Sonoftherock Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 No worse than McCrorie going to Seville. He got away with that, it would be double standards if Hayes is now punished for this. We set a precedent after Seville unfortunately. Having said that, if it were up to me McCrorie would have been binned immediately after that. If Hayes turns up to this nonsense, he should also be shown the door. Just my opinion - but maybe I take AFC too seriously…. 2 Link to comment
Roger Ramjet 62 Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 Just now, Sonoftherock said: No worse than McCrorie going to Seville. He got away with that, it would be double standards if Hayes is now punished for this. We set a precedent after Seville unfortunately. Having said that, if we were up to me McCrorie would have been binned immediately after that. If Hayes turns up to this nonsense, he should also be shown the door. Just my opinion - but maybe I take AFC too seriously…. There's only one to take ABERDEEN and that's seriously. It's about a hell of a lot more than a sport 👏 Link to comment
Big Hat Logan Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 Can only agree with the people that have no problem with this. People getting angry about it is embarrassing tbh. He played for Celtic, clearly a boyhood fan too. Hayes’ commitment to AFC has never been in question, gives absolutely everything on the pitch and let’s not forget who broke celtics clean sheet record at Pittodrie. I also couldn’t give a fuck about McCrorie and Ferguson going to watch Sevco in the final or Ramirez enjoying a game of football. This forum is full of snowflakey bed-wetters. 2 Link to comment
Big Hat Logan Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 8 minutes ago, Sonoftherock said: No worse than McCrorie going to Seville. He got away with that, it would be double standards if Hayes is now punished for this. We set a precedent after Seville unfortunately. Having said that, if it were up to me McCrorie would have been binned immediately after that. If Hayes turns up to this nonsense, he should also be shown the door. Just my opinion - but maybe I take AFC too seriously…. You clearly do take it too seriously. Just wait until you find out who the rest of the squad support, you’ll be amazed to know they don’t all support Aberdeen. Link to comment
CCB III Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 8 minutes ago, Sonoftherock said: No worse than McCrorie going to Seville. He got away with that, it would be double standards if Hayes is now punished for this. We set a precedent after Seville unfortunately. Having said that, if it were up to me McCrorie would have been binned immediately after that. If Hayes turns up to this nonsense, he should also be shown the door. Just my opinion - but maybe I take AFC too seriously…. Tbf RMC was in the off season, club doesn't really have a leg to stand on. Here, it's days before a big game. No need to punish him, just a simple 'wise the fuck up' would do. 2 Link to comment
Big Hat Logan Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 Also, didn’t McGinn go to watch Celtic a few times while he was our player? Can’t remember anyone getting upset over that? Honestly it’s hysterical that people want Hayes binned for going to some dinner dance thing. Absolute virgins Link to comment
CCB III Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 Just now, Big Hat Logan said: You clearly do take it too seriously. Just wait until you find out who the rest of the squad support, you’ll be amazed to know they don’t all support Aberdeen. It's not about who they support, it's how they are able to put it to one side or not whilst representing our football club. In the case of RMC and Ferguson it was obvious they couldn't. And in Hayes' case, the same. Same for Jack and that minker Storie who were singing hun songs whilst employed by us. I'm not, and nobody else is I don't think, demanding that every footballer for Aberdeen is a Dandy, but I am demanding that they put ANY allegiances to other clubs to one side during their time with us. It's really not that unreasonable. Link to comment
CCB III Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 3 minutes ago, Big Hat Logan said: Also, didn’t McGinn go to watch Celtic a few times while he was our player? Can’t remember anyone getting upset over that? Honestly it’s hysterical that people want Hayes binned for going to some dinner dance thing. Absolute virgins People definitely were upset over that and McInnes said he'd spoke to him. McGinn was overall a great player for us and actually managed to bring home some silverware so it's forgotten, as it should be. He definitely should've got a rollicking and rightful stick at the time, we were trying to chase them for a title. It was ridiculous, a dons player in the away end celebrating goals for a direct opponent within that season. Ludicrous. If we were battling United for relegation spots this year, and say Peter Pawlett was in our end at a pivotal away game cheering us on, United fans will undoubtedly be pissed off at that. You're trying to rationalise football to the extent that the TV companies, journalists and some of our worst, merchandise cladded fans want. What makes it great is its irrationality. You're with us for the duration of your contract, or you aren't. It's truly as simple as that. 1 Link to comment
Broken_Glass Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 1 hour ago, Redtaz2 said: Also are we forgetting the delay on his wages being paid ? Yes indeed I did. However that doesn't suit the agenda of the foaming mouthed minority. I want to be offended brigade. 🤣🤣🤭 1 Link to comment
