Redeveloping Pittodrie - Options

Originally there had been plans to make the Merkland Stand a two-tier structure but costs and reluctance from the local to council to grant planning permission scupper those plans. There were also suggestions that there should have been a cantilever structure put in place, but club secretary Ian Taggart stated that the cost would have been prohibitive and that there was simply not enough space to achieve this.

If only the council had allowed this. I dunno if it would have been the size of the current RDS, but we likely would have built two stands opposite each other of similar size.

36 minutes ago, Dunty said:

Originally there had been plans to make the Merkland Stand a two-tier structure but costs and reluctance from the local to council to grant planning permission scupper those plans. There were also suggestions that there should have been a cantilever structure put in place, but club secretary Ian Taggart stated that the cost would have been prohibitive and that there was simply not enough space to achieve this.

If only the council had allowed this. I dunno if it would have been the size of the current RDS, but we likely would have built two stands opposite each other of similar size.

Where has that come from Dunty, my understanding is Cammeron Farquhars were only ever asked to look at replicating the south stand but the costs were too prohibitive?

13 minutes ago, Dunty said:

I know the person who was in charge of the building works for the South Stand, Merkland and also the Main Stand executive boxes, and remember walking around the various building sites as a kid during the works. But I never appreciated they thought about a two tier Stand, I thought an extension of the South was always the preferred option.

2 minutes ago, Oregon Red said:

Would it be possible to develop the South stand  like a half at a time to preserve some capacity?  And i really never saw the problem of fully knocking down the decrepit Main stand and building cantilever fashion over Pittodrie Street or even a tunnel. Aberdeen council seem a bunch of fucking idiots.

None of that's happening it's a bit of paint a clean up and the cheapest area for a section of safe standing.

Also Aberdeen City Council is a joke, dunno who you toonsers vote for but there all absolute trumpets, and it seems to be every party at the moment. 

10 hours ago, Dunty said:

The RDS wasn't about some new seats though, it was about corporate hospitality, so a stand like that needed to be built, and as @NEMsays it's long since paid for itself.12

I think my point is more about the fact that it was built as a stand alone project, with nothing but short term thinking in mind. 

Indeed, it's simply a massive corporate box that happens to face the pitch, but it offers nothing to the stadium as a whole, and some of the sightlines from the upper tier are pish. 

It has no aesthetic value, and I doubt if we could properly redevelop Pittodrie as a whole without knocking the thing down. 

It was of its time. I doubt if any club would build anything like that these days. 

6 minutes ago, Dandys1983 said:

None of that's happening it's a bit of paint a clean up and the cheapest area for a section of safe standing.

Also Aberdeen City Council is a joke, dunno who you toonsers vote for but there all absolute trumpets, and it seems to be every party at the moment. 

It's just stupid. Self harm for the city. I guess i have lived in Oregon way too long to expect Aberdeen council to actually HELP something that brings revenue into the city.

9 minutes ago, Oregon Red said:

It's just stupid. Self harm for the city. I guess i have lived in Oregon way too long to expect Aberdeen council to actually HELP something that brings revenue into the city.

The council is bloody awful. shire isn't much better. But the city council just seems to be full of lunatics, I honestly this we are better staying clear of the council. 

16 minutes ago, Dandys1983 said:

The council is bloody awful. shire isn't much better. But the city council just seems to be full of lunatics, I honestly this we are better staying clear of the council. 

Various city councils going back decades have ruined the city with their small-minded thinking. 

It's astonishing and appalling that the club are treated as an inconvenience to the city, rather than an asset. 

21 minutes ago, Oregon Red said:

Would it be possible to develop the South stand  like a half at a time to preserve some capacity?  And i really never saw the problem of fully knocking down the decrepit Main stand and building cantilever fashion over Pittodrie Street or even a tunnel. Aberdeen council seem a bunch of fucking idiots.

