Signs of ageing

YorkDon

4 hours ago, Zeus said:

Noise/noisy cunts annoy me. 

Give me peace and quiet anyway- jeeeus ahts fine.

Haha I mind being a young fucker around much older lads at work and thinking I’ll never get to the point of preferring to be able to hear what abody is saying in the pub over jumping about in a nightclub.

I was wrong.

Haven’t got to the point some said of preferring a good cup of tea/pint/meal over getting laid.

1 hour ago, Ten Caat said:

I was on them (minus the y) for a bad back nearly 20 years ago. Never did a thing for me, couldn't tell I'd even taken them.

I had it with a mix of codiene. Nurse found me wandering about the corridors in hospital and said I was raging about snakes! She did say at least I take a telling, she apparently just told me to get back to bed which I shrugged my shoulders and did.

Would be if you didn’t have a debilitating disease, used to hammer Munroes, last year got diagnosed with fibromyalgia and tried goatfell recently, nearly fucking died lol and took 3 weeks to get back to anything like normal.some days a cannot get out of bed, last week got up for work at 05.30, legs buckled putting the trousers on and ended up like a turtle on ma back, No strength to get up as my legs just completely gave way.

nod my head to most of these as well, apart from MAD, s pishing, not happening yet, I won’t give up though, fuck that, normal shift had me walking 10-15 miles a shift.

il not be long in this earth.

3 minutes ago, Dons79 said:

Would be if you didn’t have a debilitating disease, used to hammer Munroes, last year got diagnosed with fibromyalgia and tried goatfell recently, nearly fucking died lol and took 3 weeks to get back to anything like normal.some days a cannot get out of bed, last week got up for work at 05.30, legs buckled putting the trousers on and ended up like a turtle on ma back, No strength to get up as my legs just completely gave way.

nod my head to most of these as well, apart from MAD, s pishing, not happening yet, I won’t give up though, fuck that, normal shift had me walking 10-15 miles a shift.

Fucking hell min, hope you’re alright.

25 minutes ago, Fridge said:

Fucking hell min, hope you’re alright.

cheers bud, il be fine, a just won’t be a late shuffler, on all sorts of pills which I’ve always hated, found it’s only the weed that makes it manageable.that and a dons win😂😂, was a tough wee cookie tae, now a fly could take me out, at least not a killer disease, once you have it it cannot be reversed.there’s plenty worse off so small mercies.

I remember hearing the thoughts of a medical practitioner on Fibromyalgia. Basically wrote it off as an imaginary disease for old women.

Sounds shite @Dons79, at least you’ve a positive outlook and it’s not muscular dystrophy or suchlike. 

I’ve had it for 3 years now, but diagnosed last year, a swear a walked like a steam train before, probably cause am wee and had to keep up with my pals, cannot now, it sucks and yes it affects mostly woman, but is recognised a lot more medically now, body just gets attacked till it’s weak constantly, luckily got a fibromyalgia specialist and tells me it’s signals from the brain sending pain signals to parts of the body, also turns the pain threshold from 1-10 to 1-40, a stub my toe and it feels like it’s broken for a month, even bumping into something is a 2 weeker, anyway, shit happens and it’s not a terminal thing so just have to find the best way to manage it, on Nortriptyline, a nerve blocker but isn’t doing shit. Not stop me working, fuck that sitting about pish getting sick pay, in a wheelchair like a robot

2 minutes ago, milne_afc said:

I remember hearing the thoughts of a medical practitioner on Fibromyalgia. Basically wrote it off as an imaginary disease for old women.

Sounds shite @Dons79, at least you’ve a positive outlook and it’s not muscular dystrophy or suchlike. 

Guest Grays Babylon 1875
11 minutes ago, Dons79 said:

I’ve had it for 3 years now, but diagnosed last year, a swear a walked like a steam train before, probably cause am wee and had to keep up with my pals, cannot now, it sucks and yes it affects mostly woman, but is recognised a lot more medically now, body just gets attacked till it’s weak constantly, luckily got a fibromyalgia specialist and tells me it’s signals from the brain sending pain signals to parts of the body, also turns the pain threshold from 1-10 to 1-40, a stub my toe and it feels like it’s broken for a month, even bumping into something is a 2 weeker, anyway, shit happens and it’s not a terminal thing so just have to find the best way to manage it, on Nortriptyline, a nerve blocker but isn’t doing shit. Not stop me working, fuck that sitting about pish getting sick pay, in a wheelchair like a robot

Fuck sake.

