, you don't get parachuted into another competition if you lose, where all leagues are equal, you qualify on merit, rather than by the fact that your league has the biggest TV deal, where EVERY TEAM starts in round 1 and where the best team wins, and even better, everyone has at least a chance.

This is the same reason why the vast majority of Scottish football fans would be fucking delighted if Celtic and The Rangers fucked off somewhere else and left us to it. Most of us couldn't give a fuck if we have no TV deal and less money. All we want is a competitive league.

Fuck UEFA, Fuck FIFA, Fuck the top four nations, Fuck Celtic.

Top level football was a sport once upon a time. Nowadays, it's only a sport in the wee leagues. Everywhere else it's just a business that could not give a shite about it's customers.

Well said that man..... :applause: