Mrs_Mols Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Wondering where the best pubs/bars in town are to go drinking at before the Dons V Huns game on Saturday? any recommendations? Link to comment
Guest SS RED Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Portals is open at 7, ken the place up at the castle gate. Link to comment
Mrs_Mols Posted January 20, 2009 Author Share Posted January 20, 2009 Portals is open at 7, ken the place up at the castle gate. never been. fits it like? is it an al'mannys pub? Link to comment
Guest SS RED Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 never been. fits it like? is it an al'mannys pub? It opens at 7 am, so fit div you think it's like? It's a steamers bar but ok for a drink if yer wanting one that early, I've been in worse places. Link to comment
Guest stoney Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 balaclava is my choice open at 7am Link to comment
Guest SS RED Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 balaclava is my choice open at 7am Now, that is a shithole. Some absolute Freaks drink in at place. Link to comment
Tommy Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Now, that is a shithole. Some absolute Freaks drink in at place. Worse than Portals ? Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 never been in balaclava, but surely it cant be worse than portals. Im heading to the Northern Bowling Club at about 10 but might go to Balaclava or Portals early doors Link to comment
Guest SS RED Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Portals over Balaclava for me like. Link to comment
Tommy Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 never been in balaclava, but surely it cant be worse than portals. Im heading to the Northern Bowling Club at about 10 but might go to Balaclava or Portals early doors You aint related to a Jim S that drinks there are you ? Retired bus driver. Link to comment
Scarfer Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Pitt Bar opening at 10. Perfect! Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 You aint related to a Jim S that drinks there are you ? Retired bus driver. Not that i know of Tommy. Will ask my old man!! Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Pitt Bar opening at 10. Perfect! wow, this was kept quiet. This changes everything!! Link to comment
Scarfer Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Can confirm 100%. There was a sign up on Sunday. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Quality! A 30sec walk from my flat and into the Pitt. Sounds good to me. See all you fellow dandies there. :thumbs: Link to comment
Guest SS RED Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Quick one in The Hen Hoose then up to the Pitt. Now we're talking lol. Link to comment
Maniac Cop Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Aichies Ale House just off the Green opens at 8. Fine wee bar. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Are bars allowed to serve drink without having to buy food too, before 11am in Aberdeen? Not the case in Glasgow, you have to buy a food item with an alcoholic drink(s), so it's 1 bacon roll and 10 pints please inn-keeper! Link to comment
minijc Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Depends, some bars have early opening hours but shut early. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Are bars allowed to serve drink without having to buy food too, before 11am in Aberdeen? Not the case in Glasgow, you have to buy a food item with an alcoholic drink(s), so it's 1 bacon roll and 10 pints please inn-keeper! I mind being in the schooner early doors a few years ago and what i witnessed was messy. Pole dancers at 8am , numerous pill popping party people still on the go from the night before. The dregs of Aberdonian alcoholics , A junky trying to sell a freshly stolen leg of lamb. A wheeler dealer going round selling fags , porn dvds, viagra and mach 3 razors. All in all an enjoyable few hours. Link to comment
Maniac Cop Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Are bars allowed to serve drink without having to buy food too, before 11am in Aberdeen? Not the case in Glasgow, you have to buy a food item with an alcoholic drink(s), so it's 1 bacon roll and 10 pints please inn-keeper! Never heard of anything like that in Aberdeen before, some of the early doors bars don't even sell food. Link to comment
K OK Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Aichies Ale House just off the Green opens at 8. Fine wee bar. I will be there I think! Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 I mind being in the schooner early doors a few years ago and what i witnessed was messy. Pole dancers at 8am , numerous pill popping party people still on the go from the night before. The dregs of Aberdonian alcoholics , A junky trying to sell a freshly stolen leg of lamb. A wheeler dealer going round selling fags , porn dvds, viagra and mach 3 razors. All in all an enjoyable few hours. Sounds like great banter, will have to pop in sometime before a game Link to comment
E-P-K Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 Sounds like great banter, will have to pop in sometime before a game Unlikely , Im sure its changed owners , changed names, and has a normal license now so open 11 till late. Link to comment
minijc Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 New owners, same name and 11 till late as you said EPK. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 BOOOOOOOOOOOO! Killjoys. Link to comment
Nespa Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 G they are a few boozers down the clyde you can get a beer fae 8am! not the sort of places you really want to go to right enough! Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 G they are a few boozers down the clyde you can get a beer fae 8am! not the sort of places you really want to go to right enough! Is there, which ones? Weatherspoons and these gaffs are open at 7am, but you defo have to buy scran to get a bevvy. However, I'm sure the boozers you speak of aren't too concerned about flouting licensing laws! Link to comment
port86 Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 anyone know what time the broadhill opens on saturday? Link to comment
Guest SS RED Posted January 20, 2009 Share Posted January 20, 2009 anyone know what time the broadhill opens on saturday? Ten I think. Link to comment