huncunts Posted Thursday at 11:22 AM Share Posted Thursday at 11:22 AM 18 hours ago, scottymc said: Normally no. Having said that this season with how strong we have been certainly in an attacking sense combined with how poor hibs have been I expected us to dominate the game. Again just my opinion but after about 15 minutes you could see hibs were very shaky but we just let them grow in confidence. As soon as that happens and then they get the 1st goal it gave them a big lift. We were lucky not to go two behind at the start of the 2nd half. Do we have the right to ‘thump’ teams. No. But what disappointed me most was the general malaise about the team certainly in the 1st half. We got that 1st goal and hibs would have fallen apart. FWIW I think we will do the same on Sunday. It’s a fine line between hitting teams on the counter and letting them have too much of the ball. Really hope we go at them early and get a goal. Pressure is all on them after that. This is spot on. It's okay to say Jimmy got the game plan for this one wrong. Starting with our best players and trying to slaughter them early on instead of saving them for the second half could have killed Hibs confidence, instead we let them control the game and take huge belief till their opener which felt inevitable. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted Thursday at 02:23 PM Share Posted Thursday at 02:23 PM 15 hours ago, Daisy1903 said: The crap passing seems to have crept in the last 2 games. The side to side between the 4 defenders and usually results in Ruby playing a long diagonal. It could be because Hibs didn't press us at all and simply covered the midfield which meant the defenders had no one to pass to. I guess teams have caught onto how we play and we now need to find ways to mix it up. What exacerbated that last night was probably Nilsen's worst game. His passing is always a bit suspect but last night he didn't even seem to drop deep looking for the ball as much as normal, whereas Shinnie covered every blade of grass. I'd like to see him dropped for Palaversa. This is what I hear a lot about Nilsen, that his passing is suspect. Nilsen played the key forward pass that led to our first goal and to a lesser extent the 3rd goal. Nilsen is the one guy in the team that regularly looks to play forward passes that open up the opposition. People say his passing is suspect but the reality is, he misplaces a notable number of them because the type of passes he's trying to do, are the ones that slice apart defences and create chances and goals. So many of the passes he's played this season have been brilliant. Take him out of the team and we are severely weakened in that regard. I'd rather have him in and accept that some of his passes will go astray. Been the same all season. Would definitely look to get Palaversa in though and rotate shinnie and nilsen to accommodate him. 5 Link to comment
TouzaniLeers Posted Thursday at 02:45 PM Share Posted Thursday at 02:45 PM 18 minutes ago, robbojunior said: This is what I hear a lot about Nilsen, that his passing is suspect. Nilsen played the key forward pass that led to our first goal and to a lesser extent the 3rd goal. Nilsen is the one guy in the team that regularly looks to play forward passes that open up the opposition. People say his passing is suspect but the reality is, he misplaces a notable number of them because the type of passes he's trying to do, are the ones that slice apart defences and create chances and goals. So many of the passes he's played this season have been brilliant. Take him out of the team and we are severely weakened in that regard. I'd rather have him in and accept that some of his passes will go astray. Been the same all season. Would definitely look to get Palaversa in though and rotate shinnie and nilsen to accommodate him. Tbf it’s expected with the amount of times he receives the ball per 90. Was it not his slackness that caused him to give up a second nearly at the start of second half? Trying not to be too critical but we need to sort out that lethargic feeling we seem to exude in opening 45s. Team has done a lot in a short space of time. No one really expected us to be 9 points clear in second heading into Christmas fixtures. Next step for this lot is actually dominating a game for 90 mins and exerting a level of control throughout a fixture. If we keep playing these basketball type fixtures we will lose more points than we win. Canna say we aren’t entertained though. 😂 Link to comment
