donswin1983 Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 23 minutes ago, Glass half full said: We go to Helsinki on the Wednesday via Amsterdam. Ferry to Tallin on the Friday to stay there and make it more of a euro tour. Post any advice you have for Tallin once you have been there bud đ Will do, min! Link to comment
Glass half full Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 1 hour ago, Durrant Dived said: Aye we are planning on Tallinn on Friday too. Cheaper pints đ Thatâs the plan. Would think there will be a few dandies kicking about still on the Friday night 1 Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 21, 2023 Share Posted November 21, 2023 10 hours ago, donswin1983 said: Anyone else staying in Tallin? Apologies if this has been covered already.. Still not got accommodation in Helsinki for the night of the game, as nae way weâre making the last ferry back to tallin. Group of us staying in Tallinn on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday night. AirBnB job. Got an apartment sorted for Helsinki Thursday night and ferry back to Tallinn Friday lunchtime. 1 Link to comment
cheesepipes Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 7 hours ago, Glass half full said: We go to Helsinki on the Wednesday via Amsterdam. Ferry to Tallin on the Friday to stay there and make it more of a euro tour. Post any advice you have for Tallin once you have been there bud đ  My experience from working there for 6 months. Old Town. Walled tourist Area. Pubs everywhere with a smattering of stripclubs and Saunas. Will be too cold to enjoy the outdoor drinking that is the norm outwith the winter months. I drank in Beer House when up the toon. a German style beer hall that brews its own beer. Most folk get drawn to places like the Dubliner for whatever reason. If you like Medieval wenches serving Goblets of ale and decent but quite expensive food go to Olde Hansa. Hookers will float about at night. Make sure you don't get taken up the hills and robbed. 2 x Filipinos got that treatment. Gullible little twats. Russian birds are stunning. If you're brave venture out of the walls and booze will be half the price. I loved the place but we fucked off long before winter. Link to comment
sgitheanach Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 Has everyone received their e-tickets? I'm still waiting. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 1 hour ago, cheesepipes said:  My experience from working there for 6 months. Old Town. Walled tourist Area. Pubs everywhere with a smattering of stripclubs and Saunas. Will be too cold to enjoy the outdoor drinking that is the norm outwith the winter months. I drank in Beer House when up the toon. a German style beer hall that brews its own beer. Most folk get drawn to places like the Dubliner for whatever reason. If you like Medieval wenches serving Goblets of ale and decent but quite expensive food go to Olde Hansa. Hookers will float about at night. Make sure you don't get taken up the hills and robbed. 2 x Filipinos got that treatment. Gullible little twats. Russian birds are stunning. If you're brave venture out of the walls and booze will be half the price. I loved the place but we fucked off long before winter. Did love Tallin, in July though, nae sure if could be bothered wi' it in December. We did go to that Olde Hansa, I recall eating bear. Deer and boar as well, some sort of medley. Lovely setting. Hesburger for cheaper option... Recommend having a beer up in the walls for the guys going and climbing up to top of some church for fantastic views. St Olafs. Some decent beerage to be had if want to hunt it doon.   Link to comment
cheesepipes Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 Aye, we had to pack up and fuck off incase the Baltic Sea started freezing and trapped us in. Lovely Summers they had though. We ended up using Thursday and Sunday as our boozing days as Friday and Saturday was rammed with English staggers. Another place that was bog standard, lager, shots, sport on TV and a pool table type of place...The bar with no name. Anyway, just mill around and pub crawl the place. They all serve plonk. Think I remember that Hesburger place, like a big Sizzlers, full of pished cunts after the pubs shut? Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 32 minutes ago, cheesepipes said: Aye, we had to pack up and fuck off incase the Baltic Sea started freezing and trapped us in. Lovely Summers they had though. We ended up using Thursday and Sunday as our boozing days as Friday and Saturday was rammed with English staggers. Another place that was bog standard, lager, shots, sport on TV and a pool table type of place...The bar with no name. Anyway, just mill around and pub crawl the place. They all serve plonk. Think I remember that Hesburger place, like a big Sizzlers, full of pished cunts after the pubs shut? Hesburger only encountered during the day I think, but they had some sauce/mayo that made their burgers affa fine. Also in Kaunas and Hamburg Rieperbahn (strangely) have encountered thus. Decent for a fast food place. Riga as well IIRC. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 2 hours ago, sgitheanach said: Has everyone received their e-tickets? I'm still waiting. Aye, last week. Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 1 hour ago, King Street Loon said: Aye, last week. Ffs 3 hours ago, sgitheanach said: Has everyone received their e-tickets? I'm still waiting. I've nae got mine either. Will phone them today. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 I think you'll get them this week now that the cup final fiasco has settled down. Â Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 Sounds like thereâs gonna be a decent gathering at @BrewdogTallinn. Nice. 1 Link to comment
