freekorps Posted October 9, 2008 Share Posted October 9, 2008 to save me looking around or phoning up can anyone recommend somewhere to go to buy those "skins" that some footy players wear underneath their shirts? Was told by a ref last week that all undergarments have to be the same colour of the strip, which i hadnt heard of as an explicit rule.Black cycling shorts for dark navy shorts were no good!!! Link to comment
Westhill Red Posted October 9, 2008 Share Posted October 9, 2008 Try jjb on union st or the one down at beach Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted October 9, 2008 Share Posted October 9, 2008 to save me looking around or phoning up can anyone recommend somewhere to go to buy those "skins" that some footy players wear underneath their shirts? Was told by a ref last week that all undergarments have to be the same colour of the strip, which i hadnt heard of as an explicit rule.Black cycling shorts for dark navy shorts were no good!!! Thought this was going to be about joints, One Up had some decent big skins last time I checked btw. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted October 9, 2008 Share Posted October 9, 2008 Thought this was going to be about joints, One Up had some decent big skins last time I checked btw. Mmmkay? Link to comment
BIG_AL_1983 Posted October 10, 2008 Share Posted October 10, 2008 JJB and Sports Direct (The cheap chavvy shop owned my Mike Ashley) stock Nike compression gear... ...sizes and colour are random though Skins appear to be severely over-priced... http://www.sportsshoes.com/search/index.ph...s%20Compression EDIT: I'm speaking in general terms here... I don't live in Aberdeen Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 10, 2008 Share Posted October 10, 2008 If you can find a stockist get Canterbury of New Zealand base layer skins , Link to comment
freekorps Posted October 10, 2008 Author Share Posted October 10, 2008 JJB and Sports Direct (The cheap chavvy shop owned my Mike Ashley) stock Nike compression gear... ...sizes and colour are random though Skins appear to be severely over-priced... http://www.sportsshoes.com/search/index.ph...s%20Compression EDIT: I'm speaking in general terms here... I don't live in Aberdeen aye the equivalents will do me fine, Link to comment
robbo Posted October 10, 2008 Share Posted October 10, 2008 skins is massively overpriced. the nike stuff is good for the hot but not great for cold. same for adidas. as everyone will groan at the fact ive jumped in on this one, under armour is the way to go. Do a search on here for under armour and youll find several threads full of advice. Link to comment
K OK Posted October 10, 2008 Share Posted October 10, 2008 to save me looking around or phoning up can anyone recommend somewhere to go to buy those "skins" that some footy players wear underneath their shirts? Was told by a ref last week that all undergarments have to be the same colour of the strip, which i hadnt heard of as an explicit rule.Black cycling shorts for dark navy shorts were no good!!! This could well be true, but a guy in my team wears a white coloured undergarment in a black kit. I am also looking for a pair of those Nike football shorts, like the cycling ones, think I'll pop in town tomorrow and buy myself a pair. Link to comment
freekorps Posted October 13, 2008 Author Share Posted October 13, 2008 This could well be true, but a guy in my team wears a white coloured undergarment in a black kit. I am also looking for a pair of those Nike football shorts, like the cycling ones, think I'll pop in town tomorrow and buy myself a pair. some of our players just hid the "under-shorts" out of sight, when an opposition player went down injured we could see he did the same, a few shouts to the ref to see if he was going to be as pernickety as he was in changing rooms... alas he was not. his threats of getting folk to change and waste their own time off the pitch was not carried through. although it is the rules i was wondering how far it goes in relation to matching the colour of strips.i guess if the Ref was assessed then at least he made the effort to warn the players. http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_footb...m?curpageid=438 Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 If you can find a stockist get Canterbury of New Zealand base layer skins , Need to get myself another long sleeved base layer, the Canterbury one which served me well, about 4 years, is now lost in the amazing black hole of offshore laundry. Stick with Canterbury, or try another brand. Suggestions welcome. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 Na a fan o "undergarments", trackie bottoms, gloves etc. Get stuck in and concentrate and you winna feel the cauld. If a player is not keen on the cold he's unlikely to enjoy a good 50/50. Link to comment
robbo Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 Na a fan o "undergarments", trackie bottoms, gloves etc. Get stuck in and concentrate and you winna feel the cauld. If a player is not keen on the cold he's unlikely to enjoy a good 50/50. ill bite. why arent you a fan of underwear? it keeps you warm. its better than putting on a jumper or jacket. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 Na a fan o "undergarments", trackie bottoms, gloves etc. Get stuck in and concentrate and you winna feel the cauld. If a player is not keen on the cold he's unlikely to enjoy a good 50/50. Ha, I should maybe try that at work and forget about additional base layers to keep me warm in the cold winter Norwegian months. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 ill bite. why arent you a fan of underwear? it keeps you warm. its better than putting on a jumper or jacket. Sorry, I'll explain. I don't like to see footballers (or folk playing fitba wearing these undergarments like "skins", trackie bottoms or gloves. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 Ha, I should maybe try that at work and forget about additional base layers to keep me warm in the cold winter Norwegian months. I thought my mention of a player would make it clear I was on about fitba. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 I thought my mention of a player would make it clear I was on about fitba. Is it acceptable to wear one while working, or should I just get stuck in, if i'm cold I should just do 50 burpee jumps and 50 press up's and after that I winna be cold ? Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 Is it acceptable to wear one while working, or should I just get stuck in, if i'm cold I should just do 50 burpee jumps and 50 press up's and after that I winna be cold ? As stated I don't like to see football players in them.I thought this thread was about fitba as the initial post mentioned a ref. As for wearing at work, please yer fucking sel but I'd claim back the cost if the work dinna provide warm enough gear. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 I play fitba in the scud. With icecubes rammed up my arse. Link to comment
minijc Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 I wear the nike stuff, but only got shorts for under my thai shorts as they can reveal too much at times, wear alot of 'under armour' clothing but nevcer the base layers. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 I've used nike, adidas and under armour (the stuff with the X on it) base layers. the cold gear under armour stuff is excellent as another layer for playing footy and at work if you are outdoors. Reacts to your body a lot better than bog standard thermals, and the sweat clears quicker. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 10, 2011 Share Posted October 10, 2011 Ask yourself, would Chuck Norris wear this? Link to comment
GK55 Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Footballs gone soft! Wouldnt find me wearing that shite. Link to comment
Big Man Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 to save me looking around or phoning up can anyone recommend somewhere to go to buy those "skins" that some footy players wear underneath their shirts? Was told by a ref last week that all undergarments have to be the same colour of the strip, which i hadnt heard of as an explicit rule.Black cycling shorts for dark navy shorts were no good!!! I wear nike base layers - try them on in a shoap and then get them on the nike store UK website. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 What the hell are you lot on about? In my day, "skins" meant that one team didn't wear tops at all - the other wore bibs. Fucking undergarment wearing poofters Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 What the hell are you lot on about? In my day, "skins" meant that one team didn't wear tops at all - the other wore bibs. Fucking undergarment wearing pooftersAye but remember, back in your day folk were dying of the plague, pupils were beaten by their teachers and men would dress up as women for stage shows Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Aye but remember, back in your day folk were dying of the plague, pupils were beaten by their teachers and men would dress up as women for stage shows Have a look at the "man up" thread for my response, you tight-trousered, /-fringed little fucker Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 great scene in golden gordon, the new manager berates his players for worrying about shorts, goes mental and ends up getting arrested. i miss the smell of deep heat in the changing room, that, petrol and cut grass. "shorts don't matter, ye hear, what matters is what's inside 'em, etc..." Link to comment