ullevi Posted November 6, 2007 Share Posted November 6, 2007 I worked there when the games were on in 1986 I think it would be fantastic for Glasgow to host the Commonwealth Games - Liz McColgan winning a gold medal for Scotland in 1986 was one of my best ever sporting moments Agreed was in the stadium when she won it great atmosphere but it was Liz Lynch not Mc Colgan Link to comment
hebrewdon Posted November 6, 2007 Share Posted November 6, 2007 Agreed was in the stadium when she won it great atmosphere but it was Liz Lynch not Mc Colgan Oh yeh it was before she got married I think the day I was in the stadium England won about 5 golds - Land of Hope and Glory kept getting belted out over the tannoy Link to comment
minijc Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Nice one on getting them, will bring the place a lot of money and will bring scotland alot of money aswell. Link to comment
Guest El Padre Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Ya beauty! And for all you parochial small minded people on here who are pissed off about it because its Glasgow, GIRFUY. Link to comment
Nespa Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Yassss i better get into training then!! wonder what ill go for!!.....maybe shot putt! Link to comment
uni_don Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 GLASGOW UNVEILS COMMONWEALTH BID LOGO HE encapsulates modern Glasgow and extends a warm Scottish welcome to the world: He's Mungo the sh*t-Faced Octopus. Glasgow City Council yesterday unveiled the Link to comment
Bamber Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 As this involves the scottish parliment would it not be better to wait 4 hours and see if they have read the card properly and its actually nigeria that has won it? Link to comment
Madbad Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Ya beauty! And for all you parochial small minded people on here who are pissed off about it because its Glasgow, GIRFUY. So all the taxpayers' money (mine included) that will be spent on uneccessary white elephant stadia, improving transport facilities in a city/region that already gets more than its share of finance will help me and my community how? Spend a fraction of the cost on improving the road networks here = less fatal/serious accidents= savings on emergency service Spend a fraction on supplying a decent USEABLE public transport network here = I can ditch the car and save the planet Spend a fraction on education = more teachers teaching a broader range of subjects to smaller classes= better education for our children (THE FUTURE OF SCOTLAND) Spend a fraction on health services = more A&E/Maternity/ICU facilities Sorry, I canna see the benefits of wasting money that's needed elsewhere (and I'd be saying the same if it was being held in Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Inverness etc, etc.). Arguments the same for London Olympics. GIRFUyerself! Link to comment
Guest redbrigade Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 So all the taxpayers' money (mine included) that will be spent on uneccessary white elephant stadia, improving transport facilities in a city/region that already gets more than its share of finance will help me and my community how? Spend a fraction of the cost on improving the road networks here = less fatal/serious accidents= savings on emergency service Spend a fraction on supplying a decent USEABLE public transport network here = I can ditch the car and save the planet Spend a fraction on education = more teachers teaching a broader range of subjects to smaller classes= better education for our children (THE FUTURE OF SCOTLAND) Spend a fraction on health services = more A&E/Maternity/ICU facilities Sorry, I canna see the benefits of wasting money that's needed elsewhere (and I'd be saying the same if it was being held in Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Inverness etc, etc.). Arguments the same for London Olympics. GIRFUyerself! To be fair, a lot of the venues Glasgow is going to use are already in place. Link to comment
glasgow sheep Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 So all the taxpayers' money (mine included) that will be spent on uneccessary white elephant stadia, improving transport facilities in a city/region that already gets more than its share of finance will help me and my community how? Spend a fraction of the cost on improving the road networks here = less fatal/serious accidents= savings on emergency service Spend a fraction on supplying a decent USEABLE public transport network here = I can ditch the car and save the planet Spend a fraction on education = more teachers teaching a broader range of subjects to smaller classes= better education for our children (THE FUTURE OF SCOTLAND) Spend a fraction on health services = more A&E/Maternity/ICU facilities Sorry, I canna see the benefits of wasting money that's needed elsewhere (and I'd be saying the same if it was being held in Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Inverness etc, etc.). Arguments the same for London Olympics. GIRFUyerself! Not really sure what I think about this.It is small fry compared to the outrageous waste that is the London 2012 Olympics yet you do wonder how much money will be syphoned off from the rest of the country? Will Aberdeen still be waiting for an olympic sized swimming pool in 2014, for example. On the other hand they aren't actually building that much, and what they are building involves some slum-clearing in the east end which is long overdue. Hampden is getting butchered for the games too, but hopefully the SFA can use it to their advantage to maybe increase the capacity a wee bit. It could be great. It could also be a total disaster. Link to comment
hebrewdon Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Not really sure what I think about this.It is small fry compared to the outrageous waste that is the London 2012 Olympics yet you do wonder how much money will be syphoned off from the rest of the country? Will Aberdeen still be waiting for an olympic sized swimming pool in 2014, for example. On the other hand they aren't actually building that much, and what they are building involves some slum-clearing in the east end which is long overdue. Hampden is getting butchered for the games too, but hopefully the SFA can use it to their advantage to maybe increase the capacity a wee bit.It could be great. It could also be a total disaster. Apparently the capacity is being REDUCED to 46000 which seems an absolute nonsense Link to comment
glasgow sheep Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Apparently the capacity is being REDUCED to 46000 which seems an absolute nonsenseyeah because they have to rip out a few seats when they put the track in. Presumably this track will then be removed, then the SFA should try and lower the pitch a wee bit to add in some extra rows and get the punters nearer the pitch Link to comment
hebrewdon Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 yeah because they have to rip out a few seats when they put the track in. Presumably this track will then be removed, then the SFA should try and lower the pitch a wee bit to add in some extra rows and get the punters nearer the pitch I assumed that they would just leave the track for future events Link to comment
