Frank Grimes Posted May 20 Share Posted May 20 The fucking group stages again The draw is next week, May 29th at 1pm https://spfl.co.uk/news/premier-sports-cup-group-stage-draw-202425 It was a laugh last time, Stirling away was great but I really hope this is the last time we are in them ffs Elgin, Buckie or Inverness away please 1 Link to comment
Andy_123 Posted May 20 Share Posted May 20 Grasping at straws here probably, but perhaps a bit of a blessing to get a few 'easy' games for Thelin to get his new ideas across to the team before the league campaign starts 1 1 Link to comment
slippers Posted May 20 Share Posted May 20 2 minutes ago, Andy_123 said: Grasping at straws here probably, but perhaps a bit of a blessing to get a few 'easy' games for Thelin to get his new ideas across to the team before the league campaign starts That and get players like Carrol, Marshall and Stewart integrated into first team and see if they have got what it takes to be with the first team. Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 On 5/20/2024 at 10:07 AM, Andy_123 said: Grasping at straws here probably, but perhaps a bit of a blessing to get a few 'easy' games for Thelin to get his new ideas across to the team before the league campaign starts I had a wee look at how the draw for the league cup is put together. There are 4 north groups, and 4 south groups....each with a top seed, a second seed, and 3 unseeded sides. We'll obviously be a top seed, but the interesting part is how they define 'north' and 'south'. I would presume that Fife will come under the banner of 'north', so it's possible we could end up with Raith Rovers or Dunfermline as second seeds. Possibly even Falkirk, if they throw the net a bit wider. I know it sounds stupid, but we shouldn't dismiss all the league cup ties as 'easy' games....plenty of Premiership sides (including Hibs, St Mirren, the fermers and Dabs) have failed to get out of their group in recent years because they went into these games under-prepared. I'm not saying that it will happen to us, but the one game format doesn't allow you much leeway if you happen to lose to the 2nd seed for instance. Let's say our first game in the group was away to Raith Rovers in Kirkcaldy....lose it and then the pressure is on to absolutely wallop the other 3 teams in the hope of possibly getting one of the best 3 runner up places. What we definitely don't want is for Thelin to get off on the wrong foot by having problems in the league cup group stages, because themn the pressure would really b uild before the league even started. We need to be hitting the ground running. Link to comment
starryfish Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 51 minutes ago, Schapenneuker said: I had a wee look at how the draw for the league cup is put together. There are 4 north groups, and 4 south groups....each with a top seed, a second seed, and 3 unseeded sides. We'll obviously be a top seed, but the interesting part is how they define 'north' and 'south'. I would presume that Fife will come under the banner of 'north', so it's possible we could end up with Raith Rovers or Dunfermline as second seeds. Possibly even Falkirk, if they throw the net a bit wider. I know it sounds stupid, but we shouldn't dismiss all the league cup ties as 'easy' games....plenty of Premiership sides (including Hibs, St Mirren, the fermers and Dabs) have failed to get out of their group in recent years because they went into these games under-prepared. I'm not saying that it will happen to us, but the one game format doesn't allow you much leeway if you happen to lose to the 2nd seed for instance. Let's say our first game in the group was away to Raith Rovers in Kirkcaldy....lose it and then the pressure is on to absolutely wallop the other 3 teams in the hope of possibly getting one of the best 3 runner up places. What we definitely don't want is for Thelin to get off on the wrong foot by having problems in the league cup group stages, because themn the pressure would really b uild before the league even started. We need to be hitting the ground running. If the worst happens Peter Leven be getting shouted for his replacement by end of August Link to comment
Don Shula Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 1 hour ago, Schapenneuker said: I had a wee look at how the draw for the league cup is put together. There are 4 north groups, and 4 south groups....each with a top seed, a second seed, and 3 unseeded sides. We'll obviously be a top seed, but the interesting part is how they define 'north' and 'south'. I would presume that Fife will come under the banner of 'north', so it's possible we could end up with Raith Rovers or Dunfermline as second seeds. Possibly even Falkirk, if they throw the net a bit wider. I know it sounds stupid, but we shouldn't dismiss all the league cup ties as 'easy' games....plenty of Premiership sides (including Hibs, St Mirren, the fermers and Dabs) have failed to get out of their group in recent