Westendorfer Posted March 4, 2008 Share Posted March 4, 2008 I'm heading over to Barcelona at the end of this month - Espanyol are playing at home on March 30th so I plan to head along. Anyone have experience buying tickets for Espanyol home games? I am guessing there is no danger of it being a sell-out. Link to comment
Guest rocket_scientist Posted March 4, 2008 Share Posted March 4, 2008 I thought Espanyol were the biggest supported team in all of Spain. Best to check first. Link to comment
OddJob Posted March 4, 2008 Share Posted March 4, 2008 That should be a cracking game, saw Racing play Real Madrid and they are really good, got beat 3-1 but could so easily have won the chances they had. Casillas saved Real. Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted March 4, 2008 Share Posted March 4, 2008 I thought Espanyol were the biggest supported team in all of Spain. Best to check first. Where did you hear that? Link to comment
Guest rocket_scientist Posted March 4, 2008 Share Posted March 4, 2008 Where did you hear that?Dunno OZD. But pretty sure it was a reliable source. Couldn't be arsed looking it up, as only on for 5 mins at H/T just now but Espanyol are HUGE in Spain. Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted March 4, 2008 Share Posted March 4, 2008 Dunno OZD. But pretty sure it was a reliable source. Couldn't be arsed looking it up, as only on for 5 mins at H/T just now but Espanyol are HUGE in Spain. If by biggest supported you mean highest average attendance you are so wrong it's embarrassing (no offence) given that they are currently putting the finishing touches to a new stadium which will have a 41,000 capacity replacing the Barcelona Olympic Stadium which holds 55,926. Clearly you don't mean most successful Despite being overshadowed by FC Barcelona, they are the sixth most successful football team in Spain so can only think you were talking to an extremely deluded Espanyol fan (Guillem Balague) (spelling?) or you were told something to do with this Espanyol were the first club in Spain to be formed exclusively by Spanish fans of the game as opposed to expatriates who formed other clubs such as FC Barcelona. Unfortunately for years, for most of the Barcelonans, Espanyol stood for 'Spanish Catalonia' that is to say a kind of compliance to centralism. Thanks for your post though I've had a very interesting 20 minutes reading about them I'll quote my always reliable source for everything of Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RCD_Espanyol Link to comment
Guest rocket_scientist Posted March 4, 2008 Share Posted March 4, 2008 Thanks for your post though I've had a very interesting 20 minutes reading about them I'll quote my always reliable source for everything of Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RCD_EspanyolNae bother min. Just finished watching the turgid Celtic game and the fantastic Arsenal finish, so was going to research for you, but you beat me to it. I've remembered where I got it from when I heard I thought Espanyol were huge. See your last quote there, something to do with the history of their origins, I understood that they had tons of "ordinary fans" support throughout the country, something to do with Franco and the Civil War etc. Obviously they have no success at all to speak of, but there is apparently a big groundswell of love and loyalty to Espanyol. I've been to Barcelona a few times, and been to the south of the country, all just holidays so I have no great knowledge or affinity with the country, and the only Spanish La Liga team I've ever seen in the flesh was 2 months and 1 week short of 25 years ago, in a wet stadium in Sweden, so again, no football expertise of Spanish fitba to draw on. Didna think it was too bad advice to gie the boy when I advised to research getting tickets first, but if they're downsizing from 55 to 41,000, then perhaps the love and loyalty towards Espanyol is more historic and political than actual bums on seats. Still. They'll be sh*te compared to AFC, once we get people in charge of our club that care aboot the fitba... STAND FREE. Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted March 4, 2008 Share Posted March 4, 2008 Nae bother min. Just finished watching the turgid Celtic game and the fantastic Arsenal finish, so was going to research for you, but you beat me to it. I've remembered where I got it from when I heard I thought Espanyol were huge. See your last quote there, something to do with the history of their origins, I understood that they had tons of "ordinary fans" support throughout the country, something to do with Franco and the Civil War etc. Obviously they have no success at all to speak of, but there is apparently a big groundswell of love and loyalty to Espanyol. I've been to Barcelona a few times, and been to the south of the country, all just holidays so I have no great knowledge or affinity with the country, and the only Spanish La Liga team I've ever seen in the flesh was 2 months and 1 week short of 25 years ago, in a wet stadium in Sweden, so again, no football expertise of Spanish fitba to draw on. Didna think it was too bad advice to gie the boy when I advised to research getting tickets first, but if they're downsizing from 55 to 41,000, then perhaps the love and loyalty towards Espanyol is more historic and political than actual bums on seats. Still. They'll be sh*te compared to AFC, once we get people in charge of our club that care aboot the fitba... STAND FREE. So they're one of those "everyone's second team" teams are they? Don't like them so much anymore. Not really downsizing I don't think. Just the fact that the Olympic stadium, which they don't own, is getting a bit old, although that would be downsizing I guess. I love watching Spanish football, you rarely see a rubbish game even amongst the teams at the bottom of the league so to the guy going to the game I'd imagine you'll be in for a treat. Link to comment
dave_min Posted March 5, 2008 Share Posted March 5, 2008 You can buy tickets off Espanyol's website Link to comment
Virgin Don Posted March 7, 2008 Share Posted March 7, 2008 I'm heading over to Barcelona at the end of this month - Espanyol are playing at home on March 30th so I plan to head along. Anyone have experience buying tickets for Espanyol home games? I am guessing there is no danger of it being a sell-out. Have been across to watch Espanyol before and no problems getting tickets usually go on sale 3 days before kick-off at ticket office at ground. Some of Espanyol fans have good relationship with Dons. Sometimes Aberdeen flag in home end. Link to comment