CCB III Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 5 minutes ago, Broken_Glass said: Yes indeed I did. However that doesn't suit the agenda of the foaming mouthed minority. I want to be offended brigade. 🤣🤣🤭 That was genuinely the retort of a 14 year old. Brutal stuff. Nobody is saying Johnny is a bad guy, far from it, seems a class guy and I don't doubt his commitment to Aberdeen. But, doing this as an Aberdeen FC employee shouldn't happen. He should know better, which actually makes it more disappointing. Link to comment
G man Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 4 hours ago, Ten Caat said: Not sure how the club could stop him being there but nevertheless it's piss poor from Hayes. We all know he's a lifelong Celtic fan but it's us paying his wages and and a 300 mile round trip not much more than 36 hours before a vital league match can't be a good idea, especially for someone in the twilight of his career. Maybe he is going down to negotiate a 1-0 win for us in the last game of the season? Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 1 hour ago, Dad said: Is he fuck I'll settle for being better than you ya auld paedo Link to comment
RUL Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 It’s such a weird decision to attend. I’m not sure it’ll impact his performance as he was fucking terrible last week. Link to comment
G man Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 24 minutes ago, CCB III said: It's not about who they support, it's how they are able to put it to one side or not whilst representing our football club. In the case of RMC and Ferguson it was obvious they couldn't. And in Hayes' case, the same. Same for Jack and that minker Storie who were singing hun songs whilst employed by us. I'm not, and nobody else is I don't think, demanding that every footballer for Aberdeen is a Dandy, but I am demanding that they put ANY allegiances to other clubs to one side during their time with us. It's really not that unreasonable. I remember Scott McKenna was in with the Aberdeen fans earlier this season at Easter Road when we lost 3-1. Notts Forest didn't complain. 1 Link to comment
RUL Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 Just now, G man said: I remember Scott McKenna was in with the Aberdeen fans earlier this season at Easter Road when we lost 3-1. Notts Forest didn't complain. Your right, that’s exactly the same 😂 Link to comment
CCB III Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 2 minutes ago, G man said: I remember Scott McKenna was in with the Aberdeen fans earlier this season at Easter Road when we lost 3-1. Notts Forest didn't complain. 😭 Nah. No way. Love the bloody hat. Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 7 minutes ago, G man said: I remember Scott McKenna was in with the Aberdeen fans earlier this season at Easter Road when we lost 3-1. Notts Forest didn't complain. Maybe because he played for them the day before (lost 3-2 at home to Fulham) and the following week was an international weekend Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 33 minutes ago, Big Hat Logan said: Also, didn’t McGinn go to watch Celtic a few times while he was our player? Can’t remember anyone getting upset over that? You must be going senile then, loads of folk weren't happy about it. 1 Link to comment
Big Hat Logan Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 32 minutes ago, CCB III said: It's not about who they support, it's how they are able to put it to one side or not whilst representing our football club. In the case of RMC and Ferguson it was obvious they couldn't. And in Hayes' case, the same. Same for Jack and that minker Storie who were singing hun songs whilst employed by us. I'm not, and nobody else is I don't think, demanding that every footballer for Aberdeen is a Dandy, but I am demanding that they put ANY allegiances to other clubs to one side during their time with us. It's really not that unreasonable. 29 minutes ago, CCB III said: People definitely were upset over that and McInnes said he'd spoke to him. McGinn was overall a great player for us and actually managed to bring home some silverware so it's forgotten, as it should be. He definitely should've got a rollicking and rightful stick at the time, we were trying to chase them for a title. It was ridiculous, a dons player in the away end celebrating goals for a direct opponent within that season. Ludicrous. If we were battling United for relegation spots this year, and say Peter Pawlett was in our end at a pivotal away game cheering us on, United fans will undoubtedly be pissed off at that. You're trying to rationalise football to the extent that the TV companies, journalists and some of our worst, merchandise cladded fans want. What makes it great is its irrationality. You're with us for the duration of your contract, or you aren't. It's truly as simple as that. They should be allowed to do what they want in their free time though, no? If this is what he wants to do in his free time then let him do it. We want the players happy and motivated, no? Hayes commitment and performance on the pitch won’t be affected by this. 2 Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 He shouldn't be going, knows fine it will just rile folk up so why bother. Nae sure why these events can't be on a Saturday night or in the summer or during an international break. Stuff about him being tired for the Saturday afternoon after a wee trip down to Glasgow and back in a car is stretching it though. The boy is a professional athlete, nae an old age pensioner. Link to comment
