Granite95 Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Looks like he's off to Southampton, I'd imagine this will probably happen after our season is over Hopefully club have a contingency plan in place Link to comment
Kiriakov33 Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Would like to think his contract has a minimum 3 month notice period so we can source a suitable replacement. Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Just another number-cruncher. No great loss. 1 Link to comment
Donstar83 Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 How instrumental was he in the recruitment of the likes of Duk Bojan and Ramadani? Could be a loss? Link to comment
minijc Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Huge loss and we've seen this story before, new, inexperienced coach having to try get his own signings in as the Head of Recruitment isn't in place, going to be a long summer. 2 3 Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 2 minutes ago, Donstar83 said: How instrumental was he in the recruitment of the likes of Duk Bojan and Ramadani? Could be a loss? Richardson, Morris, thon Geordie lad... Link to comment
Hoofball Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 2 minutes ago, minijc said: Huge loss and we've seen this story before, new, inexperienced coach having to try get his own signings in as the Head of Recruitment isn't in place, going to be a long summer. Hopefully most of the groundwork has been carried out for the summer so it doesn’t cause Robson to much problems. Link to comment
Frank Grimes Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 11 minutes ago, Dal Riata Don said: Just another number-cruncher. No great loss. It’s insight like this that keeps me coming back 2 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Well if St’s wanted him he must be pretty competent. Could be a massive blow this. Hope Cormack & Co source a very good replacement & are prepared to pay for it. No ‘promotions from within’ shite pls or ‘jobs for boys/mates’ from Robson either. Huge window upcoming. Get this sorted well & quickly pls Link to comment
Donstar83 Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 It's probably been an ongoing discussion for weeks so Burrows will undoubtedly already be on the case for a suitable replacement. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 3 minutes ago, Donstar83 said: It's probably been an ongoing discussion for weeks so Burrows will undoubtedly already be on the case for a suitable replacement. Aye, Motherwell’s HoR 🤣 Link to comment
Millertime Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 1 minute ago, fine-n-dandy said: Aye, Motherwell’s HoR 🤣 😆 😆 😆 😆 😆 😆 1 1 Link to comment
redcryptoknight Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 16 minutes ago, minijc said: Huge loss and we've seen this story before, new, inexperienced coach having to try get his own signings in as the Head of Recruitment isn't in place, going to be a long summer. It is a huge loss and a worry. Let's see what happens next however. Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 We recently took on 4 additional full time scouts, covering Europe and beyond. Wonder if they’ll depart with him? Timing is a beaut, nae doot about that Link to comment
Dal Riata Don Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Just now, sooth_stander said: We recently took on 4 additional full time scouts, covering Europe and beyond. Wonder if they’ll depart with him? Timing is a beaut, nae doot about that Exactly, so he clearly couldn't give a shit about us. He can fuck off with bells on. Link to comment
slippers Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Was only a matter of time but did hope we would of kept him for duration of summer window. Link to comment
Russell Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 1 minute ago, slippers said: Was only a matter of time but did hope we would of kept him for duration of summer window. Yeah, but who is he scouting during the summer? You'd think all scouting for summer window should be pretty much done and targets identified 1 Link to comment
Proud Dandy Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Thank fuck we still have Gunner in the building 5 Link to comment
Footballs coming Rome Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Was he on our books or did we use him and his moneyball database in some sort of consultancy role? I assume our scouts around Europe are not also downing tools. Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Just now, Footballs coming Rome said: Was he on our books or did we use him and his moneyball database in some sort of consultancy role? I assume our scouts around Europe are not also downing tools. He’s the HEAD of recruitment. I think we have four scouts who worked under him. Link to comment
Footballs coming Rome Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 1 minute ago, Russell said: Yeah, but who is he scouting during the summer? You'd think all scouting for summer window should be pretty much done and targets identified Miovski deal was done really early last spring. I think we will have a few players lined up based on a budget on where we finish in the league this season. Link to comment
milne_afc Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Once a Don, always a Don. Don’t know how we come back from this. He was the best member of the club’s admin I’d never seen. Hopefully the Ultras can quickly arrange a fitting send off for a legend of the game. Link to comment
Big Hat Logan Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 46 minutes ago, minijc said: Huge loss and we've seen this story before, new, inexperienced coach having to try get his own signings in as the Head of Recruitment isn't in place, going to be a long summer. Clubs can’t make decent signings without a head of recruitment? Link to comment
Andy_123 Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 2 minutes ago, Big Hat Logan said: Clubs can’t make decent signings without a head of recruitment? Do you not remember how we got on last season? 1 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 6 minutes ago, Big Hat Logan said: Clubs can’t make decent signings without a head of recruitment? Depends. Some will go for ‘experienced pros/journeymen’ & decent ones will go for ‘exciting/potential’ We have very often in the past (lazily or incompetently) opted for the prior. Link to comment
minijc Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 26 minutes ago, Proud Dandy said: Thank fuck we still have Gunner in the building Gunn probably deserves a fair bit of credit for taking Mowbray in. 6 minutes ago, Big Hat Logan said: Clubs can’t make decent signings without a head of recruitment? Of course they can but he is the head of recruitment, the last time we switched we made a right cunt of things and ended up with JET and some other rubbish. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 5 minutes ago, fine-n-dandy said: Depends. Some will go for ‘experienced pros/journeymen’ & decent ones will go for ‘exciting/potential’ We have very often in the past (lazily or incompetently) opted for the prior. The return of Ash Taylor seems to have basically been, "Hey, we need a defender, and Ash Taylor's a defencer, albeit not a very good one. Should we just, I don't know, sign him or something?" "I suppose..." "Hey, Ash? Fancy playing for Aberdeen again?" "I suppose..." It's the pro team equivalent of phoning one of your mates to see if he wants a game because you're one short for five a side. 1 1 Link to comment
Sheep Shagger Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Sad to see him go. There will always be hits and misses with recruitment. He has had some big hits. Duk, Miovski. 100k for Ramadani, wow. I wonder how much of the success of scouting is from data through the Atalanta partnership though. Surely there is a shared interest here. Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted May 19, 2023 Share Posted May 19, 2023 Would like to see a definitive breakdown of who he sourced and who he didn't, despite the fact we can make fairly educated guesses. I suspect Southampton have been tracking the likes of Duk and Miovski and realised that's the market they need to be operating in as a Championship club, leading them to Mowbray. His record still seems fairly patchy so I don't think you can say one way or another how much of a loss he'll be. Club need to see it as an opportunity and replace him with someone who fits the same recruitment model. Link to comment