Tommy Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Reading elsewhere that The Brush has died. Sad news, such a character. Link to comment
shooftahmooftah Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Dave Robb great player for AFC , gave his all every game , and scored some great goals. RIP. Davie. 100 percent. What a player. Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Really sorry and sad to read the news. Davie on his day could score hat-tricks or cup winning goals in 1976. Off his day he could shoot and hit the corner flag. Fantastic character all the same and will be greatly missed. RIP big man. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 1 hour ago, Tommy said: Reading elsewhere that The Brush has died. Sad news, such a character. Aye, I heard yesterday about it and posted in another thread. Sad news, and a hero of many fans I know who are older than me. Haven't heard anything officially anywhere though. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 9, 2022 Author Share Posted July 9, 2022 10 minutes ago, King Street Loon said: Aye, I heard yesterday about it and posted in another thread. Sad news, and a hero of many fans I know who are older than me. Haven't heard anything officially anywhere though. I never saw this obviously. Remember going to Dunfermline away about 48 years ago, Jim Hermiston’s last game for us and Robb scored a hat trick. Came to our supporter’s club a few times and was a great laugh. Link to comment
sheepcrooky Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 That would be sad news. As a 10 year old loon he was my hero after scoring the winner in the 1976 LC Final. He then went on to shag Olivia Newton John. I wonder what he rated the biggest achievement. RIP Big Red. Link to comment
Kincardine_Mearns_Red Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 RIP to a true Dons legend. Link to comment
winchester83 Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 He then went on to shag Olivia Newton John. ? Link to comment
Blantyredon Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Stevie Nicks as well?Sad news Link to comment
supersneak Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 8 minutes ago, Blantyredon said: Stevie Nicks as well?Sad news Seems to be a rumour - apparently not true https://en.mediamass.net/people/stevie-nicks/deathhoax.html Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 9, 2022 Author Share Posted July 9, 2022 1 minute ago, supersneak said: Seems to be a rumour - apparently not true https://en.mediamass.net/people/stevie-nicks/deathhoax.html I think it was his shaggin exploits he was referring to. 3 Link to comment
Just Dandy Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Before my time, but I inherited a fitba card with him on it, and was always impressed by his epic coupon. Poignant news somehow, if he's gone. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted July 9, 2022 Site Sponsor Share Posted July 9, 2022 1 hour ago, Tommy said: I think it was his shaggin exploits he was referring to. Stevie NaeNicks Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted July 9, 2022 Site Sponsor Share Posted July 9, 2022 Great player on his game. gave his all. Mind him playing a blinder v Motherwell at Pittodrie on a Wednesday night when he ran from the halfway line and blootered an unstoppable shot into the top corner past a despairing Rennie in goal. Rennie just waved as it flew past him. The Brush was a class act as I’m sure ONJ will testify Link to comment
redone Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Proper old school cult hero. Characters like him make the bond with The Dons unbreakable.....and why Pittodrie will ALWAYS be the home of AFC to me. Drams tonight in honour of The Brush... and memories of a young loon's first trip to Hampden to see the Dons in a cup final, and Davie's winning goal. RIP min. 1 Link to comment
Crossbow Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 16 minutes ago, redone said: Proper old school cult hero. Characters like him make the bond with The Dons unbreakable.....and why Pittodrie will ALWAYS be the home of AFC to me. Drams tonight in honour of The Brush... and memories of a young loon's first trip to Hampden to see the Dons in a cup final, and Davie's winning goal. RIP min. I too was there many moons ago. A Dons legend. RIP. Link to comment
shooftahmooftah Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 52 minutes ago, Dom Sullivan said: Stevie NaeNicks You’re a monk show some respect. Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Saddened to read about this today . What a gentleman he was . He once gave a talk to us young folk back in the day how lucky he was to play for Aberdeen and thought other players other than him when he was scouted were much better than him . He lived the life school boys could only dream of. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 9, 2022 Author Share Posted July 9, 2022 4 minutes ago, shooftahmooftah said: Your a monk show some respect. You’re. ? Link to comment
shooftahmooftah Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 4 minutes ago, Tommy said: You’re. ? ? Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 RIP Davie Robb. Anyone who scores a goal for the Dons in a winning cup Final team is a legend. 2 Link to comment
redone Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 6 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said: RIP Davie Robb. Anyone who scores a goal for the Dons in a winning cup Final team is a legend. Can't argue with that Link to comment
johnstrac Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Not the most skillfull as I'm sure he'd have admitted but I loved watching him, made things "happen". Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 RIP Davie Robb, a fantastic icon of growing up in the 70s and supporting the Dons Gutted. Thoughts are with his family Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Never knew he’d scored a cup final winner. That’s club legend material imho Link to comment
Crashnyploshnit Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 He was a frustrating player. Scored some great goals but missed sitters. Hard as nails. The modern game would see him booked within minutes of starting but back then he could grab a player round the throat and get away with it. Good times. R.I.P. Davie. Link to comment
Torry Tosser Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 Proper Dons Legend. My Old Mans favourite,bubblin like a bairn when he heard news....RIP Davie,gave and took blood for the cause. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 4 minutes ago, Torry Tosser said: took blood for the cause. I’ve never heard that before. What a great turn of phrase. What does it mean? Link to comment
Torry Tosser Posted July 9, 2022 Share Posted July 9, 2022 21 minutes ago, milne_afc said: I’ve never heard that before. What a great turn of phrase. What does it mean? He kicked the shit oot of the opposition. They Bled. Link to comment