Best Dons' Match Watched in a Bar

As it is coming up for holiday season was trying to remember some of the best Dons matches I have watched, pissed in a bar, whilst on holiday.

The best I can recall was a bar in Palma Nova a few years back when we were playing the minky Tims at home.

The bar was hoochin' with the usual kind of Tim, tinks pished on happy hour beer and a very small handful of The Famous Aberdeen supporters. 

When Paul Quinn scored to put us 2-1 up the green and white twats still thought they'd get a result, wrong.

The small handful of Dons fans extended the happy hour well beyond the final whistle and the Timmy fans fucked off. Happy days. 

Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog

The game we beat Hamilton 3-0 away in February 2015, when we also had 3 perfectly legitimate goals (Rooney, Considine, and Goodwillie) chopped off plus a stonewall penalty not getting awarded (the boy Garcia Tena bodyslamming Adam Rooney to the ground at a set-piece).

Arguably, the most complete performance I've ever seen from our team.

29 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

I was at that, Collum was the ref. He was totally inept that night. Did Hamilton not get at least one back? 

No min, it definitely was 3-0. I can't even remember Hamilton having a chance,  never mind scoring.

It was a Sunday afternoon 2pm or 3pm kick off.

28 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

I looked it up there, you’re right. It was incredible from Collum, absolutely incredible. 

It's up there with the very worst refereeing performances of all-time. 

Adam Rooney's goal was at least a yard over the line, and was just one of several decisions he and his assistants chose to get wrong that afternoon.

12 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

It's up there with the very worst refereeing performances of all-time. 

Adam Rooney's goal was at least a yard over the line, and is just one of several decisions he and his assistants chose to get wrong that afternoon.

Sunday you mean?

12 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

He got absolute dogs abuse for it that night. Seems to revel in it though. 

He actually smiles when he knows he had made an error, omission, or oversight and when he gets the quite rightfully aired consequential displeasure.

He's a protected species, Collum.

6 minutes ago, Fridge said:

Sunday you mean?

Both excuses of performances were tortuous and totally unacceptable min.

December 2016 ……Motherwell 1 Aberdeen 3

Mad Friday…..been oot on work Christmas bash all afternoon , even half cut I could tell we were playing the best we’d done for a while after a sticky spell.  No co-incidence that Maddison didn’t feature. Nor did he again. And we went on to win 10 out of the next 11 games.   

6 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Both excuses of performances were tortuous and totally unacceptable min.

Nae sure how old you are but one of the best was Mccoist diving in the 1989 Skol cup final, was a cracker of a decision that not one person in the stadium thought would be given. We still won the game though.

Celtic 0-1 Aberdeen, Scottish cup 2008

Dutch Mill, forward rolls, much lolz

Hearts 1-1 Aberdeen, 2007, late Barry Nicholson goal 

More forward rolls, this time over the pool table 

Celtic 1-2 Aberdeen, Scottish cup 2014 in a bar full of Tims in Inverness - wonderful 

7 minutes ago, Fridge said:

Nae sure how old you are but one of the best was Mccoist diving in the 1989 Skol cup final, was a cracker of a decision that not one person in the stadium thought would be given. We still won the game though.

I remember the game very well, watching it with my old man at home.

Jock Brown's commentary on that incident still reverberates in my lugs. A truly odious decision. 

Like you say min, we truly had the last laugh mind.😄👍

2 hours ago, BaaBaaRedSheep said:

As it is coming up for holiday season was trying to remember some of the best Dons matches I have watched, pissed in a bar, whilst on holiday.

The best I can recall was a bar in Palma Nova a few years back when we were playing the minky Tims at home.

The bar was hoochin' with the usual kind of Tim, tinks pished on happy hour beer and a very small handful of The Famous Aberdeen supporters. 

When Paul Quinn scored to put us 2-1 up the green and white twats still thought they'd get a result, wrong.

The small handful of Dons fans extended the happy hour well beyond the final whistle and the Timmy fans fucked off. Happy days. 

