hopalong Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 Latest News Northsound Sport understands Dutch defender Dave Bus will sign for Aberdeen this week. The 29 year old De Graafschap player is out of contract at the end of the season. He's set to fly in to the North East tomorrow, and will train with his new team mates on Thursday. Link to comment
KGB Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 I am getting really excited at the prospect of this signing. Link to comment
Nespa Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 heard he's got a great engine! 1 Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 Hopefully give us a bit of drive that we're missing. Think he'll make a good coach too. Link to comment
Slim Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 Don't let your granny on the Bus because Byrne will shove her off. That sounded funnier in my head. Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 Joke signing. Zero imaginatio yet again from JC. DO WE HAVE ANY SCOUTS???????? Link to comment
hopalong Posted January 22, 2008 Author Share Posted January 22, 2008 Joke signing. Zero imaginatio yet again from JC. DO WE HAVE ANY SCOUTS???????? Calderwood Jnr Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 How long till he breaks down in training? 1 Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted January 22, 2008 Site Sponsor Share Posted January 22, 2008 Joke signing. Zero imaginatio yet again from JC. DO WE HAVE ANY SCOUTS???????? On this one I think I'll wait until I see him play Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 Joke signing. Zero imaginatio yet again from JC. DO WE HAVE ANY SCOUTS???????? seen him play have you. ALL ABOARD THE DAVE BUS Link to comment
Alan B'stard Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 On this one I think I'll wait until I see him play another f*king benchwarmer FANTASTIC Willie miller - Tango and (no) cash GTF Link to comment
rdsred Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 On this one I think I'll wait until I see him play Agree, this guy is on a hiding to nothing, people are now saying he's sh*te before they have even seen him. What a great club to come to..... Link to comment
DUNCS Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 I heard a rumour that we were looking at some guy called Mike Bus aswell......geez, you wait ages for one Bus and then two come along at once I'll get me coat. 1 Link to comment
deserter1 Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 I found some info on him from JDV and JC in an EE article earlier this month. He was de Graafschap's player of the year in 2005/06 so can't be all bad (although they were in 2nd division at the time admittedly). De Visscher, who played with Bus at Dutch side de Graafschap said: "Dave is a big, tall, strong defender, has impressive stamina and never gets tired. "He loves to get one on one with a striker, and is very good in those situations. "He is a bit like Zander. He is the same height and the same build, but a little bit faster than Zander. "Dave plays most of the time in the middle of defence, but can play at full-back as well. "The Scottish game will suit him better than the Dutch. "He can easily tackle strikers, particularly in a one on one situation. "He always gives 100% and loves training. "You knew in training that if you got past him, you would have to be quick or he would get back and tackle you. He is always very competitive." Bus has been out of the picture at de Graafschap, but de Visscher, who joined from the Eredivisie side last summer, reckons Bus will fit in well at Pittodrie. He said: "Dave is a nice person, and not glamorous at all. "He is a very down to earth, normal guy. "He came from the amateurs to de Graafschap, and was the club's player of the year in 2005/2006. "A lot of clubs were interested in him after that, but he decided to stay where he was." Dons boss Jimmy Calderwood, whose son Scott recommended Bus, said: "Dave can play in a number of defensive positions. He did very well in his first couple of seasons there and he is a player I know is rated highly." Bus said: "I have learned in football you must rule out nothing. We will see what happens at Aberdeen. "Scotland could be a lot of fun." Link to comment
Milners Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 FFS some folk are being negative for the sake of it these days Has anyone seen him play yet??? If not then how can you judge if he is going to be a good signing or not. I like to judge people when i actually watch them play before saying they are frigging sh*te and Jimmy get a grip. This guy came on trial and did quite well so lets see how he is when he puts on the famous red shirt. Link to comment
Tommy Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 It's good to get some new faces, not quite what i was looking for but theyhave to be given a chance. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 FFS some folk are being negative for the sake of it these days Has anyone seen him play yet??? If not then how can you judge if he is going to be a good signing or not. I like to judge people when i actually watch them play before saying they are frigging sh*te and Jimmy get a grip. This guy came on trial and did quite well so lets see how he is when he puts on the famous red shirt. :appl: Link to comment
Johnny Mac Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 We can crack out the old rachid belabed bus song (with dave substituted in obviously). Link to comment
RedRichard Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 At last Wiggie splashes the cash and shows the ambition needed to smash the Old Firm Duopoly, no wait.... Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 This lad might be ok. Better to wait and see. I hadn't heard of one or two of the signings from Holland in the eighties and they weren't exactly sh*t were they! lol Link to comment
bland_flabbis Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 He doesn't need to be a world beater to improve us, if he's just better than the likes of Mair then he makes us a better team and given how bad Mair is I'd be quite confident that's the case. Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 This lad might be ok. Better to wait and see. I hadn't heard of one or two of the signings from Holland in the eighties and they weren't exactly sh*t were they! lol Aye, fair point but lookin at JC's previous Dutch buys, it does not fill me with confidence. Of course he'll get my backing when he pulls on the red shirt, that goes without saying, but just preparing myself for another calamitous Calderwood capture. Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 seen him play have you. ALL ABOARD THE DAVE BUS Exactly what I think. (To tune of that song 'Night Train!) Blast it out on tannoy before home games! Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 I can't wait for the inevitable 'Taxi for Bus' thread the instance he puts a foot wrong Link to comment
bland_flabbis Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 At least if JDV's comments are anything to go by he's got a good set of wheels on him. Link to comment
steems Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 Never seen him play but his background does not make good reading - 29 years - made his senior debut August 2004 and canna get a game for de Grafshaap. Hope he turns into a good signing nd will be pleasently surprised if he does. Link to comment
KennyS Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 If JDV's anything like right, I'd be delighted with a slightly faster Zander. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted January 22, 2008 Share Posted January 22, 2008 can someone explain to me who jimmy could sign that would fill some of you moaning faced friggers with confidence. anybody who is worth signing is now going to england or the OF or doesnt want to come here. give the guy a chance. he may well turn out to be a gem and fit in well in the SPL Link to comment
bouleyloon Posted January 23, 2008 Share Posted January 23, 2008 At least if JDV's comments are anything to go by he's got a good set of wheels on him. it'll be a fine change to get a bus from cloggieland rather than all those van's Link to comment