tutankamun

To quote the great man,

There's a club, if you'd like to go

You could meet somebody who really loves you

So you go, and you stand on your own

And you leave on your own

And you go home, and you cry

And you want to die

Says alot to me about my life(in my younger days)

Turning 50 and wonderfully contemptfull as ever :laughing:

Says alot to me about my life(in my younger days)

that's just it. anyone who was a teenager growing up listening to The Smiths will understand his appeal. The Smiths really hit a chord with that teenage angst thing.

For me it's between Moz and Dylan as to the greatest lyricist of all time.

My personal favourite:

Learn to love me

And assemble the ways

Now, today, tomorrow, and always

My only weakness is a listed crime

But last night the plans of a future war

Was all I saw on Channel Four

Shoplifters of the world

Unite and take over

Shoplifters of the world

Hand it over, Hand it over, Hand it over

A heartless hand on my shoulder

A push - and it's over

Alabaster crashes down

(Six months is a long time)

Tried living in the real world

Instead of a shell

But before I began ...

I was bored before I even began

Im only 28 myself but discovered The Smiths (and to a much larger scale Joy Division) in my early teens, and the lyrics struck me instantly, very realist, rye(spelling?), like you say the mans one of the best of all time, great song you quoted there but another i love also is...............

Good times for a change

see, the luck I've had

can make a good man

turn bad

So please please please

let me, let me, let me

let me get what I want

this time

Haven't had a dream in a long time

see, the life I've had

can make a good man bad

So for once in my life

let me get what I want

Lord knows it would be the first time

Again something most can relate to

:(

Good choice, actually I think that's my favourite (not easy picking a favourite!). It's definitely gonna be my funeral song.

Dont get me started on that i have so many funeral songs,

so many good songs from Mr Morrissey though, i enjoy his solo years to,

But going back to Please please, its such a selfish song, thats why we can all relate to it i think.......

Very true my friend, very true

Surprised there isnt more on here into The Smiths/Morrissey :(

there is a few, I know BC is partial to a bit of The Smiths.

I've actually met the great man and got his autograph. Bumped into him outside the Capitol in 1992 on the 'Kill Uncle' tour.

I f**king (Viva)hate you now, l would love to meet him, though I would imagine he hates meeting people :(

wouldn't say that he hates meeting people, he loves his fans after all. He was a bit awkward though, just like you'd expect him to be.

unusual chap to say the least.

there is a few, I know BC is partial to a bit of The Smiths.

I've actually met the great man and got his autograph. Bumped into him outside the Capitol in 1992 on the 'Kill Uncle' tour.

I am indeed. It's very strange to think that Mozzer is about the same age as Tommy and RTYD.

Trying to think of a good lyric...

"Panic on the streets of Dundee". :crossfingers:

His best solo effort by far and a very beautiful song:

Trudging slowly over wet sand

Back to the bench where your clothes were stolen

This is the coastal town

That they forgot to close down

Armageddon - come Armageddon!

Come, Armageddon! Come!

Everyday is like Sunday

Everyday is silent and grey

Hide on the promenade

Etch a postcard :

"How I Dearly Wish I Was Not Here"

In the seaside town

...that they forgot to bomb

Come, Come, Come - nuclear bomb

Everyday is like Sunday

Trudging back over pebbles and sand

And a strange dust lands on your hands

(And on your face...)

(On your face ...)

Everyday is like Sunday

"Win Yourself A Cheap Tray"

Share some greased tea with me

:unsure:

Good choice, actually I think that's my favourite (not easy picking a favourite!). It's definitely gonna be my funeral song.

Funeral song?

Depends on the method. Burial wid hiv to be "Going Underground"

ooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrr

I Know It's Over "Mother, I can feel, the soil falling over my head...". Michty.

Cremation I'd ging for "Burn Baby Burn" by Ash. :thumbs:

I am indeed. It's very strange to think that Mozzer is about the same age as Tommy and RTYD.

Trying to think of a good lyric...

"Panic on the streets of Dundee". :hysterical:

Hemmin. Panic on the streets of Carlisle...Dublin, Dundee, Humberside. ;) Er...

I suppose that still means there wis panic on the streets o' Dundee richt enough.

I'm nae a freak or onyhing, but "Suffer Little Children" was one o' my favourites.

Canna begin to think why.

Maybe it wis jist such a fcking haunting fcker of a tune.

• 4 years later...

Eating meat is not murder, it's much worse than that, according to the celebrated miserablist and former Smiths singer Morrissey.

"I see no difference between eating animals and paedophilia," he said. "They are both rape, violence, murder. If I'm introduced to anyone who eats beings, I walk away."
While devout Morrissey fans may regard his every word as divine writ – including his recent monumental autobiography which he insisted on being published in the Penguin Classics series – he pushed them to the limit in his latest utterances.
"Imagine, for example, if you were in a nightclub and someone said to you: 'Hello, I enjoy bloodshed, throat-slitting and the destruction of life,' well, I doubt if you'd want to exchange phone numbers," he said.
The insights were shared in a Q&A session on his fan website, True to You. Asked about his proudest achievement, he said it was persuading many people to stop eating meat. "If you believe in the abattoir then you would support Auschwitz. There's no difference."
But he wasn't done: "If Jamie 'Orrible is so certain that flesh-food is tasty then why doesn't he stick one of his children in a microwave?" he asked. And of Cilla Black preparing a leg of lamb recently on television: "Since a lamb is a baby, I wondered what kind of mind Cilla Black could possibly have that would convince her that eating a baby is OK?"
His argument failed to convince some. "This isn't in any way intended to cause offence to you or any other Morrissey enthusiasts, but he really does need a good shoeing sometimes," Dan Layton commented on the Gigwise website, one of many which took up the subject.
Morrissey also threatened to "slip into permanent unconsciousness" if any journalist ever asked him again about the Smiths.
Mark Fairley suggested: "The sooner someone asks him about the Smiths, the better …"