OneZanderDiamond Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Watched the Manchester United v Portsmouth game earlier. What a game. If United had won 5-0 there couldn't have been much complaints. They were all over them. Game ended with Rio Ferdinand in goal after van der Sar had been injured and Kuszcak got himself sent off. Classic backs to the wall performance and a late counter attack to win a penalty and the game. I fancy Pompey to win the thing now. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Could be wrong but I think its got another Chelsea Boro final written on it. Link to comment
Guest GoldFinger Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 You start by saying Pompey were humped and finish by saying they'll win it. Flawless logic. Link to comment
Core Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 You start by saying Pompey were humped and finish by saying they'll win it. Flawless logic.to be fair the two aren't contradictions.I think they huv nae chunce personally. Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 i said when the draw was made that I'd a feeling Pompey could pull off an upset. If you don't believe me I said it on this thread! But I think they've a great chance to go on and wn it now. Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted March 8, 2008 Author Share Posted March 8, 2008 You start by saying Pompey were humped and finish by saying they'll win it. Flawless logic. Yes? To win a cup you need lots of luck and they had plenty today. Just feel they've got their name on it. Come on Barnsley!!! Link to comment
archiemacdougal Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Watched the Manchester United v Portsmouth game earlier. What a game. If United had won 5-0 there couldn't have been much complaints. They were all over them. Game ended with Rio Ferdinand in goal after van der Sar had been injured and Kuszcak got himself sent off. Classic backs to the wall performance and a late counter attack to win a penalty and the game. I fancy Pompey to win the thing now. They never had a serious shot on goal all game apart from the penalty. Can't see them getting the same luck when they get Chelsea, if they are to get to the final. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 1-0 Barnsley! Mon the Tykes! Link to comment
Tord31 Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 I'm loving this if the two premiership teams left get drawn against each other in the semis. If they avoid each other then it's a bit pish. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 They never had a serious shot on goal all game apart from the penalty. Can't see them getting the same luck when they get Chelsea, if they are to get to the final. yeah but they may be luckier if they get barnsley in the final..... Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Into injury time, my heart is beating like mad. Mon Barnsley get it up the English huns! Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 HAHAHAHAHA! Fantastic!!!! 1-0 full time Link to comment
starryfish Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Could be wrong but I think its got another Chelsea Boro final written on it. You did say you could be wrong....... Link to comment
Original A1 Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Great result. Hope they don't get into trouble over the pitch invasion - it looks like a great atmosphere down there. Well done The Reds! Link to comment
tutankamun Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Portsmouth V Barnsley final surely??? Link to comment
Jaws Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Portsmouth V Barnsley final surely??? How about a Barnsley Bristol Rovers final!! Link to comment
OddJob Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Well deserved win for Barnsley. As for Chelski, for all their star players and millions they certainly don't have any team spirit and were thoroughly out-muscled today. What an achievement to beat 2 of the top four teams in England. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Well deserved win for Barnsley. As for Chelski, for all their star players and millions they certainly don't have any team spirit and were thoroughly out-muscled today. What an achievement to beat 2 of the top four teams in England. "Barnsley have something money cannot buy - a soul" I checked Wikipedia and 1992 was the last FA Cup final that didn't feature Man United, Arsenal, Liverpool or Chelsea. People in England have the cheek to call Scottish football boring with the same teams winning the trophies all the time Link to comment
archiemacdougal Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 "Barnsley have something money cannot buy - a soul" I checked Wikipedia and 1992 was the last FA Cup final that didn't feature Man United, Arsenal, Liverpool or Chelsea. People in England have the cheek to call Scottish football boring with the same teams winning the trophies all the time Liverpool beat Sunderland 2-0 in 1992. 1991 was the last final outwith the big 4. Spurs beat Forest 2-1 and Gazza got carted off after 15 mins for being a bam. Link to comment
cgs1706 Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Super Kev McNaughton will have his hands on the cup. 'Mon Cardiff! Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Certainly a weekend of the underdogs, thats for sure... So, coupon the morn : CardiffBristol RoversAberdeen Just over 100/1...got to be worth a couple of quid on that? Link to comment
Guest rocket_scientist Posted March 8, 2008 Share Posted March 8, 2008 Fantastic Barnsley. Northern Soul. You can't buy team spirit. You either have it or you don't. If you don't, and you're the manager, get some. If you can't instil it, resign. If you don't know what I'm talking about Jimmy, kill yersel. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted March 9, 2008 Share Posted March 9, 2008 as a dons fan stuck in Portsmouth, the final's on my birthday - trip to wembley would be nice ! Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted March 9, 2008 Share Posted March 9, 2008 Certainly a weekend of the underdogs, thats for sure... So, coupon the morn : CardiffBristol RoversAberdeen Just over 100/1...got to be worth a couple of quid on that? You're going to be gutted if Rovers manage to win! Boro out now, 2-0 to Cardiff and by the sounds of it Cardiff deserved that victory. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted March 9, 2008 Share Posted March 9, 2008 You're going to be gutted if Rovers manage to win! Boro out now, 2-0 to Cardiff and by the sounds of it Cardiff deserved that victory. Ended up just backing the Aberdeen/Cardiff double at 35/1... More gutted we never got through to be honest, but would have been a nice wee earner too. Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted March 9, 2008 Author Share Posted March 9, 2008 I'll repeat what I said at the start of the thread. Pompey's name is on it. Looks a bit more likely now doesn't it Link to comment