years because they went into these games under-prepared. I'm not saying that it will happen to us, but the one game format doesn't allow you much leeway if you happen to lose to the 2nd seed for instance. Let's say our first game in the group was away to Raith Rovers in Kirkcaldy....lose it and then the pressure is on to absolutely wallop the other 3 teams in the hope of possibly getting one of the best 3 runner up places. What we definitely don't want is for Thelin to get off on the wrong foot by having problems in the league cup group stages, because themn the pressure would really b uild before the league even started. We need to be hitting the ground running. If we do get a Raith it would be at home as we will be at home to second and fourth seed and away to third and fifth seed. Or has the format now changed? Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 28 minutes ago, Don Shula said: If we do get a Raith it would be at home as we will be at home to second and fourth seed and away to third and fifth seed. Ahhhh, that's good to know. If you look at the possible 2nd seeds in the north section, you're probably looking at the Rovers, Dunfermline, ICT, Arbroath, Falkirk, Alloa, Montrose and Cove. I'd obviously be confident about beating all of them away from home, but it would be preferable to have the Rovers, Dunfermline and probably Falkirk at Pittodrie. Link to comment
zeroisgod76 Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 1 hour ago, Schapenneuker said: I had a wee look at how the draw for the league cup is put together. There are 4 north groups, and 4 south groups....each with a top seed, a second seed, and 3 unseeded sides. We'll obviously be a top seed, but the interesting part is how they define 'north' and 'south'. I would presume that Fife will come under the banner of 'north', so it's possible we could end up with Raith Rovers or Dunfermline as second seeds. Possibly even Falkirk, if they throw the net a bit wider. I know it sounds stupid, but we shouldn't dismiss all the league cup ties as 'easy' games....plenty of Premiership sides (including Hibs, St Mirren, the fermers and Dabs) have failed to get out of their group in recent years because they went into these games under-prepared. I'm not saying that it will happen to us, but the one game format doesn't allow you much leeway if you happen to lose to the 2nd seed for instance. Let's say our first game in the group was away to Raith Rovers in Kirkcaldy....lose it and then the pressure is on to absolutely wallop the other 3 teams in the hope of possibly getting one of the best 3 runner up places. What we definitely don't want is for Thelin to get off on the wrong foot by having problems in the league cup group stages, because themn the pressure would really b uild before the league even started. We need to be hitting the ground running. Did they not get rid of the North/South divide a few years back? I'm sure thats why we ended up with Dumbarton last time we were in the groups. Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 3 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said: Did they not get rid of the North/South divide a few years back? I'm sure thats why we ended up with Dumbarton last time we were in the groups. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_League_Cup#:~:text=Each group will consist of,a single-elimination knockout format. According to Wiki the north/south split is still there., but aye, you're right.....it was actually scrapped 2 years ago. So ignore all my previous posts, the 2nd seeds will be everybody from 2nd to 9th in the Championship. 1 Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 I actually prefer meaningful Diddy Cup matches as opposed to friendlies against Turriff and Fraserburgh being warm-up games before the league starts. Furthermore, regardless of whom we draw, would be reasonably confident of topping the group. JT has PL at his side. If we continue to play along the deck as opposed to hoofball, either Robson or Warnock style, next season will be a vast improvement on the one just passed. Roll on the summer signings. 2 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 I’m sure Motherwell and Hibs have both been up at Elgin. so on that basis, Stranraer it is. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 4 hours ago, Schapenneuker said: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_League_Cup#:~:text=Each group will consist of,a single-elimination knockout format. According to Wiki the north/south split is still there., but aye, you're right.....it was actually scrapped 2 years ago. So ignore all my previous posts, the 2nd seeds will be everybody from 2nd to 9th in the Championship. So a Championship side and a diddy at home plus two lesser teams away? Surely be fine Link to comment