C'monEweReds Posted Thursday at 02:53 PM Share Posted Thursday at 02:53 PM Am I over this yet? No. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted Thursday at 02:59 PM Share Posted Thursday at 02:59 PM 12 minutes ago, TouzaniLeers said: Tbf it’s expected with the amount of times he receives the ball per 90. Was it not his slackness that caused him to give up a second nearly at the start of second half? Trying not to be too critical but we need to sort out that lethargic feeling we seem to exude in opening 45s. Team has done a lot in a short space of time. No one really expected us to be 9 points clear in second heading into Christmas fixtures. Next step for this lot is actually dominating a game for 90 mins and exerting a level of control throughout a fixture. If we keep playing these basketball type fixtures we will lose more points than we win. Canna say we aren’t entertained though. 😂 I think it was MacKenzie that played a poor pass that was intended for Nilsen but didn't get near him? Anyway, I just think folk seem to see Nilsen give the ball away and decide that he's a poor passer whilst blanking out all the great incisive passes he makes. 1 Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted Thursday at 03:17 PM Share Posted Thursday at 03:17 PM 3 hours ago, huncunts said: This is spot on. It's okay to say Jimmy got the game plan for this one wrong. Starting with our best players and trying to slaughter them early on instead of saving them for the second half could have killed Hibs confidence, instead we let them control the game and take huge belief till their opener which felt inevitable. I thought Hibs (like St Mirren actually), were very clever in the way they started the game. They pressed us high....probably knowing that we're slow starters....and forced us into giving the ball away. They also loaded their left-wing, which stopped Devlin from attacking and forced Ruby wider than he would have liked. JT to his credit, sorted that out at half time. Hoillet and Youan tired, and the introduction of Shady Mo meant that Hibs were pushed further back on their left hand side, which allowed Devlin to bomb forward. All of that = a different half completely. Now, all of that is very well. But we can't keep on playing a kind of catch-up game because we got it wrong for 45 minutes. It's fairly obvious that away from home, teams are working out how to play us. Even shite like Hibs, ffs. They know that we have a Plan A and that we like to stick with that. It's up to JT to adapt our tactics to the game at hand, because you can guarantee that Hearts will have watched Tuesday's game and have a plan worked out for us. 2 Link to comment
Its the Optimism that kill Posted Thursday at 03:26 PM Share Posted Thursday at 03:26 PM There have been a lot of killer passes this season leading to some stunning goals. when they don’t come off they do look poor ( see pass back yesterday at Celtic for how bad they can look when done poorly). And it’s a right mixture of people supplying these killer passes( not just the usual suspects) as can be seen from the assists. The highs and lows of a game of football were there to see on Tuesday. But it is nice this year to actually get the high before the low,they have been in short supply for years 1 Link to comment
TouzaniLeers Posted Thursday at 03:27 PM Share Posted Thursday at 03:27 PM 26 minutes ago, robbojunior said: I think it was MacKenzie that played a poor pass that was intended for Nilsen but didn't get near him? Anyway, I just think folk seem to see Nilsen give the ball away and decide that he's a poor passer whilst blanking out all the great incisive passes he makes. I agree btw I think he makes some exceptional passes. Cute ones that get us into final third. With how much he receives the ball though he’s going to inevitably make a few slack ones. Needs a rest Sunday however… Link to comment
Daisy1903 Posted Thursday at 11:30 PM Share Posted Thursday at 11:30 PM 9 hours ago, robbojunior said: This is what I hear a lot about Nilsen, that his passing is suspect. Nilsen played the key forward pass that led to our first goal and to a lesser extent the 3rd goal. Nilsen is the one guy in the team that regularly looks to play forward passes that open up the opposition. People say his passing is suspect but the reality is, he misplaces a notable number of them because the type of passes he's trying to do, are the ones that slice apart defences and create chances and goals. So many of the passes he's played this season have been brilliant. Take him out of the team and we are severely weakened in that regard. I'd rather have him in and accept that some of his passes will go astray. Been the same all season. Would definitely look to get Palaversa in though and rotate shinnie and nilsen to accommodate him. He's got a pass in him. Agreed. But I disagree that the misplaced passes are because he's trying to cut teams open. Most of his misplaced passes are just crap short passes to the side. I like him to a certain extent. But Shinnie and Palaversa are both far better. Link to comment
