manboobs109 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Not sure if serious or not but I don't like Guinness either. Strong taste of what I imagine to be ethanol unless served very cold.Dodgy lines if thats the case. Guinness is a great pint. Superb with a full breakfast. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Dodgy lines if thats the case. Guinness is a great pint. Superb with a full breakfast.Aye, a proper pint of Guinness is tremendous. Had a couple pints of belhaven's stout recently - smashing Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Dodgy lines if thats the case. Guinness is a great pint. Superb with a full breakfast.Will try it again [minus the breakfast bit TBH] Is Guinness acceptable from a can? Link to comment
DD1903 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Will try it again [minus the breakfast bit TBH] Is Guinness acceptable from a can? No. Not from a can Link to comment
Clockweights Posted April 2, 2018 Author Share Posted April 2, 2018 Will try it again [minus the breakfast bit TBH] Is Guinness acceptable from a can? Surger works fine. Not quite as good as draught, but it'll do Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 ^ yeah its fine out of a can. I like the guinness original but I've never seen it on draught just cans or bottles. Link to comment
mcdougall(4) Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Will try it again [minus the breakfast bit TBH] Is Guinness acceptable from a can? Not really, a proper pint of Gunny should have been poured about 3 weeks ago and left in the corner of a bar to settle then topped off when required Link to comment
dave_min Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Rochefort 6. It's awful. I don't mind an 8 if there isn't any 10 available, but never go with a 6. Beyond that, I hate almost everything. 1 Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Not really, a proper pint of Gunny should have been poured about 3 weeks ago and left in the corner of a bar to settle then topped off when required Aye got told this by two old Irish geezers in the pub a few weeks back, aye never heard this afore..... Just get it down yir neck its nae that special regardless. Will drink it as a last resort. Link to comment
caledonia Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Brewdog & Budweiser, appreciate there a are many brewdog types but it’s all a bit flowery, hoppy for me. Personally I love a pint of T. Very under rated If you like a pint of T then i am sure you would like Kingpin which is just basically LAGER by Brewdog (not flowery as you call it just lager)I do not mind Tennents or any lager whether it be becks, bud, grolsch or even millers any to be honest but not a fan of carling. Also carling have been lying about the strength of their lagerhttp://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-41059610 Link to comment
mcdougall(4) Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Aye got told this by two old Irish geezers in the pub a few weeks back, aye never heard this afore..... Just get it down yir neck its nae that special regardless. Will drink it as a last resort. go to a local village ie non tourist type pub in Ireland and they have pints poured ready to be topped at the back or side of the bar seems to work Link to comment
dave_min Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 If you like a pint of T then i am sure you would like Kingpin which is just basically LAGER by Brewdog (not flowery as you call it just lager)I do not mind Tennents or any lager whether it be becks, bud, grolsch or even millers any to be honest but not a fan of carling. Also carling have been lying about the strength of their lagerhttp://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-41059610 Kingpin has been discontinued. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Bottles of beer in general. Don't see the point, one howp and they're deen. Pints. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 go to a local village ie non tourist type pub in Ireland and they have pints poured ready to be topped at the back or side of the bar seems to work Doesn't make fuck all difference. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Rochefort 6. It's awful. I don't mind an 8 if there isn't any 10 available, but never go with a 6. Beyond that, I hate almost everything.In fairness the bottle of 6 probably thought he had a shit drinker as well Link to comment
DD1903 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Kingpin has been discontinued.Rightly so. Tasteless piss water Link to comment
dave_min Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Rightly so. Tasteless piss water Agreed. The replacement isn't much better either. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Agreed. The replacement isn't much better either.Is that the Vienna lager? Link to comment
Mouse Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Stella or Becks for me, absolute pish. I wouldn't say Tennants is the worst beer in the world, but it's certainly the Vauxhall Corsa of beers...it will do it's job, but fulfill it in the most basic of requirements without any passion or excitement. Link to comment
caledonia Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Kingpin has been discontinued. this.is.lager then kingpin what nextcant see any reference its discontinued onsitehttps://www.brewdog.com/item/1428/BrewDog/Kingpin.html Link to comment
dave_min Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Is that the Vienna lager? Nah, that never went into full production. It's this: https://www.brewdog.com/item/2919/BrewDog/Indie-Pale-Ale.html Didn't rate it. Link to comment
dave_min Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 this.is.lager then kingpin what nextcant see any reference its discontinued onsitehttps://www.brewdog.com/item/1428/BrewDog/Kingpin.html https://www.brewdog.com/lowdown/blog/brewdog-beers-for-2018 Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Nah, that never went into full production. It's this: https://www.brewdog.com/item/2919/BrewDog/Indie-Pale-Ale.html Didn't rate it.You tried the latest version aye? They should make a decent mainstream slightly hoppy porter, a style they are normally good at. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Nah, that never went into full production. It's this: https://www.brewdog.com/item/2919/BrewDog/Indie-Pale-Ale.html Didn't rate it.The 1 or 2 pints I had of Vienna was alright Link to comment
dave_min Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 You tried the latest version aye? They should make a decent mainstream slightly hoppy porter, a style they are normally good at. Nah. I won't rate it anyway. Their darker stuff is amazing. The Paradox, Tokyo* and even JBH are that good I can just about tolerate all their shitty gimmicks. The 1 or 2 pints I had of Vienna was alright Aye, I had a bottle of it and it was alright. I'd struggle to tell it apart from previous lagers they've made though. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Nah. I won't rate it anyway. Their darker stuff is amazing. The Paradox, Tokyo* and even JBH are that good I can just about tolerate all their shitty gimmicks. Aye, I had a bottle of it and it was alright. I'd struggle to tell it apart from previous lagers they've made though. The shipwrecked circus one they made with Oscar blues was one of the best beers Ive ever had. They produce a lot of shite but thankfully a good few gems also. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Budwiser. Carlsburg, Carling [/thread] Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Carling, Tuborg (in Turkey) and Baltic Premium Lager are the 3 which were so bad that I was quite taken aback and unsure if I could even continue drinking them (I did). I would have been much younger and so quite sensitive at the time lol. You now get Tuborg in the O2 ABC in Glasgow, and its nowhere near as bad as I recalled. Maybe a different formula here or it has been updated (the tasting incident I refer to was in 2001)? Anything from the USA is usually atrocious, tastless and fizzy and scarcely alcoholic. I found it impossibe to get drunk in the States and couldnt find a % ABV stated anywhere on beer bottles. Surprised to see Corona make the list. I don't drink it often, but like it when I do - it really needs the lime in it though, it is completely bland without the lime. 1 Link to comment
dave_min Posted April 2, 2018 Share Posted April 2, 2018 Anything from the USA is usually atrocious, tastless and fizzy and scarcely alcoholic. I found it impossibe to get drunk in the States and couldnt find a % ABV stated anywhere on beer bottles. Link to comment