Roger Ramjet 62 Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 9 minutes ago, G man said: I remember Scott McKenna was in with the Aberdeen fans earlier this season at Easter Road when we lost 3-1. Notts Forest didn't complain. Forest are tinpot and more importantly and unluckily for them they are not ABERDEEN so quite what the fuck your comment has to with us I've no idea. Try harder. Think before posting. Above all do better. Link to comment
Broken_Glass Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 15 minutes ago, CCB III said: That was genuinely the retort of a 14 year old. Brutal stuff. Nobody is saying Johnny is a bad guy, far from it, seems a class guy and I don't doubt his commitment to Aberdeen. But, doing this as an Aberdeen FC employee shouldn't happen. He should know better, which actually makes it more disappointing. 14 aye Grow up. Link to comment
Big Hat Logan Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 3 minutes ago, BaaBaaRedSheep said: I have more of a problem it being 40 hours before a very important fixture. Jonny would be complaining if he had a game on Thursday night followed by another one on Saturday lunchtime. I appreciate that he isn't playing on Thursday night but I imagine that it wouldn't be an overly relaxing experience. Remember that Willie Miller used to sleep a lot between games to rest up and improve performance. If Jonny plays on Saturday and has a shocker then there is nowhere to hide for both player and club. Simply shouldn't have been sanctioned due to time factors. Hes had a few shockers this season, none of them have had anything to do with some Celtic event. Who gives a fuck what Willie Miller did 40 years ago 🤷🏻♂️ Link to comment
Broken_Glass Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 5 minutes ago, BaaBaaRedSheep said: I have more of a problem it being 40 hours before a very important fixture. Jonny would be complaining if he had a game on Thursday night followed by another one on Saturday lunchtime. I appreciate that he isn't playing on Thursday night but I imagine that it wouldn't be an overly relaxing experience. Remember that Willie Miller used to sleep a lot between games to rest up and improve performance. If Jonny plays on Saturday and has a shocker then there is nowhere to hide for both player and club. Simply shouldn't have been sanctioned due to time factors. Johnny would be complaining would he - do you know that for certain? He'll do his bit on Thursday night at a club he was successful with. Hell turn up and give 100% for Aberdeen at Tynecastle like he always does. Link to comment
Fridge Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 It’s utter nonesense, would anyone have accepted Mccinnes going to speak at a Rangers dinner while he was manager during the season? Couldn’t give a fuck who he supports if he gives his all but surely everyone can see that you shouldn’t be going to another teams event while you’re employed by a club. Link to comment
CCB III Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 9 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said: He shouldn't be going, knows fine it will just rile folk up so why bother. Nae sure why these events can't be on a Saturday night or in the summer or during an international break. Stuff about him being tired for the Saturday afternoon after a wee trip down to Glasgow and back in a car is stretching it though. The boy is a professional athlete, nae an old age pensioner. Someone should tell his face 2 Link to comment
CCB III Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 8 minutes ago, Broken_Glass said: 14 aye Grow up. Again, terrible retort. Pointless poster Link to comment
Joe pike Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 12 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said: He shouldn't be going, knows fine it will just rile folk up so why bother. Nae sure why these events can't be on a Saturday night or in the summer or during an international break. Stuff about him being tired for the Saturday afternoon after a wee trip down to Glasgow and back in a car is stretching it though. The boy is a professional athlete, nae an old age pensioner. In football terms he is an oap. Cormack needs to stop him going 36 hrs before the most important game this season. Link to comment
CCB III Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 10 minutes ago, Big Hat Logan said: They should be allowed to do what they want in their free time though, no? If this is what he wants to do in his free time then let him do it. We want the players happy and motivated, no? Hayes commitment and performance on the pitch won’t be affected by this. They should be allowed to do what they want in their free time, by and large. Obviously, as with any profession there at faux pas. For example (maybe this is a long shot for comparison but I'll do it anyway) you wouldn't get a BP Sales Executive attending 'Just Stop Oil' events in his spare time, would you? He'd be quickly relieved of his duties. Not that I'm saying that Hayes should be relieved of his, the point I'm making is that with all jobs you can't actually do whatever you like. Footballers have a pretty easy mantra to follow; Train like you play Eat well Try win matches Don't openly show your support for rival clubs in the same division Id say it's not that mental a proposition. 1 Link to comment
The Gee Man Posted May 17, 2023 Share Posted May 17, 2023 1 hour ago, zeroisgod76 said: If he's been told by the club not to go and then goes then yeah agree. Pretty sure the club won't have an issue with it though as long as it doesn't affect his day job. No win situation, Hayes needs to use common sense surely Link to comment