shut up meg Posted December 11, 2024 Share Posted December 11, 2024 On 12/6/2024 at 1:23 PM, Zeus said: https://x.com/ShwartzDelmore/status/1864950918514393299?t=tE_R2MzQq5Ggi4DM3IR1_Q&s=19 Another reason to leave it as is. Away fans think it's a miserable experience. Good, long may it continue Is that Celtic fans, they've got some cheek. A fair chunk of the away section there has a restricted view, and you have to endure the smell from the tinks in the home end. 1 Link to comment
redstrummer Posted December 11, 2024 Share Posted December 11, 2024 On 10/27/2024 at 8:28 PM, Topi Kat said: Has been suggested in the new stadium thread that the club may be set to announce some development plans for Pittodrie. Obviously many things to consider here such as, do they see this as some short term, band-aid fixes, or maybe something for the next 10 years. What do we consider are must have's and nice to have's? Merkland: I would think the thing on most folks minds that has been requested, is safe standing. The club have said they have considered this but the concrete foundations aren't the best. Other than that, it's got decent enough facilities and doesn't really need much done with it. Main Stand: I'm sure they've mentioned the roof being an issue in the past. Other than rebuilding it, which they told us is not really possible due to it being a listed building, South Stand: Facilties are shit. Could do with a roof for Section Y for sure and dare I say, for away fans. RDS: As is. Nothing really needs done here. I've never really been a huge fan of fixing up the old girl but the reality is, the club don't have funds to just go alone and build a £100-150m stadium, so updating Pittodrie might just have to be the solution. What's on your wish list? is this true ? why would it be listed ? would be good to replace the roof and get rid of the pillars somehow. The toilets need a major makeover as do all of them in the stadium apart from the RDS Loads of space behind Y to build better facilities . They need to get rid of the yellow seats and have them all red Link to comment
RabidGiraffe Posted December 11, 2024 Share Posted December 11, 2024 The quotes from the AGM said staying at Pittodrie with improvements is the short to medium plan which I would assume is at least the next 10 years if not 20. To me the most obvious thing to do is build something that covers the Y and uses the space behind to add better facilities for the South stand (catering and bogs, plus the return of the bath). Safe standing in the Merkland Buy/rent the land from the old Broadhill Bar and use it for a pre-match fanzone with food and drinks facilities. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted December 11, 2024 Share Posted December 11, 2024 We should just say fuck it and redevelop Pittodrie over next 15-20 years. Get the Broadhill bought asap so we have extra space Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 10 hours ago, sooth_stander said: Giant TV screen above section Y Could watch Corrie during dull midweek games 1 Link to comment
Merkie84 Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 What realistically can be done? My ( uninformed) thoughts. Replace SS yellow seats with red ones , easily done and should be a priority. Main stand , not really much except maybe a newer roof. SS and Merkland , maybe an upgrade to catering and toilet facilities. SS roof. Either expand the existing one so covers the Y and away end or build a new one completely. Perhaps building a wall/ stand end so the wind doesn’t whip in straight from the sea. I think a new, lower enclosed roof might be better for atmosphere . General. A lot of our stadium is seats bolted to ancient terracing. When was the concrete poured? I suspect eons ago . Repair cracks, bits with weeds growing through etc. Maybe a resurfacing for the concrete so have each section between each seat on 1 level rather than the 2 steps it is now. Just a good going over with a power hose. Even the RDS which is the newest stand looks unkept and old. The plastic sheeting at the sides and rear of the stand looks very grubby. Replace or give a good deep clean. Link to comment
dave_min Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 Y does everybody suddenly want a roof over the Y? Complete waste of money. Will not increase crowds. Nobody gives a fuck if a seat is red or yellow. 5 Link to comment
wicker83 Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 14 hours ago, shut up meg said: Is that Celtic fans, they've got some cheek. A fair chunk of the away section there has a restricted view, and you have to endure the smell from the tinks in the home end. That's why they were raging, those cunts despise showers Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 19 minutes ago, dave_min said: Nobody gives a fuck if a seat is red or yellow. Agreed Nae sure why the club use yellow seats for replacements though. Did we get a cheap job lot of yellow ones or something? Someone needs to tweet Burrows about this Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 21 minutes ago, dave_min said: Y does everybody suddenly want a roof over the Y? Complete waste of money. Will not increase crowds. Nobody gives a fuck if a seat is red or yellow. It would annoy me if I went to games. Link to comment
dave_min Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 3 minutes ago, The Boofon said: It would annoy me if I went to games. Aye, remember you saying that at Tynecastle a couple weeks back Link to comment
ERNIE Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 25 minutes ago, dave_min said: Y does everybody suddenly want a roof over the Y? Complete waste of money. Will not increase crowds. Nobody gives a fuck if a seat is red or yellow. Nah the seats have to be red .. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 19 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said: Agreed Nae sure why the club use yellow seats for replacements though. Did we get a cheap job lot of yellow ones or something? Someone needs to tweet Burrows about this 1 1 Link to comment
davieb Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 Get it done .... https://x.com/AberdeenStadium/status/758666829464231936 3 Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 3 hours ago, muttonhumper said: Sponsorship deal with Hydrasun? 1 1 Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 5 hours ago, Merkie84 said: What realistically can be done? My ( uninformed) thoughts. Replace SS yellow seats with red ones , easily done and should be a priority. Main stand , not really much except maybe a newer roof. SS and Merkland , maybe an upgrade to catering and toilet facilities. SS roof. Either expand the existing one so covers the Y and away end or build a new one completely. Perhaps building a wall/ stand end so the wind doesn’t whip in straight from the sea. I think a new, lower enclosed roof might be better for atmosphere . General. A lot of our stadium is seats bolted to ancient terracing. When was the concrete poured? I suspect eons ago . Repair cracks, bits with weeds growing through etc. Maybe a resurfacing for the concrete so have each section between each seat on 1 level rather than the 2 steps it is now. Just a good going over with a power hose. Even the RDS which is the newest stand looks unkept and old. The plastic sheeting at the sides and rear of the stand looks very grubby. Replace or give a good deep clean. I suspect the concrete terracing in the SS and Merkie is original, so from the 1930s at least? When the roofs were erected/replaced in those 2 stands, the terracing wasn’t touched, I recall that. Link to comment
