BaaBaaRedSheep Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Personally I would have told the 18 year old skint me 40 years ago to borrow money from a family member and go to Gothenburg. I'd been to all the home games up to, and including, the semi final but didn't have the cash to pay for the trip to Gothenburg. Big regret that the older me struggles to understand even now. Probably a crap example of looking back on the decision making of youth but I am sure that the good folk on the Hat have far better yarns to tell. Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Become a PE teacher and not a nurse. Don't marry the ex-wife. You knew it was the wrong thing to do yet you still went through with it. 1 Link to comment
dave_min Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Don’t sign up to a football forum. Buy Bitcoin. 2 Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted May 4, 2023 Author Share Posted May 4, 2023 Just now, Ten Caat said: Become a PE teacher and not a nurse. Don't marry the ex-wife. You knew it was the wrong thing to do yet you still went through with it. Regret the ex-wife big time, but then wouldn't have the 2 kids, now adults, that I am immensely proud of. I too initially made a poor career choice but, fortunately, rectified that relatively quickly in the grand scheme of things. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 1 minute ago, dave_min said: Don’t sign up to a football forum. You can still do something about that Link to comment
Fridge Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Don’t support Aberdeen and end up with an unhealthy hatred of Huns. Probably shortened my life due to high blood pressure. Link to comment
Dad Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 50 minutes ago, Fridge said: Don’t support Aberdeen and end up with an unhealthy hatred of Huns. Probably shortened my life due to high blood pressure. Ach you dinnae mean that fridge son - it's worth it sure ✌️ Link to comment
Fridge Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 10 minutes ago, Dad said: Ach you dinnae mean that fridge son - it's worth it sure ✌️ Ach na you are 100% correct. Best thing in the world, aright there are some lows along the way but the highs are brilliant. FTH. Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted May 4, 2023 Author Share Posted May 4, 2023 1 hour ago, Fridge said: Don’t support Aberdeen and end up with an unhealthy hatred of Huns. Probably shortened my life due to high blood pressure. Cannae see anything wrong with a hatred of all things Hun. Link to comment
Fridge Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 5 minutes ago, BaaBaaRedSheep said: Cannae see anything wrong with a hatred of all things Hun. I don’t think it’s good for my mental health, nae sure what a psychologist would say. Why do you want them all to die? Why would you not? Are you sure that’s a nice thing to want? Fuck off you Hun. Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted May 4, 2023 Author Share Posted May 4, 2023 Far too many shrinks are Huns. Not acceptable in today's society. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Get more fanny before you get married. And once a family man take in every moment and make the best of your kids as babies and as they grow up cause in no time they are adults and moved out. 1 Link to comment
sigh Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Stay fit, keep exercising - once you lose it you will never get it back, no matter how hard you try. And train. Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Stop being soft as shite and allowing folk you thought were your friends to treat you with sheer contempt and disrespect. Batter some of them until they were unconscious. Not to take the rap for others for being concerned in the supply and distribution of stolen goods. Not to push my father (he stumbled into our new living room unit) when I was 14 years old after he cracked me around my lug (yet again) on Christmas Day 1992, just for nae answering the front door when he was closer to it. Link to comment
Dad Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Aye sigh - much the same I reckon - fitness is very important - my relationship with fitness is now at an off the page level - but for sure, continuity had its ups n dahns there for a fair old whiley - bouts of self-pity and doubt arenae reason enough to no go running or at least brisk walking. Flexibility too - I danced with the devil early doors alas... feet pointing inwards, neck craned over n down - it was as if Dad was daring muscle pain to have a facking go. They did sure - and now Dad has to watch videos of Matt McConechy advising on meditation or whatever. Respect teeth as well - yon reckless candy consumption has cost Dad upwards of around 5g-children to date😭 Practice the bass more Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 can’t think of anything worse to aspire to than fitness Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 1 minute ago, Bluto10 said: can’t think of anything worse to aspire to than fitness We gathered that. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 4 minutes ago, maryhilldon said: We gathered that. I dinna need to climb 47 flights multiple times daily tho, my bedsits on the grnd floor #BriJoke Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 2 minutes ago, Bluto10 said: can’t think of anything worse to aspire to than fitness Did you skip your PE lessons at school, Bluto min, or if you did attend you handed in a note written by you or one of your pals to excuse you from participating in PE lessons? 🤔 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 3 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said: Did you skip your PE lessons at school, Bluto min, or if you did attend you handed in a note written by you or one of your pals to excuse you from participating in PE lessons? 🤔 was ace at football and been a jogger/lifter since late teens. first marathon in early 20s nae lazy or unfit. ‘fitness’ /counting calories etc is not my style Link to comment
Fridge Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 10 minutes ago, Bluto10 said: was ace at football and been a jogger/lifter since late teens. first marathon in early 20s nae lazy or unfit. ‘fitness’ /counting calories etc is not my style Nobody’s buying this ludicrous lies Blutz. Only marathon you’ve been on is a drinking session. Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 11 minutes ago, Bluto10 said: was ace at football and been a jogger/lifter since late teens. first marathon in early 20s nae lazy or unfit. ‘fitness’ /counting calories etc is not my style Counting calories is a nonsense. Sometimes the nature of your work (e.g. bricklaying, lumping fish boxes) gives you all the exercise you need. Good on ye completing a marathon min.👍 As long as you wake up each morning/day, that's always a bonus. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 2 minutes ago, Fridge said: Nobody’s buying this ludicrous lies Blutz. Only marathon you’ve been on is a drinking session. haha artisic license. tbf I did do the great north run once Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 3 minutes ago, Bluto10 said: haha artisic license. tbf I did do the great north run once Fuck, I was giving you a compliment as well. I take it the marathon, in question, was a bar of nutty chocolate?😄 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 9 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said: Fuck, I was giving you a compliment as well. I take it the marathon, in question, was a bar of nutty chocolate?😄 it was the GNR min Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Only thing id change is id have went and worked ltd company straight out my time, rather than piss about as a staffy. Could have milked the contractor cash and dodged tax for years in hindsight Just being greedy though. Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 1 minute ago, Bluto10 said: it was the GNR min 😄😄. The Great North Run used to be held at the New Year if I remember correctly, so hat's off to you min for temporarily giving up the booze, getting fit, and doing the 13 mile slog. I thought temperance was only a thing up oor way at the New Year (folk foolishly walking aboot their villages playing flutes as a fake show of guid-living abstinence fae booze)? Never knew it takes place in Ellon as well. (Edit: I'm wrong about when the GNR is run). Link to comment
JumboJET Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 Do not get the cock largening surgery from the unlicenced, back-alley Moldovan doctor. Link to comment
sigh Posted May 4, 2023 Share Posted May 4, 2023 46 minutes ago, Bluto10 said: was ace at football and been a jogger/lifter since late teens. first marathon in early 20s nae lazy or unfit. ‘fitness’ /counting calories etc is not my style Sounds similar - when I said look after yer fitness I didnt mean countin calories etc. Did Edinburgh marathon back in 2002, done about 8 halfs, also done a fair few cycle endurance events - I just know that when I stop it takes longer and longer to get back to any sort of fitness again. Mind you Ive never been a "lifter" - hope thats no shirt lifter? Link to comment