Watched that in Marmaris Turkey actually and probably up there with best game I've ever watched in a bar if truth be told. Absolutely bouncing.

4 minutes ago, hairyhaggis666 said:

I watched the Celtic game with the Regi Blinker own goal in a bar in Amsterdam. For some unknown reason I was struggling to concentrate on game and it took me a while to realise it was an own goal ha ha

That was the snowball game if I recall, they missed two pens and we managed to score three goals without having three shots on target!

Watched the 4-4 draw with Celtic in 2010 in a bar in Dubai. Place was full of Celtic fans with only about 3 or 4 dons supporters. Getting the piss ripped out of us when they went 4-2 up with about 20 minutes to go only for Steven McLean to wipe the toothless grins off their monobrowed faces.

2 hours ago, NEM said:

Watched us beat the tims in the scottish cup 2014 in a bar in New York full of the local Celtic supporters club.  Lovely stuff.  Arctic Monkeys at MSG later on topped off a wonderful day.

Watched that one in the Dutch.

Reserved the front room and was served with a marvellous and relentless squaad of pints via top notch waitress service.

Fair stramash that night. Shit marak.

2 hours ago, Frank Grimes said:

Celtic 0-1 Aberdeen, Scottish cup 2008

Dutch Mill, forward rolls, much lolz

Hearts 1-1 Aberdeen, 2007, late Barry Nicholson goal 

More forward rolls, this time over the pool table 

Celtic 1-2 Aberdeen, Scottish cup 2014 in a bar full of Tims in Inverness - wonderful 

Funnily enough, the Hearts one was also a hired private room, this time in Highland Hotel.

Rare bounce with late equaliser given it's implications in our attempts to qualify for Europe.

By really strange and utterly unlikely coincidence, ended up spangled that night as well.

Aberdeen 3-2 Rangers - Jamie Smith winner. 

In Bronze bar in Magaluf. There was about 24 of us away, few huns sprinkled in there. The boy who owned it  was something to do with Dunfermline and pals with Calderwood and he phoned him pre and post match so we could speak to him, then was dishing out free shots to all the aberdeen fans afterwards for what seemed like ages. Ace bounce. Stotted into the Ibrox bar or fitever its called afterwards, buckled, called them all miserable hun bastards (wearing my dons top...fitba tops on holiday LOL) and got chased back to the strip. 

Bar got fuckin ruined when Smith slammed that winner in. 

8 minutes ago, dazzy_deff said:

Aberdeen 3-2 Rangers - Jamie Smith winner. 

In Bronze bar in Magaluf. There was about 24 of us away, few huns sprinkled in there. The boy who owned it  was something to do with Dunfermline and pals with Calderwood and he phoned him pre and post match so we could speak to him, then was dishing out free shots to all the aberdeen fans afterwards for what seemed like ages. Ace bounce. Stotted into the Ibrox bar or fitever its called afterwards, buckled, called them all miserable hun bastards (wearing my dons top...fitba tops on holiday LOL) and got chased back to the strip. 

Bar got fuckin ruined when Smith slammed that winner in. 

I had to go browse AFC Heritage to figure out if I was there or not 😭

I was not.

I watched that 3-2 game in a bar in Glasgow believe it or not 

Jumped on the table when Smith scored, was the only Dandy in the place and got an ashtray launched at me then a dog tried to bite me as I was escorted out :laughing:

Just remember calling them all weegie bastards and danced down the road 

1 minute ago, Frank Grimes said:

I watched that 3-2 game in a bar in Glasgow believe it or not 

Jumped on the table when Smith scored, was the only Dandy in the place and got an ashtray launched at me then a dog tried to bite me as I was escorted out :laughing:

Just remember calling them all weegie bastards and danced down the road 

I got an ashtray launched off me when Celtic fucked it in seville and I laughed, boy said you must be a Hun, nope just think it’s funny, get yourself to fuck. Think it confused him and then he left.

Hopefully to get run over.