JumboJET Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 I have no problem admitting that I do like a steak pie from Todders. Also my local boozer, the Manor House Maltby, does an excellent steak and ale pie. What is your favourite pie? And why is it your favourite? Happy Friday, BigJumbo. Link to comment
Fridge Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 1 hour ago, JumboJET said: I have no problem admitting that I do like a steak pie from Todders. Also my local boozer, the Manor House Maltby, does an excellent steak and ale pie. What is your favourite pie? And why is it your favourite? Happy Friday, BigJumbo. Todders? That word has been banned on here. 2 1 Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 A no nonsense Scotch Pie was always my favourite. It's my favourite because it's simple, but effective. Bilin' Het! When I lived in Dubai I used to get frozen Scotch Pies from the local shop and would eat them at the weekend watching the fitba. Now I'm a poof and don't eat meat. So I guess I'd have to go for a Macaroni Pie nowadays. Shite. Happy Friday to you too BigJumbo. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 I made a brilliant Jamie Oliver Steak Guiness and Cheese pie, fucking lovely it was! If it's a bought pie the Steak pie from the Sea Salt and Sole chipper is ace. Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 3 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: Waitrose do a nice asparagus pie. Very tasty but makes your pee pee smell. Like Sugar Puffs Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 Pat Nevin was on Off The Ball one week and told a story about when he dined at Gordon Ramsay's restaurant. He ordered a bottle of wine and when it arrived there was a drawing of a woman on the label that was identical to his wife. He said he couldn't believe how much this drawing looked like his wife. Quick as a flash, Tam Cowan replied with 'I had the same once in a supermarket, but it was a box of Sugar Puffs'. Sorry to derail the thread Jumbo. Just wanted to tell that story. I also used to like a chicken and mushroom pie back in the day. But not as much as a Scotch pie. 3 Link to comment
sigh Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 An often underrated pie is a tattie beaner - scotch pie with mash on top with a smattering of beans - dont see them very often nowadays. Had a steak and mealie pie the other day, lovely. Link to comment
Fridge Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 51 minutes ago, styrofoamplates said: Pat Nevin was on Off The Ball one week and told a story about when he dined at Gordon Ramsay's restaurant. He ordered a bottle of wine and when it arrived there was a drawing of a woman on the label that was identical to his wife. He said he couldn't believe how much this drawing looked like his wife. Quick as a flash, Tam Cowan replied with 'I had the same once in a supermarket, but it was a box of Sugar Puffs'. Sorry to derail the thread Jumbo. Just wanted to tell that story. I also used to like a chicken and mushroom pie back in the day. But not as much as a Scotch pie. I still remember Cowan when it was the Queen Mum’s 99th birthday and she was having a 99 ice cream cone to celebrate, he said I wonder what she did 30 years ago. 2 Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 Fray Bentos was a favourite of mine back in the day, as was a steak pie supper fae Kenny's in Chattan Place when on way home fae being pished in toon. Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 1 minute ago, BaaBaaRedSheep said: Fray Bentos was a favourite of mine back in the day, as was a steak pie supper fae Kenny's in Chattan Place when on way home fae being pished in toon. As an aside once bought a pie supper from Golden Fry on Holburn Street, which was boggin'. When walking home noticed an open window on a ground floor flat on Union Grove. Said pie was lobbed through said gap, much to the surprise, and annoyance, of the flat's incumbents. Link to comment
Fridge Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 18 minutes ago, BaaBaaRedSheep said: As an aside once bought a pie supper from Golden Fry on Holburn Street, which was boggin'. When walking home noticed an open window on a ground floor flat on Union Grove. Said pie was lobbed through said gap, much to the surprise, and annoyance, of the flat's incumbents. Nae surprised the boy that owned it was always fucking smashed. It wasn’t nicknamed the Golden Grease for nothing. Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 7 minutes ago, Fridge said: Nae surprised the boy that owned it was always fucking smashed. It wasn’t nicknamed the Golden Grease for nothing. Now you tell me min. Yep it wasn't great, which was probably assisted by the fact that I was pished. Link to comment
JumboJET Posted April 21, 2023 Author Share Posted April 21, 2023 I quite used to like the mince and skirlie pies from JG Ross. Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 2 hours ago, Bad_Mobby said: Hairy You'd never get one of those at Aitkens. He didn't like any hair on his pie. 1 Link to comment
Zeus Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 Frey Bentos (Good Cuban Leader) Link to comment
jamiesd Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 Loved a steak and gravy pie. Used to get a crackin one from A1 butchers near Berryden. Had a chuckle at the comments mentioning the Golden Grease. hadn't heard that for a while. That place and the Kiwi were the two worst chippers in Aberdeen. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 28 minutes ago, sheepcrooky said: They look the business! Fars at fae? Link to comment
milne_afc Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 Kebab pie from Clark’s in Dundee is very good. Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 7 hours ago, styrofoamplates said: Pat Nevin was on Off The Ball one week and told a story about when he dined at Gordon Ramsay's restaurant. He ordered a bottle of wine and when it arrived there was a drawing of a woman on the label that was identical to his wife. He said he couldn't believe how much this drawing looked like his wife. Quick as a flash, Tam Cowan replied with 'I had the same once in a supermarket, but it was a box of Sugar Puffs'. Sorry to derail the thread Jumbo. Just wanted to tell that story. I also used to like a chicken and mushroom pie back in the day. But not as much as a Scotch pie. 😂 Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 7 hours ago, Sooper-hanz said: Never had Sugar Puffs. They’re on my ‘to do’ list. 👍 Still never had macaroni and cheese? Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 A place up here does a beef curry topped with salt & chilli chips. Also does a chilli beef nacho one. Both on my list to try. Link to comment
Bournemouth Gee Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 In the early nineties I had a scotch pie at Easter road. We lost, Rico got sent off that's all I remember about the game. But this pie was a thing of beauty. The fat oozing out of it covered the lower half of my face. Quite peppery, no discernible meat content. Brilliant. 1 Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 3 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: That’s a different thread. That’s “Pies you want to try “ 👍 That's not a thread. Link to comment
Roger Ramjet 62 Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 Pie : Posh Macaroni. Dealer : Chas McHardy's. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 47 minutes ago, Don Fonte said: A place up here does a beef curry topped with salt & chilli chips. Also does a chilli beef nacho one. Both on my list to try. Far? Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 3 minutes ago, Redforever86 said: Far? A bakery takeaway. Both specials and not on every day. Do plenty other unconventional pies also. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 Lasagne pie fae the butcher in Lhanbryde. Fat as fuck but lovely Link to comment
Roger Ramjet 62 Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 7 minutes ago, Redforever86 said: Far? Chas McHardy's do a macho nacho pie. Unca fine. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted April 21, 2023 Share Posted April 21, 2023 Tilly Butcher is class, Duncan’s too. Link to comment