Summer Fitba?

40 members have voted

1. 1. Would you be in favour of summer football?

• Aye
    • No
    • Brown

Ah the old summer football question.

Well I'm in favour of it, defo.

Negatives

The big leagues in Europe play thorugh the winter. Russia and Scandinavia play through the summer and their teams do nae bad in Europe, 2 Russian teams won the UEFA cup in the last 3 years...so that would shut the old firm up, not that they'd be winning trophies in Europe :angry2:

And tradition, well, not really important.

Folk on holiday in summer...well, it'll only be 2 weeks or so, so you'd only miss 1 home game, big deal eh.

Positives

Nice weather (relatively!!) - could push crowds up.

No postponements

Negatives aren't important ones.

Imagine an away day in Edinburgh, lovely sunshine, abck up the road and it's still light, would just be so much better as opposed to freezing your balls off in the wind and rain.

Ah the old summer football question.

Well I'm in favour of it, defo.

Negatives

The big leagues in Europe play thorugh the winter. Russia and Scandinavia play through the summer and their teams do nae bad in Europe, 2 Russian teams won the UEFA cup in the last 3 years...so that would shut the old firm up, not that they'd be winning trophies in Europe :angry2:

And tradition, well, not really important.

Folk on holiday in summer...well, it'll only be 2 weeks or so, so you'd only miss 1 home game, big deal eh.

Positives

Nice weather (relatively!!) - could push crowds up.

No postponements

Negatives aren't important ones.

Imagine an away day in Edinburgh, lovely sunshine, abck up the road and it's still light, would just be so much better as opposed to freezing your balls off in the wind and rain.

Am with you there. Weather is smashin down there in the summer!

I voted yes as i think it would be a good idea, But in theory i don't think it can or will work. This year we had the snow early end of October, it's been a while since we had that. And can anyone tell me when it will stop snowing or pitches being frozen? i think the answer to that is a no. Its well known that we can have snow up until April and even later into may. So when do we have a 3 week shut down? When it's at it's worst..? When is that exactly..? Good idea but can't see it working.

When?

Nae arguing, but I can't remember that!

When?

Nae arguing, but I can't remember that!

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/weat...icle3775931.ece

I can remember snow in April May, Just can't remember the year, That's by and by. The article above is all i could find, Except for London but we are talking about up here. Maybe anyone that's a bit older than me can come up with the year tommy maybe i don't know i just remember that it has.

See Gordon Smith opening his stupid gob again on this issue and wants to solve the kind of problems that happened at Rugby Park and Fir Park last weekend. His solution is to restart the winter break........in January!!

Might be a good idea then if you think about it. Barring the season ticket holders the people that just pay as and when may not have the money after the Xmas new year, they may appreciate a little brake then?

Point being it wouldn't have stopped last weeks games being frozen off.

As a fan, I'd definitely be up for it. Not sure if the wee, part-time teams would like to give up their summer holidays though. Think the ideal way to go would be to stop with the ridiculously intensive fixture list at Christmas. In addition to that, I'd work some free Saturdays into the latter half of the season for replays. Definitely no winter mid-season break though! Can't understand why people who have spent their entire lives in this country think they can predict when the weather will be pish?!

not up for it

too much to do in summer, too many family commitments holidays days out etc (none are remotely interested in football)

part of the fun is seeing different weather conditions windy days blowing the ball back to the keeper, the wind swirling around the dick donald

The pass that stops dead in a puddle one time and flys 40 yards accros the surface next

All these make football fun

Then there are the questions

Why does considine wear a long sleeved undershirt with a short sleeved top?

why do players wear gloves and short sleeve tops

how will jonny foreigner cope with playing at caley on a cold winters midweek game in february

Then the banter

calling an opposition player a "soft southern barsteward" cos he is wearing gloves while you wear 3 shirts 2 jumpers two jackets your entire collection of scalfs and drinking enough bovril to float a battleship

Football gives you something to look forward to in the winter, there are no family commitments the pitch and weather can be a great "leveller" and we would never have got to through snowball at Thompson and seen how much of a cry baby footballer are - even now I can see his "girly pose" as snowball rained down

Oh and some of the worst weather for a match this year was Man U slap bang in the middle of summer

Just another thought

Summer football wont all be played in June July and August

The season rune from beginning of August to end of May A total of 10 months

now we are in december with 2 cancellations due to weather so december is close season then?, but hang on the weather for St Mirren was pish as well which was November so the close season is November and December with the season starting in January.

Is January Feb and March that much better? winter here lasts a good 5 months so whats the point in changing the footie calendar cos as far as i can see we will have to play at least 3 months in pish weather and will have to start the season and finish the season in pish weather. I quite like it starting and ending in good (ish) weather

could you imagine winters withoot fitba though?, winters are depressing enough as it is withoot a weekly fix of world class, entertaining fitba to look forward too

yeah thats what i was thinkin, WTF would you do on boxing day without football to watch :)

Aye, winter is for fitba. Summer is for golf (and loads of other sports), and there are tons of other distractions in summer, kids things, holidays, getting pissed at barbeques, etc that could just as likely take crowds down as up. Admittedly days like last Saturday have nothing but a detrimental effect on crowd numbers, but there are many more factors in summer. Let's face it, there's f**k all to do in winter.

Also, as has been said above, the EPL won't be changing, so over the winter, their over-hyped, massively marketed brand of dull football would creep in even more than it does now, risking even more local fans following English football to the detriment of the long term good of Scottish football.

Countering that however is that during summer, our league would spend large amounts of the season not clashing with English fixtures, so the TV money should go up, as should coverage UK wide in general, and fans would be more likely to tune in at those times than when a big English game was on.

Not sure which side of those two arguments actually comes out stronger for the SPL?

Anyway, I'm a huge NO.