Betty Swallicks Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 The reason I ask is I trained as a millwright, worked offshore and now co-own a wee company fitting boilers/fix heating etc. All similar jobs over 35 years.We are currently looking to recruit another engineer and I've just opened an application/CV from someone who (I kid you not) studied sociology (for a year), worked for the social (2 years), worked in a call centre (6months) and is now doing support work. No mention on how he would be remotely suitable for the job advertised.I'm not sure if its a piss take, an error, if the boys a neep or if you can potentially get any job you fancy these days. Anyhoo...anyone train as a brain surgeon and is now a scaffie or vice versa or similar? Link to comment
Arabian Knight Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 gordon fae tayports a traind logistic clerk..ez ride pilt a few strings n goat the cunt a joab in oz 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Aberdeen college at 15 to do domestic science scotvec certification worked my way up from the bottom to become head kitchen porter for a well known embassy 1 Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Time served in plumbing/heating.Moved offshore doing pipefitting, machining, bolt torqueing and tensioning.Now work in an office involved in the above offshore work and seconded to a pretty big oil/gas company. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted December 19, 2019 Author Share Posted December 19, 2019 Aberdeen college at 15 to do domestic science scotvec certification worked my way up from the bottom to become head kitchen porter for a well known embassy Link to comment
Arabian Knight Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 durka in marmaris goat nudes eh ye fae a fotoshoot ye did in 1999 whin ye cidna piy yer tab..ez dain hi res scans 1 Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted December 19, 2019 Author Share Posted December 19, 2019 Time served in plumbing/heating.Moved offshore doing pipefitting, machining, bolt torqueing and tensioning.Now work in an office involved in the above offshore work and seconded to a pretty big oil/gas company. Funcy getting back on the tools? Didni think so. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted December 19, 2019 Author Share Posted December 19, 2019 durka in marmaris goat nudes eh ye fae a fotoshoot ye did in 1999 whin ye cidna piy yer tab..ez dain hi res scans Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Funcy getting back on the tools? Didni think so.I remember the day i decided to pack it in.Was crawling about under a floor in an old house on North Deeside Road and squeezing through gaps in the foundations and having rocks jab into me etc and just thought fuck this.Did 6-7 years offshore before going into the office. Thanks for the offer, but I'll politely decline Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted December 19, 2019 Author Share Posted December 19, 2019 Giving the lad an interview? Na, no point. He's got the job! Link to comment
Zeus Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Went to college to a course for 2 years in being an IT geek. Never worked in IT. Do something completely different (O&G min). Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Did a degree in Business and a masters in Marketing. Now work as a Global Marketing Manager for a very well known fashion company. Despite not being a bummer. Link to comment
Parklife Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Trained as a forklift driver. Now I give the courses. 1 1 Link to comment
Fridge Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 I had to stand in and carry out an interview a few years back that had wouldn’t be remotely believable if it was David Brent. Nigerian Guy staying in London. CV complete fiction, literally had made up companies in Aberdeen. Pointed this out to the HR lassie and even went to the relative hassle of going on Companies House to illustrate the point that Aberdeen is nae a big place and he is speaking complete pish. Needless to say we had to give him a chance and paid to fly him up from London. Three of us on the panel, had to mark applicants out of 10, achieved 2/30. Neither came from me. Stupid HR fucks. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Originally went to uni (RGU Schoolhill) where I spent 2 years getting stoned and drinking in Triple Kirks. Dropped out after i had an exam resit that clashed with a lads holiday to Magaluf. After being told i either cancelled my holiday or left uni, I did the right thing and went to Magaluf. Then started an ECITB oil and gas apprenticeship as an instrument tech. Did the 18 months of full time college then got placed with a metering/flow measurement company at the end of it. Did my final 2 years on site, as an apprentice working between St Fergus, the North Alwyn and Captain (WPP and FPSO) before taking core crew job on the Elgin and North Alwyn for the next 4 years. Moved into the office with a different company as engineer (still in metering/measurement) almost 7 years ago and still doing it now - although have moved back to the company i was an apprentice and tech with, based in clients office. Probably do this until i retire to be honest - moneys good, shortage of people who do it so I'll never struggle for work and quite enjoy it on the whole. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted December 19, 2019 Author Share Posted December 19, 2019 I had to stand in and carry out an interview a few years back that had wouldn’t be remotely believable if it was David Brent. Nigerian Guy staying in London. CV complete fiction, literally had made up companies in Aberdeen. Pointed this out to the HR lassie and even went to the relative hassle of going on Companies House to illustrate the point that Aberdeen is nae a big place and he is speaking complete pish. Needless to say we had to give him a chance and paid to fly him up from London. Three of us on the panel, had to mark applicants out of 10, achieved 2/30. Neither came from me. Stupid HR fucks. To be fair at least he tried to look like he might be qualified unlike my bloke. Link to comment
Fridge Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 The ridiculous thing is it was probably a not wanting to be racist thing that we interviewed him in the first place Can’t remember the exact job but you’re looking for someone to fit into a team. How the fuck was some Nigerian boy going to get on in a warehouse or whatever with the general conversation being how pish we were at the weekend or how much Sally in accounts would get it. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Tripler - Brian is a stinky cunt. Link to comment
shut up meg Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Did a load of work under floors over the years . Nothing like that moment when you think you are stuck or your torch goes out Are you Josef Fritzl? Link to comment
Poodler Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Trained as a forklift driver. Now I give the courses.Frustrating when you think you've just the quip for a thread and scroll down to see it already written! I'm also not surprised to see KSL found some tight spaces, guys a tank 1 Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 I studied life at the University of Hard Knocks. 1 Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 I've got a degree in the streets from the College of Life Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Only swotty poofs went to university /college 1 Link to comment
Parklife Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 I've got a degree in the streets from the College of LifeYou wouldn't last a day on the mean streets of south central. Link to comment
fatjim Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 The reason I ask is I trained as a millwright, worked offshore and now co-own a wee company fitting boilers/fix heating etc. All similar jobs over 35 years.We are currently looking to recruit another engineer and I've just opened an application/CV from someone who (I kid you not) studied sociology (for a year), worked for the social (2 years), worked in a call centre (6months) and is now doing support work. No mention on how he would be remotely suitable for the job advertised.I'm not sure if its a piss take, an error, if the boys a neep or if you can potentially get any job you fancy these days. Anyhoo...anyone train as a brain surgeon and is now a scaffie or vice versa or similar? So is Millertime going to get the job? Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Moobs and the Stobie crew have (slumber) partied with da BloodsWe have a connection. A skills exchange shall we say. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Got a BA in property fae Aberdeen Uni. Started 4th year, but realised I had an essay due in two days when I was away to Madrid to see the Dandies the next morning. Dropped out rather than get terrible/no honours. Couldn't get a job due to shite degree, tried to be an air traffic controller, got to the last interview stage but the English cunts wouldn't let me in. Bought a corner shop, influenced the Aberdeen craft beer revolution for 5 years. Sold up and bought a guest house in the highlands. Currently enjoying 4 months holiday/DIY. Fuck knows what I'll be doing in 3-5 years. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 We have a connection. A skills exchange shall we say. Heard there was some industrial espionage and you selt the mob Robertson's marmalade recipe. In return they sent you over some of that massive American fitba tops as yi couldn't find muckle XXXL clothes in the Dundee of '92. 1 1 Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted December 19, 2019 Share Posted December 19, 2019 Noted. I was just referring to me importing LA Raiders bucket hats in the 90's. Full duty paid and earnings declared. Link to comment