s1dnk Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 I was in All Saints the other day putting back a belt I had bought to now ex for Christmas. I couldn't get my money back, instead I was given vouchers. Anyway I had a look about and I was quite taken by this brown leather jacket. I've never even thought of buying a leather jacket before, always thought of David Brent from the Office when I saw someone in one. Is it acceptable to own and wear a brown leather jacket or should I just forget the idea? Link to comment
Slim Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 Depends on the style, but yeah, nothing wrong with it. Link to comment
Guest SS RED Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 I was in All Saints the other day putting back a belt I had bought to now ex for Christmas. I couldn't get my money back, instead I was given vouchers. Anyway I had a look about and I was quite taken by this brown leather jacket. I've never even thought of buying a leather jacket before, always thought of David Brent from the Office when I saw someone in one. Is it acceptable to own and wear a brown leather jacket or should I just forget the idea? FORGET ABOUT IT! Link to comment
roccovellhung Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 I used to own a 2nd hand brown leather jacket many moons ago which was cool (I thought so onyway), it kinda looked like it came straight out of a starskey and hutch episode..... Onyway to summarise, if it it is lightly tanned, 3/4 length with big lapels I say yes - if not I say no Link to comment
friedbergdvah Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 could work...take a mate with you to have a look first though Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 I was in All Saints the other day putting back a belt I had bought to now ex for Christmas. I couldn't get my money back, instead I was given vouchers. Anyway I had a look about and I was quite taken by this brown leather jacket. I've never even thought of buying a leather jacket before, always thought of David Brent from the Office when I saw someone in one. Is it acceptable to own and wear a brown leather jacket or should I just forget the idea? What sort of style is it? Is it as you say, a David Brent 'Sergio Giorgini' effort? Was thinking of getting one myself, Superdry are doing a well smart black or brown leather jacket just now, however the styling isn't that old school style, so doesn't look dodgy! Also a tad worrying you're looking for fashion advice on here Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 What sort of style is it? Is it as you say, a David Brent 'Sergio Giorgini' effort? Was thinking of getting one myself, Superdry are doing a well smart black or brown leather jacket just now, however the styling isn't that old school style, so doesn't look dodgy! Also a tad worrying you're looking for fashion advice on here I bought a dark brown Oliver Sweeney the other day. Looks not bad. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted December 19, 2008 Author Share Posted December 19, 2008 What sort of style is it? Is it as you say, a David Brent 'Sergio Giorgini' effort? Was thinking of getting one myself, Superdry are doing a well smart black or brown leather jacket just now, however the styling isn't that old school style, so doesn't look dodgy! Also a tad worrying you're looking for fashion advice on here Well I value the opinion of a dandy over anyone else so thought I'd get some honest opinions on here. It's slightly David Brent looking now I think of it, might go for the Superdry one instead. I had been looking at it but I haven't seen it in the shops so would be a bit of a gamble buying online just in case it didn't fit. Have you seen it anywhere in Aberdeen? Link to comment
fatshaft Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 I was in All Saints the other day putting back a belt I had bought to now ex for Christmas. I couldn't get my money back, instead I was given vouchers. Anyway I had a look about and I was quite taken by this brown leather jacket. I've never even thought of buying a leather jacket before, always thought of David Brent from the Office when I saw someone in one. Is it acceptable to own and wear a brown leather jacket or should I just forget the idea?I've got one, take that in whatever way you want Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 Well I value the opinion of a dandy over anyone else so thought I'd get some honest opinions on here. It's slightly David Brent looking now I think of it, might go for the Superdry one instead. I had been looking at it but I haven't seen it in the shops so would be a bit of a gamble buying online just in case it didn't fit. Have you seen it anywhere in Aberdeen? I'm in Glasgow mate and we have a couple of Superdry stores down here where I've seen it. It's also in a shop called 'Bank' (which is a chain), is there one of them in Aberdeen? If you do decide to buy it online, be careful. Superdry stuff in generally pretty small fitting, I'm a large in most things, but need an XL in SD gear. So ideally, you'd want to buy it in person as the Link to comment
K OK Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 Arkclothing.com has some nice Superdry jackets. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 I had one, 3/4 length but left it in the pub. Link to comment