The Gee Man Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 3 hours ago, aberdeen1970 said: Agreed Nae sure why the club use yellow seats for replacements though. Did we get a cheap job lot of yellow ones or something? Someone needs to tweet Burrows about this I assume it’s a red and “gold” homage Link to comment
dave_min Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 52 minutes ago, sooth_stander said: Sponsorship deal with Hydrasun? Basic Dons history. Anybody who didn’t know this should be banned imo Link to comment
Rubin Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 55 minutes ago, sooth_stander said: I suspect the concrete terracing in the SS and Merkie is original, so from the 1930s at least? When the roofs were erected/replaced in those 2 stands, the terracing wasn’t touched, I recall that. I thought they removed some rows from top of SS terrace to put up the roof , unless my imagination is playing tricks. It's whats under the concrete that is likely a problem just rubble I guess not much for the concrete to hold onto how deep is the concrete Link to comment
Rubin Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 wonder how many fans we could accommodate , if we were in future allowed to install old fashioned standing Link to comment
dave_min Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 Just now, Rubin said: wonder how many fans we could accommodate , if we were in future allowed to install old fashioned standing Id imagine it’ll be pretty similar to what we already have in the stadium we rarely sell out 1 Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 Looks smart as fuck, but I suspect is totally unrealistic. It's presuming first of all that the Red Shed and the main stand can somehow be brought up to the height of the south stand, on exactly the same footprint. I just don't see how that can be done, sadly. Link to comment
ABERDEENROWIE1903 Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 It's virtually impossible to revamp Pittordrie due to all council height restrictions and the fact we are boxed in by housing additionally the South Stand is sinking No amount of paint and tarting it up is going to make a difference that should by covered by routine maintenance which the club don't seem interested in doing unless the have to Talk of another 20 years at Pittordrie worries me I don't think UEFA will see it fit for purpose in a few years to play there As much as I love the old staduim it's time to move. I am always embarrassed when I see on TV the Dons taking a corner next to the main stand at the Beachend it looks like whoever takes the corner cannot take two steps back to take it If I was Cormack I would put in say 80 million oh his personal fortune into a new build he can do it and probably the only one who can. You cannot take your money with you when your gone 1 Link to comment
Robin Askwith Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 7 minutes ago, ABERDEENROWIE1903 said: It's virtually impossible to revamp Pittordrie due to all council height restrictions and the fact we are boxed in by housing additionally the South Stand is sinking No amount of paint and tarting it up is going to make a difference that should by covered by routine maintenance which the club don't seem interested in doing unless the have to Talk of another 20 years at Pittordrie worries me I don't think UEFA will see it fit for purpose in a few years to play there As much as I love the old staduim it's time to move. I am always embarrassed when I see on TV the Dons taking a corner next to the main stand at the Beachend it looks like whoever takes the corner cannot take two steps back to take it If I was Cormack I would put in say 80 million oh his personal fortune into a new build he can do it and probably the only one who can. You cannot take your money with you when your gone Strange how Cormack's never managed to get investment on a new stadium. Thought he was best mates we the boy fae the Atlanta Falcons ? Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 13 minutes ago, ABERDEENROWIE1903 said: I am always embarrassed when I see on TV the Dons taking a corner next to the main stand at the Beachend Seriously? Why would anyone be embarrassed about that? 3 Link to comment
Max_AFC Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 1 hour ago, Schapenneuker said: Looks smart as fuck, but I suspect is totally unrealistic. It's presuming first of all that the Red Shed and the main stand can somehow be brought up to the height of the south stand, on exactly the same footprint. I just don't see how that can be done, sadly. Is this the Kingsford design? Link to comment
ABERDEENROWIE1903 Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 46 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said: Seriously? Why would anyone be embarrassed about that? Makes are ground look antiquated which it is Hey I love the old British stadiums but there is really is not many left but the ones that are look in a far better state of repair than are old lady Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 6 minutes ago, ABERDEENROWIE1903 said: Makes are ground look antiquated which it is Hey I love the old British stadiums but there is really is not many left but the ones that are look in a far better state of repair than are old lady It's just part of Pittodrie and something that makes it unique. There are loads of iconic footage of great goals being scored from that corner over the years. Too many people want soulless shiny symmetrical lego stadiums that look great on an aerial shot when watching via a stream on their 100 inch TV. A lot of the folk that moan about Pittodrie and pine for a new stadium have no intention of ever setting foot in it and rarely if ever even go to the current one. 2 Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted December 12, 2024 Share Posted December 12, 2024 6 hours ago, Rubin said: I thought they removed some rows from top of SS terrace to put up the roof , unless my imagination is playing tricks. It's whats under the concrete that is likely a problem just rubble I guess not much for the concrete to hold onto how deep is the concrete Sure I read that for safe standing, you need to drill 600mm into the concrete to install the rods that support the rail seating, and the Merkie terracing is nowhere near that depth. Suspect neither is the SS terracing. Link to comment