Frank Grimes Posted November 22, 2023 Author Share Posted November 22, 2023 Hearing the meeting point in Helsinki for Dandies is Molly Malones which will piss off some Don't mind Irish bars tbh Link to comment
minijc Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 2 hours ago, dave_min said: Sounds like thereâs gonna be a decent gathering at @BrewdogTallinn. Nice. How will you cope once they go bust? Link to comment
milne_afc Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 Just now, minijc said: How will you cope once they go bust? Didnât they sell a chunk of the real shares to Budweiser? Really sticking it to the monolithic beer brands 𤠠 Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 12 minutes ago, minijc said: How will you cope once they go bust? Tallinn shall never fall. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 6 hours ago, King Street Loon said: I think you'll get them this week now that the cup final fiasco has settled down.  Haha I wouldn't be so sure. Been some Helsinki tickets cancelled during the cup final ticket fiasco.  LOL 2 Link to comment
Glass half full Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 16 hours ago, cheesepipes said:  My experience from working there for 6 months. Old Town. Walled tourist Area. Pubs everywhere with a smattering of stripclubs and Saunas. Will be too cold to enjoy the outdoor drinking that is the norm outwith the winter months. I drank in Beer House when up the toon. a German style beer hall that brews its own beer. Most folk get drawn to places like the Dubliner for whatever reason. If you like Medieval wenches serving Goblets of ale and decent but quite expensive food go to Olde Hansa. Hookers will float about at night. Make sure you don't get taken up the hills and robbed. 2 x Filipinos got that treatment. Gullible little twats. Russian birds are stunning. If you're brave venture out of the walls and booze will be half the price. I loved the place but we fucked off long before winter. Thanks. Sounds fantastic, wish we had got them away in the first game of the group but we will still make it a great trip Link to comment
Glass half full Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 20 hours ago, King Street Loon said: Group of us staying in Tallinn on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday night. AirBnB job. Got an apartment sorted for Helsinki Thursday night and ferry back to Tallinn Friday lunchtime. Do you have to book the ferry, or just turn up as by foot? Hoping for a lunchtime departure to get a good day at it in Tallin on the Friday. 1 Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 8 hours ago, Frank Grimes said: Hearing the meeting point in Helsinki for Dandies is Molly Malones which will piss off some Don't mind Irish bars tbh Or here - Cheap pints. 1 Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 33 minutes ago, Glass half full said: Do you have to book the ferry, or just turn up as by foot? Hoping for a lunchtime departure to get a good day at it in Tallin on the Friday. We've booked the ferry to Helsinki and the return to Tallinn the next day. Don't know if you can just rock up and pay. https://www.directferries.co.uk/tallinn_helsinki_ferry.htm Some ferry's are for cars only so be careful what you book. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 23 minutes ago, Durrant Dived said: Or here - Cheap pints. Won't be pints at that price. Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 25 minutes ago, King Street Loon said: Won't be pints at that price. Surely not offering 3.5 euro half pints? Or just bottle of beer? Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 33 minutes ago, King Street Loon said: Won't be pints at that price. They can fu koff if its the 2.5% stuff. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 On 11/21/2023 at 1:12 PM, G31DON said: There'll be lads still walking about with skinny jeans and no socks on. I reckon the club will have hired a bus for the players... Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 32 minutes ago, Durrant Dived said: They can fu koff if its the 2.5% stuff. The guy that runs it is on FB claiming it is full pints at that 3.5⏠price. 1 Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 22, 2023 Share Posted November 22, 2023 How much for an artisan IPA? Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 23, 2023 Share Posted November 23, 2023 2 minutes ago, Studebaker-90 said: Ticket received via email Trnsmt? 2 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted November 26, 2023 Share Posted November 26, 2023 Mix the team up a bit for this one Roos Devlin Gartenmann MacDonald Jensen Mackenzie Polvara Barron McGrath Sokler Duk subs: Doohan, Rubezic, Shinnie, Clarkson, Duncan, Miovski, McGarry, Milne, Hayes, Gueye, Williams, Dadia Prediction : 3-1 to the good guys Link to comment
Frank Grimes Posted November 26, 2023 Author Share Posted November 26, 2023 Hope to see McGarry in from the start, otherwise agree Looking forward to the trip Link to comment