ThomohawkKid Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 Right, been a fun summer. See you all in January!! Link to comment
a don in oz Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 10 hours ago, GDON21 said: Ah well, transfers all done. Strong squad at the moment but definitely still missing quality in certain areas. Im happy for us to wait and get the right ones in longer term. Thelin has shown he can get enough out of fringe players so far in Vinnie, Pape, Morris etc. We should be looking to improve on those players but may take a window or two. Clarkson due back after the international break apparently and polvara a bit behind him. Only 17/18 games until the window opens again. Just want to keep pace for 2nd place until January and then see what we can do in that window. I'm betting if online forums existed back in 83 after we'd just won the CWC there would be people saying this (highlighted) exact same thing. You can always get stronger. Right now this is a solid base for Thelin to build on. Made more solid by getting rid of deadwood (sorry Jayden) and bringing in a smattering of key players and giving existing bit part players a shake. Next two windows will be interesting based on how we go in the games. 👍 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 1 hour ago, a don in oz said: I'm betting if online forums existed back in 83 after we'd just won the CWC there would be people saying this (highlighted) exact same thing. Funnily enough, in the final we didn't have any actual full backs. One was a midfielder and one a central defender. Fair enough, Kennedy was an actual RB, injured in semi-final. For LB though, even as far back as 1979 (I believe) at some doo in the Royal Darroch, my uncle (manager at Stakis casino at the time) had Fergie come sit with my 11 year old self and my Dad for a half hour or so. My most pressing issue with the team at that time was we had no left back. So I 100% pulled him up on this. Don't recall his answer, but I don't think he ever resolved this. Until he bought Tommy McQueen in 1984. 6 years after he started in the hot seat at Pittodrie. I don't suppose we really needed one as it turned out. OR Would we have won even more trophies if he had an accomplished LB in there from the start? Maybe there was another actual LB signed by him at some point before McQueen. If there was, I'm nae recalling this presently. 1 Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted August 31 Share Posted August 31 2 hours ago, a don in oz said: I'm betting if online forums existed back in 83 after we'd just won the CWC there would be people saying this (highlighted) exact same thing. You can always get stronger. Right now this is a solid base for Thelin to build on. Made more solid by getting rid of deadwood (sorry Jayden) and bringing in a smattering of key players and giving existing bit part players a shake. Next two windows will be interesting based on how we go in the games. 👍 Aye, big Rougvie was a right footed centre half if he had his choice, who predominantly played left back for us. The meltdown if big Ruby was at LB…. 1 1 Link to comment
Donscanada Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 Good window. Also liked we got creative with molloy and mitov with their contract reserves. Might be two of the most under rated signings in the league. Also helps the existing squad looks better under new manager too... shinnie, ruby, morris etc. Link to comment
TerryMcDermott Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 On 8/31/2024 at 12:40 AM, muttonhumper said: Funnily enough, in the final we didn't have any actual full backs. One was a midfielder and one a central defender. Fair enough, Kennedy was an actual RB, injured in semi-final. For LB though, even as far back as 1979 (I believe) at some doo in the Royal Darroch, my uncle (manager at Stakis casino at the time) had Fergie come sit with my 11 year old self and my Dad for a half hour or so. My most pressing issue with the team at that time was we had no left back. So I 100% pulled him up on this. Don't recall his answer, but I don't think he ever resolved this. Until he bought Tommy McQueen in 1984. 6 years after he started in the hot seat at Pittodrie. I don't suppose we really needed one as it turned out. OR Would we have won even more trophies if he had an accomplished LB in there from the start? Maybe there was another actual LB signed by him at some point before McQueen. If there was, I'm nae recalling this presently. Left back has been a bug bear for us for decades. After the departure of Robertson to the scum we didn’t really see a quality replacement in that position for a very very long time if at all. Tsanko Tsvetanov was an out and out left back and he wasn’t exactly Roberto Carlos. Cook Woodthorpe. No thanks. Don’t even get me started on McGhee’s decision to play Sigma Olumic with approximately zero full backs and go on to sign approximately zero. Not sure why, but it’s an Aberdeen thing. Ferguson had the luxury of talented players who were flexible. McKenzie is light years better than some of the dross that followed the Fergie era. 2 Link to comment