Quagmire Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 I've got a smart, hip length, granda collar dark brown one that i got in the states. Surely if you try it on and you think it looks smart you should buy it? I done the same thing, bought a jacket from there, didn't look right and ended up getting a Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted December 19, 2008 Site Sponsor Share Posted December 19, 2008 I bought a dark brown Oliver Sweeney the other day. Looks not bad. Were you on your Todd? Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted December 19, 2008 Site Sponsor Share Posted December 19, 2008 I had one, 3/4 length but left it in the pub deliberately Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 Were you on your Todd? Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 i have the same issue with brown shoes....i want to wear them but im not sure..... Link to comment
ferlaytio Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 Was thinking of getting one myself, Superdry are doing a well smart black or brown leather jacket just now, however the styling isn't that old school style, so doesn't look dodgy! I have the Superdry leather jacket in black. I really like it except half of Aberdeen have it. When i first got it you could go into town and no one else would have it on, nowadays half the guys in a bar/club have it! Still a nice jacket though. I just bought this quality leather jacket today to be an individual again but got the last size L- only Smalls left: New Leather These Penguin ones are nice too: Brown Black www.asos.com have the Superdry one in a few colours Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 I'm a big fan of the "Members Only" 70's racer-style leather jackets... Really hard to track them down in the UK sadly... and they always cost a fortune! I'm not sure on sizing either, I'd need to try one on before spending a couple of hundred quid, ordering one from the internet. Can anyone tip me off? If there is a shop in London that stocks these type of jackets then I'd be willing to travel down there to pick one up... I just need to know exactly where! Here is a second hand on eBay:http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MEMBERS-ONLY-LEATHER...A1%7C240%3A1318 I've also quite liked the look of a few leather jackets I've seen in G-Star too! Really nice fit as well... the only problem is that they all have "G-STAR RAW" or something like that, written or stitched into the jacket in massive lettering. I figure I'm too old to walk around like a mobile sandwich board these days! Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 Acceptable if you've ever served in the Royal Air Force. Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 I believe in you, Milltertime. Go forth and succeed! Link to comment
Slim Posted December 19, 2008 Share Posted December 19, 2008 Isn't All Saints just a shop that sells Russell Brand fancy dress outfits for absolute C U Next Tuesdays? Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted December 20, 2008 Share Posted December 20, 2008 i love that jacket actually and really want it, just a bit apprehensive about buying online without trying it on, size wise id normally get a large, but im SURE im a 42 chest which is xxl according to cult.co.uk where i seen it!? anyone got one to say if sizes are small made? Get along to Braehead and you can get it in Bank (which is just on the right hand side as you walk in the main entrance) or the Superdry store, which is on the same floor, just along to the left as you walk in. It's actually reasonably big sized for SD gear, an XL will probably do ya. If you get the last brown XL, I'm after ya though! Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted December 20, 2008 Share Posted December 20, 2008 cheers big ears haha you after it an all in that size aye? some people are selling it apparently brand new on ebay... either way i need to try it on anyways Yeah, but prob buy it in January sometime. Defo better to try it on, as it's a pain in the arse sending it back etc if it doesn't fit. Also SD stuff, like G-Star, is a bit weird with sizing, so head along to Braehead and check it out in person. Edit: I thought you were well off ebay just now?!? Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted December 20, 2008 Share Posted December 20, 2008 funnily enough im after one of these an all my first leather jacket, dum dum dum dum!! was not impressed really by river island or next's collection! boo You can't get a leather jacket from that sort of place. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted December 21, 2008 Share Posted December 21, 2008 how!? A leather jacket has a sort of timeless quality. You cannae buy that in Concept Man. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted December 21, 2008 Share Posted December 21, 2008 well, going be the selection they had ill need to agree with you i do love that brown one, im gonna nip along on monday night i think to have a wee look! sorta thing you can wear to work as well as goin oot in or more a "goin oot" jacket? It can be both IMO. This thread has me hankering over a new leather jacket. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted December 21, 2008 Author Share Posted December 21, 2008 Yeah, but prob buy it in January sometime. Defo better to try it on, as it's a pain in the arse sending it back etc if it doesn't fit. Also SD stuff, like G-Star, is a bit weird with sizing, so head along to Braehead and check it out in person. Edit: I thought you were well off ebay just now?!? Well I just ordered a brown XL off the Asos website, Link to comment
centraldon Posted December 21, 2008 Share Posted December 21, 2008 Right. I'm gonng get a brown leather jacket. Been weighing up my options for a xmas present and I'm sold. Ok. Where do I get one like Steve McQueen's? Happy to go through to Glasgow if needs be. Link to comment