northernlights Posted Friday at 12:46 AM Share Posted Friday at 12:46 AM 8 hours ago, Schapenneuker said: I thought Hibs were very clever in the way they started the game. They pressed us high... JT to his credit, sorted that out. Hibs were pushed further back on their left hand side, which allowed Devlin to bomb forward. We can't keep on playing a kind of catch-up game because we got it wrong for 45 minutes. It's fairly obvious that away from home, teams are working out how to play us. It's up to JT to adapt our tactics to the game at hand, because you can guarantee that Hearts will have watched Tuesday's game and have a plan worked out for us. Our first half was insipid. Nothing brave through midfield, our striker offering little to no hold up play, we were stymied down the right, and the Mackenzie-Duk combo on the left, was our only outlet. We set up predictably. Our playmaking had an obvious pattern that was anticipated and thwarted for the most part. Second half we entered a totally different mode and for spells we were brilliant. The contrast was night and day. Having that alternate mode and counter tactic is critical because we are being studied, and are losing the surprise and spontaneity which outwits an opponent. When our set up is optimal, we have several attacking options all active at once. That is what we want to see from the get go against Hearts. 1 Link to comment
Baps Posted Friday at 01:02 AM Share Posted Friday at 01:02 AM The Hibs keeper was pish, we should have been Nigel Peppering the goal at every opportunity and not trying to pass the ball into the net. 1 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted Friday at 04:51 AM Share Posted Friday at 04:51 AM 13 hours ago, C'monEweReds said: Am I over this yet? No. Same. Had an overnight stop in Doha, went for a few pints, some grub then back to room for 10.45pm kick off. Giant screen, comfy settee, nice bottle of wine. Sokler effort goes in, genuinely bouncing aboot like a madman... was still bouncing when they equalised. WTAF. Link to comment
Glass half full Posted Friday at 05:34 PM Share Posted Friday at 05:34 PM On 11/28/2024 at 2:23 PM, robbojunior said: This is what I hear a lot about Nilsen, that his passing is suspect. Nilsen played the key forward pass that led to our first goal and to a lesser extent the 3rd goal. Nilsen is the one guy in the team that regularly looks to play forward passes that open up the opposition. People say his passing is suspect but the reality is, he misplaces a notable number of them because the type of passes he's trying to do, are the ones that slice apart defences and create chances and goals. So many of the passes he's played this season have been brilliant. Take him out of the team and we are severely weakened in that regard. I'd rather have him in and accept that some of his passes will go astray. Been the same all season. Would definitely look to get Palaversa in though and rotate shinnie and nilsen to accommodate him. We had a similar discussion during the game, it’s about the type of passes he’s attempting that means he gives it away more than we would wish for. I don’t agree with you though that he is the one person who tries the forward passes. For me most of the team attempt them. The biggest example is McGraths incredible pass at Parkhead to put Sokler through for the goal. 2 Link to comment
Broken_Glass Posted Saturday at 05:38 PM Share Posted Saturday at 05:38 PM On 11/27/2024 at 12:38 PM, Arthur FN Shelby said: At our third goal we were still celebrating thinking the game was won. Having said that it showed up the discrepancy’s in the squad. Once Devlin went off, no captain in defence. Palaversa being used sparingly, why? Mitov needs to work on crosses, bombscare there. We don’t have a striker, Morris pining in crosses (not just last night) and no one to take advantage. Nisbet? What’s happened? Has he been told there’s no long term contract and spat the dummy. Mitov needs to be more aware of his positioning in general. He does far too much scrambling around trying to get back into position. Link to comment
Its the Optimism that kill Posted Sunday at 09:01 AM Share Posted Sunday at 09:01 AM One thing we learned from this game Is there is definitely goals in this team. Its a bit unfortunate it’s at both ends Link to comment