Penfold- Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Arena Community Stadium A community stadium development (Arena) for AberdeenCity could be built near Loirston Loch, Cove. Reports published today reveal partners investigating the possibility of creating a stadium and associated facilities in Aberdeen have made significant progress. The Arena Project Team formed jointly by Aberdeen City Council and Aberdeen Football Club will present an Outline Business Case for a stadium and ask Councillors to promote Loirston as the preferred site for development. Members will also be asked to give the green light for further development work on the Arena project and back in principle a joint venture as a means of delivery. If built, the Arena would become home to Aberdeen Football Club, a proposed venture partner as well as lead tenant. Officers recommend a 22,000-seat stadium, potentially rising to 30,000 seats, depending on the availability of financial support from the Scottish Government. Officers say sports and leisure developments, such as a community stadium, can play a major role in the successful future of both the city and region. In her report to next week's Council meeting, Head of Planning and Infrastructure, Margaret Bochel, writes: "Development of the Arena Community Stadium will ensure that Aberdeen is acknowledged as a competitive, dynamic and vibrant place to live and work. "The stadium could provide the opportunity to deliver objectives in the Regeneration Strategy, such as developing priority social, economic and environmental projects. "Such a facility would be a major addition to the infrastructure of the city, helping increase participation in sport and encouraging a healthy lifestyle across all sectors of the community." The report will go before Council on December 19. Aberdeen FC's social, economic and cultural role The benefits Aberdeen enjoys as a result of being home to a top division professional football club cannot be underestimated. An economic impact analysis completed in 2006 determined that Aberdeen FC contributes at least Link to comment
K-9 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Will give the Nimbys 24 hours before protests under way!! Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 if its in its going to be near cove then i wont be going alot. i'll be frigged if i'm driving through aberdeen city to get to a game on a saturday Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 if its in its going to be near cove then i wont be going alot. i'll be frigged if i'm driving through aberdeen city to get to a game on a saturday Eh? Link to comment
K-9 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 if its in its going to be near cove then i wont be going alot. i'll be frigged if i'm driving through aberdeen city to get to a game on a saturdayThe bypass may be built by the time this happens though. Link to comment
RowZ Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 You wouldn't go to see AFC because you would have to drive through the City, are you for real? Link to comment
Guest glasgowdon Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Given that this is supposed to be a modern stadium capable of hosting regular internation events, I reckon there will be a bypass as K-9 says and possibly even a wee rail/tram link. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 You wouldn't go to see AFC because you would have to drive through the City, are you for real? damn friggin right. aberdeen is a nightmare to drive through. by the way i dont mean i would never go just not as much as i can imagine thinking frigg it i cant be bothered withg it. Link to comment
K-9 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Given that this is supposed to be a modern stadium capable of hosting regular internation events, I reckon there will be a bypass as K-9 says and possibly even a wee rail/tram link.Think talks are ongoing for railway stations on the current main line from Dyce right to town and from town out to Altens/Cove. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Given that this is supposed to be a modern stadium capable of hosting regular internation events, I reckon there will be a bypass as K-9 says and possibly even a wee rail/tram link. if this was the case then no problem but given the history of Aberdeen council i wont hold my breath. Link to comment
AussieDon Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 if its in its going to be near cove then i wont be going alot. i'll be frigged if i'm driving through aberdeen city to get to a game on a saturday I'm sorry I just don't get this, maybe it's me but I just can't comprehend a comment like that. I miss watching the Dons so much living here in Oz and you won't go to a game because it is a Cove. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 if its in its going to be near cove then i wont be going alot. i'll be frigged if i'm driving through aberdeen city to get to a game on a saturday Maybe that's why crowds are down. Too many people have to drive through the city to get to the ground Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 I'm sorry I just don't get this, maybe it's me but I just can't comprehend a comment like that. I miss watching the Dons so much living here in Oz and you won't go to a game because it is a Cove. i have to drive for an hour already to get to the bridge of don i dont fancy makeing it an hour and a half maybe 2 to watch football. just being honest here. as i have said if the bypass is built finally then obviously it would be better and i've already said it wouldnt stop me altogether i just wouldnt go as much Link to comment
