tutankamun Posted December 5, 2008 Share Posted December 5, 2008 Definitely football story of the year. This team were some obscure village amateur team in the 1990's and are now top of the Bundesliga. The guy that funds them invented SAP (computer database, if you don't know what that is) and used to play for them as a kid. 1 Hoffenheim 16 11 1 4 19 342 Bayern 16 10 4 2 15 343 Berlin 15 9 3 3 4 304 Leverkusen 15 9 1 5 13 285 Hamburg 15 8 3 4 0 276 Dortmund 15 6 7 2 7 257 Bremen 15 6 5 4 11 238 Wolfsburg 15 6 5 4 10 239 Schalke 15 6 5 4 7 2310 Stuttgart 15 6 3 6 0 2111 Cologne 15 6 1 8 -6 1912 Frankfurt 15 4 4 7 -9 1613 Hanover 15 4 4 7 -11 1614 Bielefeld 15 2 6 7 -12 1215 Cottbus 15 3 3 9 -14 1216 Bochum 15 1 8 6 -6 1117 M'gladbach 15 3 2 10 -14 1118 Karlsruhe 15 3 1 11 -14 10 Edit: I think they will now be my 'German team'. Come on you Hoffenheim! Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted December 6, 2008 Share Posted December 6, 2008 Aye couldn't believe the Bundesliga table when I checked it a couple of weeks back. Although I'm sure they were well clear on points and not just top on goal difference. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted December 6, 2008 Author Share Posted December 6, 2008 Aye couldn't believe the Bundesliga table when I checked it a couple of weeks back. Although I'm sure they were well clear on points and not just top on goal difference. They got beat 2-1 today by Bayern Munich. Bayern Munich needed a last-gasp Luca Toni goal to snatch a 2-1 home win over Bundesliga leaders Hoffenheim and move level on points at the top. Toni scored from close range following a poor clearance by Andreas Ibertsberger, who laid the ball into the Italy striker's path in the final seconds of time added on."Hoffenheim is the best Bundesliga team we have played," said Bayern coach Juergen Klinsmann. "This was a hard match and it's great to have won it in the end."Champions Bayern now have 34 points and trail this season's surprise package Hoffenheim only on goal difference.Such was the interest in the match, pitting Germany's most successful team against the Bundesliga newcomers who have taken the league by storm, that it was broadcast to 168 countries. Link to comment
redtillidie Posted December 6, 2008 Share Posted December 6, 2008 Hoffenheim??? Ah though that wiz a lager! Great stuff, the beauty of the game o fitba, dreams can come true. Jist hope the owner's nae a hevvy smoker wi a beard.......... Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted December 6, 2008 Share Posted December 6, 2008 Definitely football story of the year. This team were some obscure village amateur team in the 1990's and are now top of the Bundesliga. The guy that funds them invented SAP (computer database, if you don't know what that is) and used to play for them as a kid. 1 Hoffenheim 16 11 1 4 19 342 Bayern 16 10 4 2 15 343 Berlin 15 9 3 3 4 304 Leverkusen 15 9 1 5 13 285 Hamburg 15 8 3 4 0 276 Dortmund 15 6 7 2 7 257 Bremen 15 6 5 4 11 238 Wolfsburg 15 6 5 4 10 239 Schalke 15 6 5 4 7 2310 Stuttgart 15 6 3 6 0 2111 Cologne 15 6 1 8 -6 1912 Frankfurt 15 4 4 7 -9 1613 Hanover 15 4 4 7 -11 1614 Bielefeld 15 2 6 7 -12 1215 Cottbus 15 3 3 9 -14 1216 Bochum 15 1 8 6 -6 1117 M'gladbach 15 3 2 10 -14 1118 Karlsruhe 15 3 1 11 -14 10 Edit: I think they will now be my 'German team'. Come on you Hoffenheim! Link to comment
tutankamun Posted December 6, 2008 Author Share Posted December 6, 2008 Hoffenheim??? Ah though that wiz a lager! Great stuff, the beauty of the game o fitba, dreams can come true. Jist hope the owner's nae a hevvy smoker wi a beard.......... He's German, I thought they were all like that Link to comment
tutankamun Posted December 6, 2008 Author Share Posted December 6, 2008 lighten up min. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted December 6, 2008 Share Posted December 6, 2008 lighten up min. But SAP is sh*te!! Link to comment
OneBeboMaguire Posted December 6, 2008 Share Posted December 6, 2008 Oh god its like one of those nobody teams in the La Liga topping the table, but to be true this must be a great achievement for a club of its size and stature. Keep it up! Link to comment
tutankamun Posted December 6, 2008 Author Share Posted December 6, 2008 But SAP is sh*te!! that's more like it. TBH I don't mind SAP (bit of a whiz at it). 'It's a poor workman that blames his tools' Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted December 6, 2008 Share Posted December 6, 2008 that's more like it. TBH I don't mind SAP (bit of a whiz at it). 'It's a poor workman that blames his tools' I heard B&Q were using it now... Nah, it's nae too bad, but I find it very over complicated for anything I use it for. PS - Were Hull your English team a few weeks ago? Link to comment
