NorthernLights24 Posted April 1, 2009 Share Posted April 1, 2009 I knew the likes of Argentina struggle playing at high altitudes but damn, that is a hell of a thrashing. Wonder how much longer Maradona will last. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted April 1, 2009 Share Posted April 1, 2009 I knew the likes of Argentina struggle playing at high altitudes but damn, that is a hell of a thrashing. Wonder how much longer Maradona will last. EVERYONE struggles to play at high altitudes. Bolivia regularly beat Brazil when they (are allowed) to play in La Paz. It is a good hiding but I fancied Bolivia to win that game. Maradona's a figure head anyway, he won't be sacked. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted April 2, 2009 Share Posted April 2, 2009 I knew the likes of Argentina struggle playing at high altitudes but damn, that is a hell of a thrashing. Wonder how much longer Maradona will last.B@stard. I was looking forward to watching this later on and you ruined it for me. I'm sulking. NLMG. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted April 2, 2009 Share Posted April 2, 2009 B@stard. I was looking forward to watching this later on and you ruined it for me. I'm sulking. NLMG. yeah I was wanting to watch it too but after today's events can't get upset about being told the score before watching a football match. The Argies won 3-0 at home v Bolivia. It's obvious the altitude has a major effect on performance. Bolivia play football at the highest altitude of all countries (I think La Paz is the highest capital city in the world). Gasping for breath Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted April 2, 2009 Share Posted April 2, 2009 yeah I was wanting to watch it too but after today's events can't get upset about being told the score before watching a football match. The Argies won 3-0 at home v Bolivia. It's obvious the altitude has a major effect on performance. Bolivia play football at the highest altitude of all countries (I think La Paz is the highest capital city in the world). Gasping for breath The game was on live on Sky at my mates house. Kinda reminded me of Mexico 86. Similar video quality. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted April 2, 2009 Share Posted April 2, 2009 The game was on live on Sky at my mates house. Kinda reminded me of Mexico 86. Similar video quality. It wasn't 'live' on Sky hence why me and coopy100 were nae happy when NorthernLights24 announced the score. Although to be fair to the lad he probably wouldn't have posted if it hadn't been so emphatic! Link to comment
tutankamun Posted April 2, 2009 Share Posted April 2, 2009 The game was on live on Sky at my mates house. Kinda reminded me of Mexico 86. Similar video quality. Mexico 86, best World Cup EVER! Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted April 2, 2009 Share Posted April 2, 2009 Mexico 86, best World Cup EVER! Depends how old you are. Mexico 1970 for me. Link to comment
roccovellhung Posted April 2, 2009 Share Posted April 2, 2009 Mexico 86, best World Cup EVER! Yip, t'was a corker - was only 14 at the time so was probably the first WC I was really interested in The aztec stadium...... thon wee mexican mascot with the big hat.... plus Maradonna and the hand of god Link to comment
E-P-K Posted April 2, 2009 Share Posted April 2, 2009 Seen the extended highlights. Could have been 10 (ten) Woefull defending and their worst result in 55 years. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted April 2, 2009 Share Posted April 2, 2009 only game that screwed my coupon smart! Link to comment