Granite95 Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 https://www.afc.co.uk/2023/05/31/aberdeen-fc-confirm-pre-season-plans/ Confirmed fixtures vs Turriff (12th July), Fraserburgh (15th July) and trip to Charlton on 29th July Says about a week long training camp in Portugal, would assume that would start W/C 17th July Link to comment
Willo flood Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 2 minutes ago, Granite95 said: trip to Charlton on 29th July A good change from behind closed doors friendlies against St Johnstone at least Link to comment
Tord31 Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 Would guess they'll try to slot 1-2 more games in between Broch and Charlton if Celtic win the cup Link to comment
Medw1311 Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 1 hour ago, Granite95 said: https://www.afc.co.uk/2023/05/31/aberdeen-fc-confirm-pre-season-plans/ Confirmed fixtures vs Turriff (12th July), Fraserburgh (15th July) and trip to Charlton on 29th July Says about a week long training camp in Portugal, would assume that would start W/C 17th July Article says the training camp in Portugal is before the Turriff game. Link to comment
Medw1311 Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 35 minutes ago, Tord31 said: Would guess they'll try to slot 1-2 more games in between Broch and Charlton if Celtic win the cup Yes probably, does say "Confirmation of further pre-season games will be announced in due course". Link to comment
Granite95 Posted May 31, 2023 Author Share Posted May 31, 2023 5 minutes ago, Medw1311 said: Article says the training camp in Portugal is before the Turriff game. Aye silly me for not reading that properly! I'd imagine as you say above a few more games to be pencilled in before we play Charlton, hopefully some half decent sides to get us a bit more prepared Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 A two week gap between two of the friendlies. The free weekend might be filled with a Scottish team who have the week off from the League Cup group games - remember all the teams sit out one set of fixtures as it’s a 5 team group. Link to comment
Granite95 Posted May 31, 2023 Author Share Posted May 31, 2023 6 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said: A two week gap between two of the friendlies. The free weekend might be filled with a Scottish team who have the week off from the League Cup group games - remember all the teams sit out one set of fixtures as it’s a 5 team group. Could see what Goodwin and Dundee Utd are up to then? 👀 2 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 1 minute ago, Granite95 said: Could see what Goodwin and Dundee Utd are up to then? 👀 Good shout if they could magic it up to have their game off being Sat 22nd July. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 Will wander along to the Haughs for that one Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 1 minute ago, Medw1311 said: Article says the training camp in Portugal is before the Turriff game. Good to see we're taking Turriff seriously 1 Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 Charlton will be the Michael Hector Derby. A couple of other lads with Scottish football links. Scott Fraser (ex DABS) & Conor McGrandles, ex Falkirk Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 Been to a few games at The Valley and really enjoyed the experience. It's a strange wee forgotten corner of the planet where few outside the locals have any reason to stumble into, but Charlton fans in general are a happy, welcoming lot...content with their place in the world of football and content not to be Spurs, Arsenal or Chelsea fans. There are some good boozers down there too, and even more if you go at bit further afield to Greenwich. Hopefully I'll get to the game, but I suspect that we'll take down a few coked up arseholes who feel that smashing up boozers and fighting with locals is the way to go. 3 Link to comment
NEM Posted May 31, 2023 Share Posted May 31, 2023 3 hours ago, Schapenneuker said: Hopefully I'll get to the game, but I suspect that we'll take down a few coked up arseholes who feel that smashing up boozers and fighting with locals is the way to go. Aye maybe best you just stay away Link to comment
