Swimming Pools

Giblets

Did you use them?

What about Kincorth and Linksfield pools, are they still open?

Whether I used them or not is beside the point. Local gouvernment have a responsibility to provide facilities for the council tax payers.

With all we hear about rising levels of obesity, Scotlands track record on heart disease and general poor health, I am of the opinion that such facilities should be made available, regardless of whether they are loss making entities or not. To limit such resources will only added to these problems and limit the availability for future generations further escaliting the problem.

TBH, I don't know how many pools are still open in Aberdeen but the fact someone is asking if there are any still open speaks volumes.

i genuinely wouldnt know where to go in aberdeen for a swim anymore. i always used to go to the bon accord baths, the beach leisure centre or at a push, hazelhead.

it is a disgrace that the council let things get into the state they are now.

it now means that if you want to do any sort of physical activity, you have to pay over the odds to go to specialist outlets. Remind me what they are all paid mega bucks to do again...

Whether I used them or not is beside the point. Local gouvernment have a responsibility to provide facilities for the council tax payers.

With all we hear about rising levels of obesity, Scotlands track record on heart disease and general poor health, I am of the opinion that such facilities should be made available, regardless of whether they are loss making entities or not. To limit such resources will only added to these problems and limit the availability for future generations further escaliting the problem.

TBH, I don't know how many pools are still open in Aberdeen but the fact someone is asking if there are any still open speaks volumes.

cant expect them to keep them open when hardly anyone was using them. Instead they can use the money on somethig that will benefit more of the public.

• 5 years later...

An Aberdeen businessman has said Bon Accord baths could reopen, run by a charity trust.

Local pub owner Craig Adams started the campaign to get the facilities near the centre of Aberdeen back in use.
A previous plan to turn the disused pool into an arts centre failed when the proposed sale of the B-listed fell through.
Mr Adams said he has strong backing from the public for the baths to reopen.
The charity trust started by Mr Adams allows members of the public to contribute and submit ideas through social media.
He said: "Ideally the council should be paying for this facility by themselves but if they can't let's do it by ourselves.
"There's been hundreds of messages posted on the page. The public's opinion seems to be very much in favour of reopening the pool."
Commenting on suggestions that it could be turned into an art centre, he added: "Everything's changed. People can't afford to use private gyms anymore, they need public amenities like this."

It would be ideal for me as I bide nae far awa but it would have to get a wee bit of a do up first. I think that's what's stopping the cooncil re-opening it. Looks like shite to me.

Every building up there is looking shite just now. Seen the old ODonahughes and Hard Rock? Looks like fucking Detroit. (No offence Kelt)

Facebook is full of those cunts who start campaigning about some facility that they "used to use" but don't any more, but are outraged when they found at that it was closing.

If a place is not being used by the public then i'd rather it was closed. No point wasting cash on keeping places open that nae cunt wants to go to.

Used to love Bon-Accord pool. Was too young (gutless) to try the top board. Someone posted a pic of it recently. Nice piece of architecture and would be nice to see it re-open. As has been discussed, people have to use it if available.

Always thought Hazelhead was a bit manky.

Facilities currently being built next o the Sports Village will no doubt be top class. Still quite a good few council pools and council have got membership deals where you can use a number of the facilities at a very reasonable price.

Sure I heard the council or someone else are away to start doing something with the Bon Accord Baths. Anyone hear about that?? Used to go when I was a kid with a friend at the time who would jump off the top deck no bother, thought he was an absolute nutter at the time as highest I ever got was 3rd deck. Would be interesting to see how high they were as things look bigger when you're a kid.

If you've never done the top platform in Bon Accord baths you've never lived.

Brilliant pool.

I went to the big pool in Wigan to sober up for a wedding we had all been down for. Before we were allowed to whing oorsels off the platform, the gadge wanted to see our technique off the low springboard first. My co-ordination was out a fraction and I left the board at the low point of the approach (spring) resulting in me, ripping a toenail clean off, roots anna and as I got fucked oot for severe hemorrhaging, the pain was memorable but not as painful as it was later on, wearing fucking brogues.

You had to wear brogues to go off the top platform.

Why?