Can you at least enjoy a couple of pints?

Age are You?   About 43...?

also, I've never seen a robot sitting in a wheelchair..

9 minutes ago, Grays Babylon 1875 said:

Fuck sake.

Can you at least enjoy a couple of pints?

Age are You?   About 43...?

also, I've never seen a robot sitting in a wheelchair..

Of course, love heverlee, a smashing pint, aye 43 almost 44.

was what a called humans in wheelchair's, serendipity 

B57-F7748-1-F70-43-B2-B562-B6416-C5-F3-A

Guest Grays Babylon 1875
2 hours ago, Bad_Mobby said:

Tee hee.

Fuckin ell.  Cunts complain about the NHS but they're giving you ketamine to put a plaster on ...!!

When I broke my arm the other month there 1 guy held me down while the doctor yanked the bone back in to position.  I got fuck all but a warning and a 3, 2, 1 countdown......

I want some ketamine.  Looks delightfully good.  Dancing on the ceiling..  Lionel Rich Tea !! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Guest Grays Babylon 1875
6 minutes ago, Dons79 said:

Of course, love heverlee, a smashing pint, aye 43 almost 44.

was what a called humans in wheelchair's, serendipity 

B57-F7748-1-F70-43-B2-B562-B6416-C5-F3-A

Good son.

Remember in the worst times that at least you're not a Hun.

Best of luck with it. 🙌

9 minutes ago, Grays Babylon 1875 said:

Tee hee.

Fuckin ell.  Cunts complain about the NHS but they're giving you ketamine to put a plaster on ...!!

When I broke my arm the other month there 1 guy held me down while the doctor yanked the bone back in to position.  I got fuck all but a warning and a 3, 2, 1 countdown......

I want some ketamine.  Looks delightfully good.  Dancing on the ceiling..  Lionel Rich Tea !! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

You nae just take some of your heroin?

4 hours ago, sheepcrooky said:

Going to pubs and trying to remember what they were called back in the day. 

Was at Molly Malone’s last night before the darts. I remembered it as The Other Record shop, The Nile & Abercrombie’s. Pretty sure it was something in-between The Other Record shop and The Nile though. 

4 hours ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Think it was called The Yard or The Yard of Ale as well min.

Was also Stadia after the Nile

1 hour ago, Dons79 said:

Oh no D79 that's must be soul destroying for you to live like that .

How old are you.?

Looking at your reply you must've been a fit as heck postie.

10-15 miles a day is a lot of miles .👍

Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog
13 minutes ago, tutankamun said:

Was also Stadia after the Nile

Good shout. I remember now when it was across the road from where I worked in 2003. 

Thought we had won one day against the dead club because of the cheering coming from that direction spontaneously, only to find out later we were beat 3-2. Pricks.

8 minutes ago, Edwin Starr said:

Oh no D79 that's must be soul destroying for you to live like that .

How old are you.?

Looking at your reply you must've been a fit as heck postie.

10-15 miles a day is a lot of miles .👍

It is, especially if you lie down to it, am a tenacious little bugger, always have been and was fit, always charging about, I am almost 44 buc and was a chef for years, had to retire that due to the constancy of half running for hours on end, 20/25 thousand steps a day, stressful work which only exasperated the condition, still work but not in a driven, perfectionist environment now, turn up, get paid, shite to be forced to give up your passion but as a said earlier, there’s a lot worse off than me.

3 hours ago, Edwin Starr said:

My advice is keep active through your whole life , Movement is the key believe me .

Agree with this. I’m refusing to let my body give in to ageing (apart from the grey hair :laughing:). 

I reckon I’m fitter now than I was in my 20’s. Run most days (over 1600 miles this year), 20k steps / day and cycle to work etc.

Definitely healthier too, eat whole foods that I cook myself and never take any medication, not even paracetamol / ibuprofen.