jamiesd Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 As bad as Woodthorpe and Tsvetanov were they were light years ahead of McKenzie as was Jamie McAllister. He’s a weak link and will cost us again. He will get exposed same as big Andy was. 1 1 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 10 minutes ago, jamiesd said: As bad as Woodthorpe and Tsvetanov were they were light years ahead of McKenzie as was Jamie McAllister. He’s a weak link and will cost us again. He will get exposed same as big Andy was. Harsh. He's improved a lot over the last year 1 Link to comment
NEM Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 33 minutes ago, jamiesd said: As bad as Woodthorpe and Tsvetanov were they were light years ahead of McKenzie as was Jamie McAllister. He’s a weak link and will cost us again. He will get exposed same as big Andy was. Come away that's a ridiculous shout min 😂 1 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 Younis off to PSV for £41k @Dandys1983 was it yersel saying the fee would be high? 1 Link to comment
Dandys1983 Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 1 minute ago, Tord31 said: Younis off to PSV for £41k @Dandys1983 was it yersel saying the fee would be high? Anyone is worth the risk at that price, just shows the prices.beimg quotes by the OZ press were shite 👍 Link to comment
Dandys1983 Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 1 hour ago, jamiesd said: As bad as Woodthorpe and Tsvetanov were they were light years ahead of McKenzie as was Jamie McAllister. He’s a weak link and will cost us again. He will get exposed same as big Andy was. Hmm dinna ken like. McKenzie has improved alot I was dead against him before but his is getting better, I'd agree he does get caught out of position that's my biggest issue with him, but he's not bad going forward. I didn't rate McAllister, Considine, woody or the Bulgarian, LB has always been a hard position for us.....Andy Dow! 😳🫣😂 Link to comment
DD1903 Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 1 hour ago, Dandys1983 said: Hmm dinna ken like. McKenzie has improved alot I was dead against him before but his is getting better, I'd agree he does get caught out of position that's my biggest issue with him, but he's not bad going forward. I didn't rate McAllister, Considine, woody or the Bulgarian, LB has always been a hard position for us.....Andy Dow! 😳🫣😂 @milne_afc Link to comment
Roberto Posted September 2 Share Posted September 2 3 hours ago, jamiesd said: As bad as Woodthorpe and Tsvetanov were they were light years ahead of McKenzie as was Jamie McAllister. He’s a weak link and will cost us again. He will get exposed same as big Andy was. No no no. I'll not see criticism for Sir Andy. Have a word. 3 Link to comment
jamiesd Posted September 3 Share Posted September 3 13 hours ago, Roberto said: No no no. I'll not see criticism for Sir Andy. Have a word. Not criticism, Andy was a fine servant but teams targeted him and the same will happen with Jack Link to comment
jamiesd Posted September 3 Share Posted September 3 16 hours ago, NEM said: Come away that's a ridiculous shout min 😂 Absolutely not. He's better than Jamie Mcquilken though. Link to comment
Zeus Posted September 3 Share Posted September 3 Jack MacKenzie is a world class left back and we're lucky to have him Hopefully he signs a new deal 1 2 1 4 Link to comment
Scotty_Toronto Posted September 3 Share Posted September 3 21 hours ago, TerryMcDermott said: Left back has been a bug bear for us for decades. Yep. We were crying out for Shinnie when he was at ICT. When we finally got him we put him in midfield. 1 Link to comment
Scotty_Toronto Posted September 4 Share Posted September 4 On 8/31/2024 at 1:40 AM, muttonhumper said: ...1979 (I believe) at some doo in the Royal Darroch, my uncle (manager at Stakis casino at the time) had Fergie come sit with my 11 year old self and my Dad for a half hour or so. cool Link to comment
Tord31 Posted September 4 Share Posted September 4 On 8/29/2024 at 9:49 AM, Tord31 said: I want us to sign Kristijan Lovric on a free transfer. We'd be seriously cooking with another serious attacking midfielder in the squad. Off to Turkey on £10,000pw Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted September 4 Share Posted September 4 Bobby Connor was certainly capable ay left back 1 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted September 7 Share Posted September 7 Feels like Duk will be like a new signing. TEN Link to comment