Tord31 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 bypass will be finished before any stadium. it's interesting not sure about it though. probably chosen as bigger site, hopefully easier to get permission and better rail and road links in 2011 than the beach will have. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 bypass will be finished before any stadium. it's interesting not sure about it though. probably chosen as bigger site, hopefully easier to get permission and better rail and road links in 2011 than the beach will have. i can see why they would chose it but there are no rail links north of aberdeen where a big proportion of the support actually come from. and unless the bypass is actually under construction i wont take anything for granted Link to comment
one-can-dan Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Good to see progress here, I think I speak for most when I say I'd prefer Kings Links site as its actually in Aberdeen, hope they dont rule this out completely. We need a new home though, and if Loriston is the most viable option then so be it, travel and access will need some serious thought though. Link to comment
Slim Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 i have to drive for an hour already to get to the bridge of don i dont fancy makeing it an hour and a half maybe 2 to watch football. just being honest here. as i have said if the bypass is built finally then obviously it would be better and i've already said it wouldnt stop me altogether i just wouldnt go as much Why not use the park and ride service that will be 99% guaranteed to be in place running between the AECC and the stadium? Link to comment
K-9 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Why not use the park and ride service that will be 99% guaranteed to be in place running between the AECC and the stadium?Most unorganised service as it is presently, running to several locations from Pittodrie and these buses will still have to sit in any traffic that cars would. Link to comment
roccovellhung Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 if its in its going to be near cove then i wont be going alot. i'll be frigged if i'm driving through aberdeen city to get to a game on a saturday So ye dinnae want it built in the city centre - and now you dinnae want it built in Cove Far div ye want it built? in your backie? Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 So ye dinnae want it built in the city centre - and now you dinnae want it built in Cove Far div ye want it built? in your backie? at wid be great in my backie aye"!!!!! build near where it is already. just reeading th EE and the reason they give for it being in cove is that it would easily accesible to opposition fans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! as i've said already. wasnt it said a while back that a large proportion of AFC fanbase came form north of the city?? Link to comment
K-9 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 So ye dinnae want it built in the city centre - and now you dinnae want it built in Cove Far div ye want it built? in your backie?Not In My Back Yard. Link to comment
Flosster Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Anyone any idea if the new stadium is going to have to have one of thon big running tracks round it? Bit worried that if its getting built to be a stadium for the community that this may result in things like athletics facilities.If it does, it will kill stone dead any chance of improving our home atmospheres, would prefer the stands to be as close to the pitch as possible, similar to tyncastle.....without the pink though Link to comment
Tord31 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 surely if its on the bypass it will be quicker for everyone to get to regardless of coming from stonehaven, dundee, inverurie, elgin, keith etc????? cove will be on bypass, the beach will not be Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 surely if its on the bypass it will be quicker for everyone to get to regardless of coming from stonehaven, dundee, inverurie, elgin, keith etc????? cove will be on bypass, the beach will not be they still cant frigging decide where to build the bloody bypass though Link to comment
Red Dragon Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 I think the above is a big step forward in that it is more than just AFC pleading to the council to build a stadium - it seems a professional, well though out proposal which covers all the positives to be gained form the community stadium. The talk of a partenrship between the Council anf AFC again can only be a positive since it is not purely begging the council to dig us out a hole. Regards the site, sensible choice due to -transport links and proximity to the (proposed) bypass route. All that is missing is rail links.Land availability, should be plenty o parkinnae that many folk to object to it in the propsed location. Well done AFC, well done all involved. Roll on the 19th. Link to comment
roccovellhung Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 at wid be great in my backie aye"!!!!! Would be awfy noisy kind, and ye'll have 15,000 punters peeing against your back fence but it yer happy with that then so am i - hope there'll be wee pizzas and stovies at half time? Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 at wid be great in my backie aye"!!!!! build near where it is already. just reeading th EE and the reason they give for it being in cove is that it would easily accesible to opposition fans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! as i've said already. wasnt it said a while back that a large proportion of AFC fanbase came form north of the city??Fa needs the nimbys when our own fans start moaning ! Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Would be awfy noisy kind, and ye'll have 15,000 punters peeing against your back fence but it yer happy with that then so am i - hope there'll be wee pizzas and stovies at half time? nah but you can have a can of tennents Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2007 Share Posted December 12, 2007 Fa needs the nimbys when our own fans start moaning ! i'll be honest i'm moaning from a totally selfish poitn of view because i hate driving through the city. and i'm having a really bad day at work whcih includes a hangover Link to comment