King Street Loon Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Bett came to us from Akranes in Iceland didn’t he? I always wondered how he ended up playing there after he left Rangers. Was his wife from there? Even then it just seemed like he would have been head and shoulders above the standard that probably existed there back then. Although if I mind right, even back then Scotland only just scraping past Iceland in a qualifier.Nope, Lokeren in Belgium. Link to comment
The Buzzard Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Nope, Lokeren in Belgium.Ah right, cheers. Fuck knows why I thought that then. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Stuart McKimmie always struck me as a terrific cunt What actions of his, caused the disdain?Roberto isnt old enough to remember McKimmie in his prime - granted nor am I, but I've watched all the videos. What a player. Agree with above, rubbish captain. And can see why fans around my age dont get the hype as he was a totally different player after that long term injury he had in the early 90's. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Bett came to us from Akranes in Iceland didn’t he? I always wondered how he ended up playing there after he left Rangers. Was his wife from there? Even then it just seemed like he would have been head and shoulders above the standard that probably existed there back then. Although if I mind right, even back then Scotland only just scraping past Iceland in a qualifier. His wife is Icelandic aye. He still lives there. Link to comment
The Buzzard Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 His wife is Icelandic aye. He still lives there.Ended up doing a quick google search there to refresh the memory. Forgot it was actually him that scored the goal in that game against Iceland I referred to. Link to comment
BWG Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Stuart McKimmie always struck me as a terrific cunt What actions of his, caused the disdain?McKimmie is a Cove loon who claimed he couldn't find the Cove Bay Hotel a few years ago, after agreeing to attend an event there. Supposedly he runs a pub in Greenock now so if that's true then he's also a weegie. Bit of a dick by all accounts. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 McKimmie is a Cove loon who claimed he couldn't find the Cove Bay Hotel a few years ago, after agreeing to attend an event there. Supposedly he runs a pub in Greenock now so if that's true then he's also a weegie. Bit of a dick by all accounts.He definitely doesnt run a pub in Greenock. Works in Business Development/sales (not sure for which company) - he was in my work last week. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Stuart McKimmie always struck me as a terrific cunt What actions of his, caused the disdain? Did McKimmie not tell everyone in the RDS to fuck off after yet another dire defeat? He flipped the bird to the support when the team was getting pelters after another dismal performance at Pittodrie. McKimmie in his prime was an outstanding player. Not just a great full-back, but was also no mean sweeper and deputised there for us on quite a few occasions. The captaincy never sat easy with him, I think the added pressure got to him and it's not hard in hindsight to see that that probably contributed massively to his outburst against the support. If anything he cared too much... as a local lad who entered the team when we were absolutely in our pomp, it must have been devastating not only to witness the slide but also be the captain throughout it all. Gruesome, in fact. 1 Link to comment
BWG Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 He definitely doesnt run a pub in Greenock. Works in Business Development/sales (not sure for which company) - he was in my work last week.Fair enough. Does Leighton not also work in sales? Must be the natural progression of the professional footballer. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Fair enough. Does Leighton not also work in sales? Must be the natural progression of the professional footballer.Loads of ex footballers do it. I've never seen what makes them qualified to do the job personally but apparently the skills are "interchangeable". Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Bett was a class above Mason. But I always thought he was a class above most. Mason was a great player, i was at the LC final when he scored twice against the huns, but Bett was our best player in the late 80s. Different class. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 I didn't get to appreciate McKimmie in his prime, absolutely - but like yourself I seen videos, I'm not saying he wasn't a great player - I just for some reason didn't like him. Part of the team that won the Coca Cola Cup in 1995, and I respect him for that because it was a joyous day that day, but I have a strong disliking for him. I also think Joe Miller was a great player for us, but I disliked him also, however this is probably due to the amount of times the ball was played out wide to him and he'd let it go under his foot and out for a throw atleast 5 times in one game. Strange players to dislike, but I did. I also remember McKimmie's son turning up at Coerver Coaching with LAUDRUP 11 on the back of his hun top, and it made me dislike him as a father as well, he failed. Joe Miller was great aye, at crossing the ball miles over the bar into the dick Donald or merkland from good positions. Didn't like him. Too many plukes. Link to comment
