J4MRU Posted December 2, 2012 Share Posted December 2, 2012 Can anyone suggest a nice place for the missus 30th birthday party? Few bullet points..Must be flexible with sticking up decorations and such like.We liked TigerTiger for previous Doo but there will be a few oldies there and nae fancying them getting a hiding off some wee Ned on the way home. Also might need to have kids there so a nightclub isn't really an option. Probably a hotel or something. Unsure if numbers attending though as its not until May 2013. Cheers the noo! Link to comment
DandyDon KD Posted December 2, 2012 Share Posted December 2, 2012 Fit about that cults hotel Link to comment
scoutman70 Posted December 2, 2012 Share Posted December 2, 2012 Can anyone suggest a nice place for the missus 30th birthday party? Few bullet points..Must be flexible with sticking up decorations and such like.We liked TigerTiger for previous Doo but there will be a few oldies there and nae fancying them getting a hiding off some wee Ned on the way home. Also might need to have kids there so a nightclub isn't really an option. Probably a hotel or something. Unsure if numbers attending though as its not until May 2013. Cheers the noo! Squash club at Mannofield is quite good. Had a few 21st's and a christmas night out. Maybe too far out of the city centre for you. Grammar FP club is a decent enough but smaller venue Link to comment
Pudgie Posted December 2, 2012 Share Posted December 2, 2012 The Holburn does a free function room if I'm not mistaken. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 I suggest the 524 Cocktail Lounge on George Street. A very nice upstairs function room. 2 Link to comment
Redstar Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Can anyone suggest a nice place for the missus 30th birthday party? Few bullet points..Must be flexible with sticking up decorations and such like.We liked TigerTiger for previous Doo but there will be a few oldies there and nae fancying them getting a hiding off some wee Ned on the way home. Also might need to have kids there so a nightclub isn't really an option. Probably a hotel or something. Unsure if numbers attending though as its not until May 2013. Cheers the noo!I'd suggest...taking her up the Atholl (oo'er madam)...They have a decent sized function room, foods always top notch and it's reasonably priced...only downside is it can only cater for about 60 if memory serves. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 parties in function rooms / enclosed spaces are best avoided Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Especially if you're holding it. ha ha oh aye. or the surprise guest. Link to comment
bruceg1978 Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Sportsmans Club hold ups to around 110 for functions. Great location for folk to get too. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Rox Hotel is not too shabby. Drink is reasonably priced and its been well done up. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 What about the Portland Club? They used to do ace kids Christmas discos late 70s, early 80s too - see if you can score afew invites for the kids in your family while you're at it. Link to comment
Moorie86 Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 What about the Portland Club? They used to do ace kids Christmas discos late 70s, early 80s too - see if you can score afew invites for the kids in your family while you're at it. Albert nae trying touch the kids? Link to comment
daytripping Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Depends what area the majority are from, you can't go wrong with the Cloverleaf if you're from the Dyce, Bucksburn area, had many a great function there! Link to comment
ebbe Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Rox Hotel is not too shabby. Drink is reasonably priced and its been well done up. boy that owns it is an avid hun, and it's named after ibrox. wouldn't set foot in rox if it was the only place in toon for a peev. 1 Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 boy that owns it is an avid hun, the place named after ibrox. wouldn't set foot in the place if it was the only place in toon for a peev. Nice heads up. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 210 Bistro on South Market Street? top floor with a view of the harbour and a balcony for smokers to head outside. For special occasions, events and parties, our restaurant is available for hire. When hired exclusively we can accommodate up to 70 for lunch or dinner. http://www.210bistro.com/restaurant/sample-menu/ 2 Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 I recommend Rox, unfortunate that it is owned by a hun. But it is beautiful. Lovely function hall, chandeliers, the works. One of my best mates moved abroad and had her leaving doo there, it was great. A nice big porch as well for setting off fireworks and the likes and going for a fag. We got a nice glass of champagne on arrival and she got outside caterers to come in. Link to comment
daytripping Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 I recommend Rox, unfortunate that it is owned by a hun. But it is beautiful. Lovely function hall, chandeliers, the works. One of my best mates moved abroad and had her leaving doo there, it was great. A nice big porch as well for setting off fireworks and the likes and going for a fag. We got a nice glass of champagne on arrival and she got outside caterers to come in. Nae a patch on the Metro. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Nae a patch on the Metro. Indeed not Dayts. Those were the days Link to comment
daytripping Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Indeed not Dayts. Those were the days Down stairs on Saturday, upstairs on Monday! Had some cracking nights there! Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted December 3, 2012 Share Posted December 3, 2012 Seafield club is decent for private functions. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 peep peeps from the telly, it's like cheers. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 Cheesepipes puts on a good shindig in his dungeon sorry basement I've heard. Link to comment
tup Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 210 Bistro on South Market Street? top floor with a view of the harbour and a balcony for smokers to head outside. For special occasions, events and parties, our restaurant is available for hire. When hired exclusively we can accommodate up to 70 for lunch or dinner. http://www.210bistro.com/restaurant/sample-menu/ That's where the wedding function was for my sister's wedding. The food was pretentious shite, but the place itself is clean and tidy. EDIT - they don't let you use the balcony, or at least with our lot they never, for obvious reasons. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 EDIT - they don't let you use the balcony, or at least with our lot they never, for obvious reasons. you all have webbed feet? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 you all have webbed feet? Nah, they thought tup looked suicidal Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 4, 2012 Share Posted December 4, 2012 the cheek of him, calling me negative. Link to comment