a don in oz Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Today at work there was a problem that was impacting pretty much everything around Queensland in my organisation. (tech shit, details unimportant) I'm not very senior at all being two steps below director level but this problem was happening and I kept seeing this gaggle of directors, senior directors and an executive director wandering the corridors huddled together and on their phones and occasionally telling some poor sod to do something or other. Drip feed style management. My CLM came when the gaggle came by my area and told my boss to do one thing, while another director peeped over and told me something else: the complete opposite what my boss had been told to get done. As in, doing both things together will fuck everything up worse! So I stood up and said, "Can I suggest you all get off the floor and have one person as a point of contact to coordinate the efforts of us doing the work here, that's how this is supposed to work, right?" I was exasperated though so although those words are sort of reasonable (even if said to people 2, 3 and 4 levels of seniority above me) I think my silent prefacing "for fuck's sake" was pretty obvious. Funny thing is the dopey bastards DID get off the floor and have one person be the message boy. But I'm pretty sure that's the end of any progression for me in this part of the organisation! My boss' boss, his boss and his boss all got that little serve. For. Fuck's. Sake. Anyone else managed to fuck themselves up like that? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 They'll probably have forgotten about it already. Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 I'm gonna need the technical details before being able to offer advice. 2 Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Dildo on the bonnet? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Dinna worry too much, you've always your dungeon that will need you. 1 Link to comment
a don in oz Posted November 10, 2016 Author Share Posted November 10, 2016 They'll probably have forgotten about it already. Oh not this lot. They're a fucking coven of clueless cunts. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted November 10, 2016 Author Share Posted November 10, 2016 Only thing I could add is thankfully it's not easy to get rid of me, and the organisation is huge so I could find my way sideways somewhere else if it comes to it but I think there endeth my path up the way where I'm at. Link to comment
buchanskii Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Sounds lik ewhat you said was pretty reasonable... don't know what you're worried about Link to comment
a don in oz Posted November 10, 2016 Author Share Posted November 10, 2016 Sounds lik ewhat you said was pretty reasonable... don't know what you're worried about Yeah it was reasonable. It was the only sensible thing said in that mess but surely I'm not the only person who has worked or is working for complete asshats who don't like in effect being told they're not helping? It was so stupid their trotting around together that a couple of folks were taking photos of it: looked like a Monty Python gag and half expected someone to start doing a funny walk. So if you're dumb enough to do that, you're dumb enough to be offended at being told off for doing it by an underling. We'll see though in the fullness of time. No one else though? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Sounds like promotion talk to be fair. Never happened to me and unlikely ever to short of me being caught fucking a pig. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Did it involve Badminton in any way? Link to comment
BWG Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 If it has killed any chance of progression for you, then is this really the sort of company that you want to be working in at all? Link to comment
a don in oz Posted November 10, 2016 Author Share Posted November 10, 2016 If it has killed any chance of progression for you, then is this really the sort of company that you want to be working in at all? Used to be great place until this bunch of wallies took over and put their buddies and pals into the top roles. Shame when that kind of shit happens. Still it's a large organisation and I should be able to move sideways and out of here at some point because I sure won't go up here now. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Caring about your career LOL 1 Link to comment
a don in oz Posted November 10, 2016 Author Share Posted November 10, 2016 Fuck me... my useless boss actually did that a while back. She waited until one of her staff, one of our colleagues (admittedly a hopeless twat) was out of the meeting we were in to tell us that they wouldn't have their contract renewed... but the good news is she's booked her holiday! Stunned silence. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted November 10, 2016 Author Share Posted November 10, 2016 Caring about your career LOL Heh, well. I didn't really until I got to this organisation initially. And realised the stuff we did mattered (ie: it's not a private company where your entire purpose in existence is to make shareholders or owners rich and cost as little as possible) and have moved around and up a fair bit and I can see some of the real world benefits of it... so yeah. Here, it actually matters or mattered to me. Link to comment
BWG Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Caring about your career LOL Sounds like something the perma-unemployed Tup would say, Bluto min. Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Sounds like something the perma-unemployed Tup would say, Bluto min.Or somebody who doesn't understand basic food hygiene. Clean plates save lives. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Sounds like something the perma-unemployed Tup would say, Bluto min.He works in a Bistro in Delft. Might nae be a fancy career but as long as he's happy. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 I'm amazed how unprofessional folk can be in the workplace.And what folk get up to away from work Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 I'm amazed how unprofessional folk can be in the workplace.And what folk get up to away from workLike cunts that just leave the pots to soak rather than scrubbing the fuckers? Link to comment
Henry Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 I'm amazed how unprofessional folk can be in the workplace.And what folk get up to away from work Fairly broad topic that one. Link to comment
tup Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Sounds like something the perma-unemployed Tup would say, Bluto min.Aye no need to care about careers when you can simply sign on indefinitely. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Once punched work colleague on a night out (he started it) He thinks he's a hardman, so hated the fact that everyone at work was talking about it He soon licked his way to become the boss I left I am now flourishing elsewhere. This is probably the same cunt who caused my jaw break incident, sounds like him. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 Fat cunt? That's the one, I should have just left him to take a kicking. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted November 10, 2016 Share Posted November 10, 2016 I didn't know it when I joined (they gave you all this flowery bullshit about it being a dynamic company), but working at my last job was a career limiting move all in its own. Nobody progresses there unless the guy above them dies/retires or leaves the firm, so some poor bastard can conceivably be there for years at a time until their gaffer finally goes, then it's their turn to be boss. 1 Link to comment
Singapore Steve Posted November 11, 2016 Share Posted November 11, 2016 I was involved in a conference call from a rig offshore in Thailand back to my boss who was onshore in New Zealand or Australia, i forget now. We were having issues with the call as we could not here anything at our side. After the third attempt we gave up and the OIM, barge master and mechanical supervisor proceeded to launch into a tirade of abuse regards my boss....i had to agree with them, he was an i.diot. After our discussion i went back to work, no more than 5 mins later a tannoy for me to go to the OIM's office.....The OIM proceeds to inform me that my boss has called and to inform me that he is not an i.diot and will speak to me when i get back on shore. Needless to say that was my last job for that company. I still to this day believe i was set up as my boss was a kiwi and so was the OIM....Cunt. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted November 11, 2016 Share Posted November 11, 2016 If they didn't ream you on the spot they probably respected what you were saying. Hey ho, I've done loads of shit at jobs I didn't really like. One beauty was falling asleep in a doctors surgery canteen area when I was installing the cabling for an NHS computer network.....snoring like a fucker 1 Link to comment
a don in oz Posted November 11, 2016 Author Share Posted November 11, 2016 If they didn't ream you on the spot they probably respected what you were saying. Hey ho, I've done loads of shit at jobs I didn't really like. One beauty was falling asleep in a doctors surgery canteen area when I was installing the cabling for an NHS computer network.....snoring like a fucker Must be something about medical areas and sleep. I work in the technology side of health and have for years but early on I remember going into theatres to do some work on a system late at night and having to back out when I found some staff member sleeping on the bloody operating slab! Mental... those things are just a slab of cold metal and have great big drains all around them for the body fluids and stuff and he had taken a couple of big cushions from somewhere and was (silently) sound asleep wrapped up in his white coat. Slept through me lighting the place up (not the theatre light) and opening the big plastic doors too. Link to comment