Vermelhos Posted June 1, 2023 Share Posted June 1, 2023 Excited to hear the training camp is in Portugal. More than likely, down somewhere near me in the Algarve. Probably be based around the 'golden triangle' that attracts all the golf wankers (around Vilamoura), as this where the fancy facilities are..... Anyway, if any updates of where & when, I can maybe help anyone looking for info on the Portugal pre-season when appropriate. Know the area well, and my local is the only bar I know of here that advertises and shows every Dons match. Guess its worth it to drag me in 😂. Hope to meet some of you over here soon, at the start of our European adventure. COY🇵🇹R 1 1 Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 1, 2023 Share Posted June 1, 2023 6 hours ago, Schapenneuker said: Been to a few games at The Valley and really enjoyed the experience. It's a strange wee forgotten corner of the planet where few outside the locals have any reason to stumble into, but Charlton fans in general are a happy, welcoming lot...content with their place in the world of football and content not to be Spurs, Arsenal or Chelsea fans. There are some good boozers down there too, and even more if you go at bit further afield to Greenwich. Hopefully I'll get to the game, but I suspect that we'll take down a few coked up arseholes who feel that smashing up boozers and fighting with locals is the way to go. Nah that’ll be spurs fans coming through for the game, not us Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted June 1, 2023 Share Posted June 1, 2023 4 hours ago, Vermelhos said: (around Vilamoura) 🇵🇹 Was at the marina there last month, getting a wee glimpse of how the other half live. Must be about £1b worth of yachts there. Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted June 1, 2023 Share Posted June 1, 2023 11 hours ago, NEM said: Aye maybe best you just stay away Why ? Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted June 9, 2023 Share Posted June 9, 2023 My guess is we’ll announce a pre-season friendly away to Inverness on July 22nd. That’s their free week in the group stages & the weekend we’ve left free before the Charlton game. Link to comment
Frank Grimes Posted June 9, 2023 Share Posted June 9, 2023 Raging the Charlton game is a Saturday If it was through the week I could blag a trip to the office for work and tie it in Probably can’t swing a Saturday English game with euro jaunts to look forward to Link to comment
RUL Posted June 9, 2023 Share Posted June 9, 2023 4 hours ago, Frank Grimes said: Raging the Charlton game is a Saturday If it was through the week I could blag a trip to the office for work and tie it in Probably can’t swing a Saturday English game with euro jaunts to look forward to I always feel that way until I’m there at a pre season game wondering what the fuck am I wasting my time for. 1 Link to comment
NEM Posted June 10, 2023 Share Posted June 10, 2023 8 hours ago, RUL said: I always feel that way until I’m there at a pre season game wondering what the fuck am I wasting my time for. Usually a pub by half time job 1 Link to comment
Dunty Posted June 10, 2023 Share Posted June 10, 2023 18 hours ago, WesthillWanderersFC said: My guess is we’ll announce a pre-season friendly away to Inverness on July 22nd. That’s their free week in the group stages & the weekend we’ve left free before the Charlton game. Apparently Burrows said at the AberDNA event in Glasgow recently that they're lining up a glamour friendly that day. Man Utd and Lyon will both be at Murrayfield on 19 July so every chance it's one of them. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted June 10, 2023 Share Posted June 10, 2023 9 minutes ago, Dunty said: Apparently Burrows said at the AberDNA event in Glasgow recently that they're lining up a glamour friendly that day. Man Utd and Lyon will both be at Murrayfield on 19 July so every chance it's one of them. that would be pretty decent Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted June 10, 2023 Share Posted June 10, 2023 5 hours ago, NEM said: Usually a pub by half time job I had to re-read that thinking it was an establishment of ill repute 1 Link to comment
Guest Posted June 10, 2023 Share Posted June 10, 2023 59 minutes ago, Dunty said: Apparently Burrows said at the AberDNA event in Glasgow recently that they're lining up a glamour friendly that day. Man Utd and Lyon will both be at Murrayfield on 19 July so every chance it's one of them. Would love to see us lock horns with united again! Link to comment
torry_battery_ram Posted June 11, 2023 Share Posted June 11, 2023 For anyone planning on going to the match at Fraserburgh the tickets are on sale to members of the public on Wednesday 14th June at 7pm at Fraserburgh FC. Aberdeen aren't receiving any tickets so if you want a ticket you will have to head to the Broch on Wednesday. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted June 12, 2023 Share Posted June 12, 2023 On 6/10/2023 at 9:40 AM, NEM said: Usually a pub by half time job Under the stand at Shelbourne... 😃 That een was just when McInnes started, was sitting next to him and Russell on the plane back. Did ask him if he thought the boy would be ony eess. The then unbearded een just smirked. Langfield gyping aboot Dublin Airport shoppy was amusing. 🤪 Nae been to many away pre-seasons TBH. Huntly and St Pauli the only ithers I think. Link to comment