TheChimp Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 I assumed that they would just leave the track for future events I thought they were just putting in a temporary track which would be scaffolded over the front few rows. No need to rip out seats and no need to keep the track. Link to comment
hebrewdon Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 I thought they were just putting in a temporary track which would be scaffolded over the front few rows. No need to rip out seats and no need to keep the track. We'll just have to wait and see I suppose Link to comment
Madbad Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Right! I've made my feelings clear on the money issue. However.... Well Done all those involved Now C'mon Scotland/Glasgow let's show the world we CAN do this brilliantly. Lets spread it out...mountain biking in Fort William??? Rock Climbing demos at Ratho??? Introduce the world to shinty???? As a Scot I will give it my wholehearted backing....can't change the decision now, let's make it work and support it 100% London 2012 can still GTF tho Link to comment
Guest TenementFunster Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 London 2012 can still GTF tho Not even remotely excited about this. Far from high quality "athletes" running aboot and chucking stuff around. Wowee. Link to comment
Guest glasgowdon Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Well done! I'm looking forward to the subway refurbishment and expansion the most. Link to comment
Guest TenementFunster Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Well done! I'm looking forward to the subway refurbishment and expansion the most. Brilliant stuff. It's going to be easier for pikeys to get in and out of the toon centre. Link to comment
scotfree Posted November 10, 2007 Share Posted November 10, 2007 Brilliant stuff. It's going to be easier for pikeys to get in and out of the toon centre.Choose negativity! Link to comment
fatshaft Posted November 10, 2007 Share Posted November 10, 2007 I couldn't give a rat's as about the games, but well done Scotland on securing them. Link to comment
Guest TenementFunster Posted November 10, 2007 Share Posted November 10, 2007 Choose negativity! That was me being positive. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted November 10, 2007 Share Posted November 10, 2007 Now if we could get Euro 2018 then I'd be excited ! (I presume 2014 has already gone... and we couldn't do both at once...) Link to comment
swaddon Posted November 11, 2007 Share Posted November 11, 2007 I'd be stunned if we got Euro 2018, because that's a World Cup year. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted November 11, 2007 Share Posted November 11, 2007 I'd be stunned if we got Euro 2018, because that's a World Cup year. Ahhh schoolboy error - thank you for being so gracious about it... Link to comment
Guest redbrigade Posted November 15, 2007 Share Posted November 15, 2007 The old ones are the best... Glasgow Commonwealth games - 2014 OPENING CEREMONY The flame will be ignited by a petrol bomb thrown by a native of the city. The flame will be contained in a large, overturned police van situated on the roof of the stadium. THE EVENTS In previous Commonwealth games Glaswegian competitors have not been particularly successful. In order to redress the balance some of the events have been altered slightly to the advantage of local athletes. 100 Metres Sprint - Competitors will have to hold a DVD player and microwave oven (one under each arm) and on the sound of the starting pistol a police dog will be released from a cage 10 yards behind the athletes. 110 Metres hurdles - As above, but with added obstacles (car bonnets, hedges, garden fences, walls, etc). Hammer - Competitors may choose the type of hammer they wish to use (claw, sledge, etc). The winner will be the one who can cause the most physical damage within three attempts. Fencing - Entrants will be asked to dispose of as many stolen goods as possible in 5 minutes. Shooting - A strong challenge is expected from local men in this event. The first target will be a moving police van. In the second round competitors will aim at a Securicor officer. The traditional .22 rifle has been replaced in this event by a choice of either a Browning automatic pistol, or a sawn-off 12 bore shotgun. Boxing - Entry to the boxing event will be restricted to husband and wife teams and will take place on a Friday night. The husband will be given 15 pints of Stella, while the wife will be told not to make him any tea when he gets home. The bout will then commence. Cycling Time Trials - Competitors will be asked to break in to the University bike shed and take an expensive mountain bike owned by some mummy's boy on his first trip away from home, all against the clock. Cycling pursuit - As above, but the bike will be owned by a visiting member of the Fiji rugby sevens team, who will witness the theft. Modern Pentathlon - Amended to include mugging, breaking and entering, flashing, joyriding and arson. Swimming Events - All waterways are currently being tested for toxicity levels. Once one is found that can support human life, swimming events will be organized. Please note that the synchronized swimming event for this year will comprise of dropping acid and watching all the funky ripples on the pool. The Marathon - A safe route has yet to be found. Men's 50km Walk - Unfortunately, this event will have to be cancelled as the police cannot guarantee the safety of anyone walking the streets of Dalmarnock, especially anyone who appears to be mincing. THE CLOSING CEREMONY Entertainment will include formation rave dancing by members of Calton Health in the Community anti-drug campaign, synchronized rock throwing and music by The Bridgeton Community Choir. The flame will be extinguished by riot police water cannon following the inevitable pitch invasion by confused Celtic supporters. The stadium itself will then be boarded up before the local athletes break in and remove all the copper piping and the central heating boiler. To guarantee the entry of any athletes from the local area at all, drug testing has been waived for the duration of the games. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 Just had a telephone call from an "Ally Reid" asking if I would be willing to take part in a survey with regards to being a volunteer at the Glasgow commonwealth games. Now I have no interest in being a volunteer, but wanted to hear what this "Ally Reid" had to say, as at 730pm he kept saying good afternoon,and "Ally Reid's" accent was very much of the sub continent. Anyway, volunteers are obviously not paid, 15,000 are required, have to wear designated outfit all the time they are on duty, travel expenses are only claimable for within Glasgow. accommodation is not covered, nor is meals, nor is travelling to and from Glasgow, you have to be available for 8 continual days plus 4 training days, must have been a volunteer prior with-in some sort of sports back ground, and if you do wish to be considered, if you are picked, then there no gaurantees that you will actually see any of the commonwealth games live. Link to comment