BWG Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Loads of ex footballers do it. I've never seen what makes them qualified to do the job personally but apparently the skills are "interchangeable".I can see Leighton being good at it. He got AFC to buy that he was a coach for years. Link to comment
mcdougall(4) Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Mason was a great player, i was at the LC final when he scored twice against the huns, but Bett was our best player in the late 80s. Different class.Did William Miller stop playing for us in the mid 80s then... Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Did William Miller stop playing for us in the mid 80s then... Aye ok, best creative player then. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 26, 2018 Author Share Posted October 26, 2018 Fair enough. Does Leighton not also work in sales? Must be the natural progression of the professional footballer.well leightons decorating skills are certainly not in demand Link to comment
shut up meg Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 I can see Leighton being good at it. He got AFC to buy that he was a coach for years. I've met Leighton a couple of times through work, he told me that all he does is go into workplaces, try to get a hold of blokes that remember the 80s and 90s and shoots the breeze about football and golf.Once the subject of work comes into the discussion, he arranges for folk that know what they are talking about to come in and meet the clients.Once you get by his dour exterior, he's actually pretty good company. Link to comment
BWG Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 I've met Leighton a couple of times through work, he told me that all he does is go into workplaces, try to get a hold of blokes that remember the 80s and 90s and shoots the breeze about football and golf.Once the subject of work comes into the discussion, he arranges for folk that know what they are talking about to come in and meet the clients.Once you get by his dour exterior, he's actually pretty good company.Maybe so. Definitely a shit GK coach though. Link to comment
shut up meg Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Maybe so. Definitely a shit GK coach though. Aye and not much of a salesman either however as long as there's middle aged blokes like us employed, he'll always get a foot in the door. Link to comment
shut up meg Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 The varying levels of touring the memories. Now hes practicing the art, he should consider the subsequent book, spoken word tour, movie and merchandise opportunities. Then... Jim Leighton - The Musical Thatd be the bomb I'd think we'll put that in the maybe pile for the present pops. Link to comment
pocrawred Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 McKimmie is a Cove loon who claimed he couldn't find the Cove Bay Hotel a few years ago, after agreeing to attend an event there. Supposedly he runs a pub in Greenock now so if that's true then he's also a weegie. Bit of a dick by all accounts.Maybe bides in Cove but originally a Kincorth lad. Link to comment
BWG Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Maybe bides in Cove but originally a Kincorth lad.Cove first then moved there when his parents split. Only reason I ken that is because my Dad knew him as a youngster. Link to comment
pocrawred Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 Right, my brither wiz friendly wi him and I only knew him as a Kincorth lad. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 26, 2018 Author Share Posted October 26, 2018 cove, kincortheither doesnt matterfucking toonser! 1 Link to comment
pocrawred Posted October 26, 2018 Share Posted October 26, 2018 cove, kincortheither doesnt matterfucking toonser!Calm yir jets ya neep heed. Link to comment
Panda Posted October 27, 2018 Share Posted October 27, 2018 When we likely to see this Paul mason interview? When's this bbc interview with him available? Either Friday or Saturday. It's now not appearing on the site, think it'll just be on the radio tomorrow. Link to comment
RUL Posted October 27, 2018 Share Posted October 27, 2018 Shambles. The Joe Lewis one was good. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted October 28, 2018 Share Posted October 28, 2018 He definitely doesnt run a pub in Greenock. Works in Business Development/sales (not sure for which company) - he was in my work last week. Not sure about now, 2 years ago he was def in Aberdeen working. Helped us with a problem we were having with a brutally mental helideck coating. Link to comment