Alan B'stard Posted November 8, 2007 Share Posted November 8, 2007 Right I need your help fellow dons I'm doing the honourable thing and marrying the long suffering Mrs B'stard where in Aberdeen is the best hotel for a reception and wedding I've seen a lot of places but never heard opinions on them - Ardoe is not an option due to the extortion they charge Link to comment
minijc Posted November 8, 2007 Share Posted November 8, 2007 Thistle in altens, was at one there a while back, drink prices arnt the best but the place is good and pretty big. Link to comment
Guest redbrigade Posted November 8, 2007 Share Posted November 8, 2007 Elphinstone Hall. Not a hotel but cheap drink! Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted November 8, 2007 Share Posted November 8, 2007 Marriott in Dyce? The Marriott in Dyce is ideal. The Marcliffe or Pittodrie House Hotel are good too. Link to comment
Slim Posted November 8, 2007 Share Posted November 8, 2007 Norwood House Hotel gets my vote. Link to comment
Mikeyboy1903 Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 d*ck Donald - Todders Link to comment
L_89 Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 Marriott in Dyce? I had my school prom there last year, its lovley Treetops?? Link to comment
Emma1903 Posted November 9, 2007 Share Posted November 9, 2007 I really like Maryculter House! Also Thistle Altens is nice and more central, drinks are not bad priced too, was up there a few weeks ago and it was only Link to comment
Sneckie Posted November 10, 2007 Share Posted November 10, 2007 Norwood House Hotel gets my vote. My brother got married there in August - it was great. Really nice hotel, gorgeous rooms and a nice location with grounds etc. Drinks were reasonable from what I remember. Are people suggesting Thistle Altens for real? I had to stay there when I was working in Aberdeen last summer, is it nae just a businessy-type hotel? It's in the middle of an industrial estate too! Link to comment
woods stays nicholas score Posted November 10, 2007 Share Posted November 10, 2007 was at britannia bucksburn before thot that was ok and not crazy priced Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 10, 2007 Share Posted November 10, 2007 Norwood's real nice but nae cheap.Holiday Inn at Westhill has a real nice function suite. Link to comment
Henry Posted October 7, 2013 Share Posted October 7, 2013 Aberdeen's iconic Marcliffe Hotel is set to close. The five-star hotel - a popular venue for wedding receptions and functions - has been at its North Deeside Road venue since 1993.The owner, Stewart Spence, is to retire and plans to sell the venue to an office developer.Bookings at the hotel will be honoured until November next year. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 7, 2013 Share Posted October 7, 2013 Even after Donald Trumps 93% increase in reservations. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted October 7, 2013 Share Posted October 7, 2013 Marcliffe rumours have been doing the rounds for a couple of years now, especially since the redevelopment of a property on Bailieswells Road, Bieldside belonging to a certain Mr S Milne... Link to comment
Henry Posted November 29, 2013 Share Posted November 29, 2013 Plans to build a 134 bedroom hotel on the site of an old music shop have been approved. Developers Tip Top Properties are to turn the old Bruce Miller's shop, on Union Street in Aberdeen, which closed in 2011, into a nine storey hotel. The development will include a rooftop restaurant. Parts of the back of the building will be demolished. It is hoped the new hotel will provide 100 jobs – 20 full-time and 80 part-time and help stimulate the regeneration of the west end of the city centre. The plans were approved by Aberdeen City Council on Thursday. Convener Ramsay Milne said: “The whole area will be improved by this hotel and it’s essential that we do what we can to improve and regenerate the west end of the city centre. "This is an important development, not only for the regeneration of the city centre, but also for business and employment in Aberdeen, and to ensure that the city remains an attractive destination for business and leisure tourists who are so important to the economy. “We do not have enough hotel rooms in Aberdeen – and that’s not just on occasions when the whole oil industry comes to Aberdeen. It’s an issue on a regular basis and that is reflected in the prices. “The prices of hotels in Aberdeen are very, very high because the demand for rooms is so high. This has an impact on business and the local economy. We are losing business to other places because of a lack of hotel rooms." Link to comment
Henry Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 A portable "pop up" hotel made from shipping containers could be built in Aberdeen by former racing driver David Coulthard. The 160-bed Snoozebox development would be constructed in the Bridge of Don area of the city. Former F1 racing driver and Snoozebox president Coulthard helped the London-based firm make its name accommodating spectators at the British Grand Prix. A Snoozebox spokesman said: "We continue to explore a host of opportunities in key cities throughout the UK create semi-permanent hotels and accommodation units. "As part of the process, Snoozebox regularly holds discussions and develops plans to progress opportunities. "The company does not comment on opportunities under development that may or may not have been concluded." The temporary hotel would operate for around five years if Aberdeen City Council grants planning permission. http://news.stv.tv/north/295333-plans-for-new-hotel-in-aberdeen-from-david-coulthard-firm-snoozebox/ Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 Slept in worse, much much worse. Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 Slept in worse, much much worse. Aye makes the place a stayed in before bohemians match in dublin look like a 5* luxury hotel Link to comment
Pudgie Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 That looks fucking ace. Perfect for gigs around the AECC and even folk going to Pittodrie. Await folk saying it'll look like shite and that whatever is where it's going to be built needs to be retained as it's a place of such natural beauty and blah blah blah *insert typical nimby treehugger shite here*. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 Slept in worse, much much worse.Too right.Some of the rooms offshore are far worse than that.It truly is a delight to sleep in a bunk which is basically a nest of somebody else's pubic hair because the steward staff haven't bothered to clean the bed after whomever had it before you. Boak!! Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 Too right.Some of the rooms offshore are far worse than that.It truly is a delight to sleep in a bunk which is basically a nest of somebody else's pubic hair because the steward staff haven't bothered to clean the bed after whomever had it before you. Boak!!Pubic Hair, Publc Lice, anal wart shavings, arse worm eggs....the list goes on. It's the only reason these offshore types get so much money. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 I stayed in the Princes Street easyhotel on Saturday as I'm skint & it was the only thing remotely central less than £100 for the night.Holy fuck that was brutal. Link to comment
minijc Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 I was looking at buying and converting some containers, a future plan of mine. Link to comment
rumpus Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 I was looking at buying and converting some containers, a future plan of mine. What you hoping to convert them to? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 Slept in worse, much much worse.Those shirts are horrendous. Especially the blue and black one. What's wrong with a dressing gown FFS? Link to comment
dervish Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 Has a hostel style touch to it. Which is fair enough if they charge hostel prices. But they won't. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 Those shirts are horrendous. Especially the blue and black one.What's wrong with a dressing gown FFS?Look very heavily starched as well. Link to comment
dervish Posted October 13, 2014 Share Posted October 13, 2014 Think it's one of those spacesaver bidet/shower combos? Link to comment