englishred Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 3 hours ago, BaaBaaRedSheep said: I actually prefer meaningful Diddy Cup matches as opposed to friendlies against Turriff and Fraserburgh being warm-up games before the league starts. Furthermore, regardless of whom we draw, would be reasonably confident of topping the group. JT has PL at his side. If we continue to play along the deck as opposed to hoofball, either Robson or Warnock style, next season will be a vast improvement on the one just passed. Roll on the summer signings. I was just about to say the same. Playing against different levels of opposition is a good warm up. Hopefully we add a couple glamour friendlies just to up the fitness levels too. Link to comment
Millertime Posted May 21 Share Posted May 21 5 hours ago, Schapenneuker said: Ahhhh, that's good to know. If you look at the possible 2nd seeds in the north section, you're probably looking at the Rovers, Dunfermline, ICT, Arbroath, Falkirk, Alloa, Montrose and Cove. I'd obviously be confident about beating all of them away from home, but it would be preferable to have the Rovers, Dunfermline and probably Falkirk at Pittodrie. How depressing Is that list of teams compared to the list of potential opponents we were looking at last season cheers barry 1 Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 Pot 1 : Dundee - ABERDEEN - Hibernian - Motherwell - St Johnstone - Ross County - Livingston - Dundee Utd. Pot 2 : Raith - Partick - Airdrie - Morton - Dunfermline - Ayr - Queens Park - Inverness. Pot 3 : Arbroath - Falkirk - Hamilton - Alloa - Montrose - Cove - Kelty Hearts - Queen of the South. Pot 4 : Annan - Stirling - Edinburgh City - Stenhousemuir - Peterhead - Spartans - Dumbarton - East Fife. Pot 5 : Forfar - Elgin - Bonnyrigg Rose - Clyde - Stranraer - East Kilbride - Buckie Thistle - Brechin. Edit : Link to comment
Tord31 Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 Aberdeen, Inverness H, Arbroath or Cove A, Peterhead H, Elgin or Buckie or Brechin A That's a group we could get out of Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 Raith, Arbroath, Annan, Forfar the top seeds. 😂 Fucking hell. Jimmy better nae have us in this shit show next season. Link to comment
dave_min Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 Not a single bad away day in Pot 2. Queens Park away would be right decent. Fuck knows where it would get played. Link to comment
AndrewC Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 I hope our blank date is the 1st one, weekend of 13th/14th July. Really don't want to miss the 1st game, but I'm not giving up a trip to Berlin to watch Scotland in the final of the Euros, for anyone... 1 Link to comment
GeorgeStreetReds Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 An away trip to one of Arbroath, Forfar, Montrose or Caley would be ideal. Link to comment
redone Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 33 minutes ago, GeorgeStreetReds said: An away trip to one of Arbroath, Forfar, Montrose or Caley would be ideal. Elgin City even better . Are Buckie Thistle in the draw for winning the Highland League ?…. If so then a trip there would do nicely ETA …..Just seen @The Cockney Don post with seedlings…..so , yes, Buckie Thistle please Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 1 hour ago, dave_min said: Not a single bad away day in Pot 2. Queens Park away would be right decent. Fuck knows where it would get played. We’ll play pot 2 at home. Link to comment
GeorgeStreetReds Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 20 minutes ago, redone said: Elgin City even better . Are Buckie Thistle in the draw for winning the Highland League ?…. If so then a trip there would do nicely ETA …..Just seen @The Cockney Don post with seedlings…..so , yes, Buckie Thistle please No Highland league teams are in the SPFL league cup. Link to comment
NEM Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 Arbroath away in July would be a decent day oot Link to comment
RAZOR Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 Be difficult to stop for a pint in Laurenckirk on the way home from Cove (a) Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 35 minutes ago, NEM said: Arbroath away in July would be a decent day oot Nearly 20 year ago last time was there. It was freezing at the ground. Old Bill taking our mobiles too. Link to comment
redone Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 1 hour ago, GeorgeStreetReds said: No Highland league teams are in the SPFL league cup. Apart from Buckie and Brechin in Pot 5 Link to comment
redone Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 Aye , Queen of the South , Annan and Stranraer would guarantee at least two cunts of trips Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 2 hours ago, NEM said: Arbroath away in July would be a decent day oot Montrose > Arbroath. Arbroath is a shithole. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted May 28 Share Posted May 28 2 hours ago, WesthillWanderersFC said: We’ll play pot 2 at home. Is that genuinely a thing? I've no idea how the home/away and free date works out. Link to comment