There is absolutely no need for Pittodrie Street.
Logistically zero requirement.
I've barely seen a car moving on that street outwith a match day.
Pittodrie Place and Linksfield Road run parallel.
Both can take the any to fuck all traffic that runs between King Street and Golf Road.
Closing it off would make zero or less difference or inconvenience to absolutely any valid cunt on the planet.

• Upvote 6
20 minutes ago, Dandys1983 said:

What have the council actually done wrong in the whole stadium issue? 

The club didn’t buy the ground around the ground years ago to aid any development, then they decided to go to Westhill which was always a stupid idea and also had the bright idea of trying to go to Kingswells which would have been a terrible decision as well… 

1 hour ago, Schapenneuker said:

I think my point is more about the fact that it was built as a stand alone project, with nothing but short term thinking in mind. 

Indeed, it's simply a massive corporate box that happens to face the pitch, but it offers nothing to the stadium as a whole, and some of the sightlines from the upper tier are pish. 

It has no aesthetic value, and I doubt if we could properly redevelop Pittodrie as a whole without knocking the thing down. 

It was of its time. I doubt if any club would build anything like that these days. 

Aye.

The padded seats behind the goal in the traditional end further adding to killing the atmosphere. 

It was built too close to the pitch and the other stands to begin with and now the space is not long enough for current regulations. That has hemmed in the rest of the stands and made redevelopment impossible.

A stand with hospitality and facilities was needed, but something single tier more like the clock end Highbury could have done that without destroying the stadium. 

Anyway, found a new stadium in Bulgaria apparently used by their national team now, which cost €35m and would look superb down the beach. Get it built.

https://botevplovdiv.bg/en/the-stadium

1 hour ago, ullevi said:

What have the council actually done wrong in the whole stadium issue? 

The club didn’t buy the ground around the ground years ago to aid any development, then they decided to go to Westhill which was always a stupid idea and also had the bright idea of trying to go to Kingswells which would have been a terrible decision as well… 

Well previous council was all for the beach, then the new council came in and really wants nothing to do with it....unless AFC pay for everything. 

Don't help there were several Celtic and Rangers fans who stay in the city writing to their councillor saying they didn't want there council tax being used for a new stadium for us.....

I think the previous council were playing politics supporting something they knew they would never have a say in as a likely election defeat was upcoming, 

Now come on you don’t believe a few random letters from Rangers or Celtic would make a difference, I would imagine a lot of Aberdeen fans are off the same opinion. 

2 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

If the council really want the club to stay in the city and be part of the beach regeneration project then the logical solution is for the council to make up the difference between building at Kingsford and building at the beach. 

A council who don’t have money for the basics are meant to bail out a club who have multi millionaires on there board, one who supposedly went bust but would imagine still has a good few quid in the bank and Cormack who sold a business for $500 million plus (I know it’s not all his profit) but the council will bail them out?

3 minutes ago, ullevi said:

A council who don’t have money for the basics are meant to bail out a club who have multi millionaires on there board, one who supposedly went bust but would imagine still has a good few quid in the bank and Cormack who sold a business for $500 million plus (I know it’s not all his profit) but the council will bail them out?

They aren't bailing the club out though. They are investing in future footfall and  complimentary business for the city as a result 

And they'd be funding the difference in cost between the 2 stadia, not funding the new stadium 100 %. 

6 minutes ago, ullevi said:

Which department of the council do you work in min?

10 minutes ago, ullevi said:

I appreciate that and they should be helping more but to pay the difference for a club with high net worth  individuals already on the board whilst the city struggles to provide even the basics and a bumper council tax rise on the cards won’t happen

But it's basic economics. 

Take a family of 4 as an example. Let's say 2 of them want to go to the game, the other 2 decide to do something else at the beach while the game is on then they all meet up and go for dinner and/or a movie. 

Success for the club, success for other businesses in the vicinity and a win for the council due to the overall success of the beach regeneration project. Also the money generated by the council through the success of that now self sustaining project can be redirected to fund other requirements.