tutankamun Posted December 6, 2008 Author Share Posted December 6, 2008 I heard B&Q were using it now... Nah, it's nae too bad, but I find it very over complicated for anything I use it for. PS - Were Hull your English team a few weeks ago? Nah min, I'm a Spurs supporter for my sins. I can therefore never be accused of being a glory hunter. PS. I don't work for B&Q Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted December 6, 2008 Share Posted December 6, 2008 Nah min, I'm a Spurs supporter for my sins. I can therefore never be accused of being a glory hunter. PS. I don't work for B&Q Lighten up min Link to comment
tutankamun Posted December 6, 2008 Author Share Posted December 6, 2008 Lighten up min touche Link to comment
E-P-K Posted December 6, 2008 Share Posted December 6, 2008 I watched some of the Bayern - Hoffenheim game last night and they were very unlucky to lose, Very good team on the counter attack and will be interesting to see if the can keep the team together in the transfer window. They are no longer called TSG Hoffenheim , the changed it to 1899 Hoffenheim a couple of seasons ago. There own stadium is a 5000 capacity (1500 seats) , However when the got promoted to the Bundisliga last year they had to do a stadium swap and much like ICT did with AFC they are renting until they have completed the building of a new purpuse built 30,000 all seater. Hoffenheim the village has a population of 3500 people and the next large town is Sinshiem which has a lofty population of 32,000. Link to comment
MG_Don Posted December 6, 2008 Share Posted December 6, 2008 Edit: I think they will now be my 'German team'. Come on you Hoffenheim! Glory Hunter Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted December 7, 2008 Share Posted December 7, 2008 I watched some of the Bayern - Hoffenheim game last night and they were very unlucky to lose, Very good team on the counter attack and will be interesting to see if the can keep the team together in the transfer window. Saw the goals on Setanta (Jock Brown commentating WTF?) and the winning goal for Bayern was very fortunate and Hoffenheim could of won it a few minutes earlier with a great chance. You could tell how much that win meant to Bayern though, they celebrated it like they'd won a trophy. Link to comment
Guest SS RED Posted December 7, 2008 Share Posted December 7, 2008 I watched some of the Bayern - Hoffenheim game last night and they were very unlucky to lose, Very good team on the counter attack and will be interesting to see if the can keep the team together in the transfer window. They are no longer called TSG Hoffenheim , the changed it to 1899 Hoffenheim a couple of seasons ago. There own stadium is a 5000 capacity (1500 seats) , However when the got promoted to the Bundisliga last year they had to do a stadium swap and much like ICT did with AFC they are renting until they have completed the building of a new purpuse built 30,000 all seater. Hoffenheim the village has a population of 3500 people and the next large town is Sinshiem which has a lofty population of 32,000. God it really is Gretna MKII Link to comment
friedbergdvah Posted December 7, 2008 Share Posted December 7, 2008 good bbc video feature on them http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/7768679.stm Link to comment
Guest SS RED Posted December 7, 2008 Share Posted December 7, 2008 good bbc video feature on them http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/7768679.stm New stadium looks smart, good video. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted December 7, 2008 Share Posted December 7, 2008 It's not Gretna Mk II. This has been achieved over an 18yr period, with strong emphasis on youth development and the long-term stability of the Club. This is "German efficiency" at it's best. Good luck to them! Link to comment
fin32 Posted December 7, 2008 Share Posted December 7, 2008 That table also has Hertha Berlin doing well for the first time in many a year, saw them draw 0-0 with Liverpool in the summer atmosphere was brill, 1 litre beer sold as well and keep the cup!But yeah, Hoffenheim look like they could be a force in Germany for years to come and a good chance of Champs League next year, Bottom of German football- Champions League(probably) in the same amount of time it took for us to become sh*t. Link to comment