Scarface Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 http://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/Article.aspx/1247266 Sir Ian Wood Link to comment
Slim Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Sounds good but it'll never happen, and if it costs Link to comment
altogi Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 In November last year, Sir Ian pledged Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Think this will be a nice place for junkies, alkies and beggars to hang out Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Wish this guy was so keen to invest Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Wish this guy was so keen to invest Link to comment
Scarface Posted June 5, 2009 Author Share Posted June 5, 2009 It a shame other's didnt take head and follow by spending some of there money that they will never need as much of and perhaps they could all do with financially heloing out the local football club while they are at it. Agreed. The Woods' and Milnes' of this world have become absurdly rich largely by raping the North East of its natural resources. I have no major problem with them doing this as long as they give something back by being philanthropic every once in a while. They can't take it with them. Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted June 5, 2009 Admin Share Posted June 5, 2009 The images in the paper are pish. So i found the source ones. Link to comment
Maniac Cop Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Does anyone really believe this will happen? Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted June 5, 2009 Admin Share Posted June 5, 2009 Does anyone really believe this will happen? No. But look at the pretty pictures! Link to comment
Mouse Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Looks cool. At the same time it would be a shame to loose the original Union Terrace Gardens Link to comment
Sonic Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 This project will benefit the people of the city. If he gives Link to comment
Aiberdeen_Loon Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Dont like the plans. looks like a skaters paradise. and a junkie beggin spot. Some outside cafes and some restaurants would be ideal not just paving, glass dome things and trees. Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Looks cool. At the same time it would be a shame to loose the original Union Terrace Gardens Couldn't they just do something more appealing with the gardens, rather than filling it in. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Couldn't they just do something more appealing with the gardens, rather than filling it in.The problem witht he gardens is that due to it being sunken in at night it is an absolute haven for scum. Think half the idea of filling it in is that it would be easier to keep an eye on from the street level. Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 The problem witht he gardens is that due to it being sunken in at night it is an absolute haven for scum. Think half the idea of filling it in is that it would be easier to keep an eye on from the street level. Seems a Hell of a price to keep an eye on scum. It could be beautifully lit up at night, and have a complete re-make with fountains and whatever, plus decent gates and CCTV etc. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Seems a Hell of a price to keep an eye on scum. It could be beautifully lit up at night, and have a complete re-make with fountains and whatever, plus decent gates and CCTV etc.Indeed it is. There was plans I believe for some form of remake of the gardens as is that utilised the alcoves for some form of arts centre and remoddeling the whole area. Then Mr Wood swooped in like some sort o superhero with his plans and putting the original ones right up the swanny. Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 Indeed it is. There was plans I believe for some form of remake of the gardens as is that utilised the alcoves for some form of arts centre and remoddeling the whole area. Then Mr Wood swooped in like some sort o superhero with his plans and putting the original ones right up the swanny. I just think the Gardens are part of Aberdeen's beauty; instead of filling them in, surely they could be really turned into something special, and people could be encouraged to make more use of it. It wouldn't cost anything near those mega-millions. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 I just think the Gardens are part of Aberdeen's beauty; instead of filling them in, surely they could be really turned into something special, and people could be encouraged to make more use of it. It wouldn't cost anything near those mega-millions.This is it. Peacock visual arts: And a wee Linky aboot it Link to comment
rgudon Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 WTF do we need an arts centre for? is their ques out the door for art galleries in aberdeen that im not aware of? Link to comment
altogi Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 WTF do we need an arts centre for? is their ques out the door for art galleries in aberdeen that im not aware of? You would be surprised how many people actually go to the Art Theater and we have grays school of art as well so quite a few. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 This is it. Peacock visual arts: And a wee Linky aboot itF%ckin eyesore Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 5, 2009 Share Posted June 5, 2009 I realise the cost may be an issue but I am all for this 'central square' idea. I personally have enjoyed the 'Terrace Gardens' many times over the years but it's still an underused space imo. It's only ever used in the Summer and even then, because it's a park, it has to be closed at night. Plus I think Aberdeen could do with a proper centre, something it's never had (not that I remember anyway). The plans issued today looked better than I imagined, at least they are keeping some grass area and the development will be on different levels. Initially I thought they were planning just to fill the gardens in with concrete and have a flat 'tree-less' space. Personally I think this could really revitalise the city centre like nothing else before and coupled with the new 'Union Square' down by the train station Aberdeen city centre could finally become something more than just one long road. Well, at least ever since they blocked off George Street with that monstrosity of a building, the Bon-Accord Centre (RIP the Rubber Shop). Whether it comes to fruition or not, I applaud Mr Wood for having this idea and also being willing to support it financially. Aberdeen needs more forward thinking like this. Link to comment
Suspect Device Posted June 6, 2009 Share Posted June 6, 2009 Where are the gun towers to keep the junkies away? Link to comment
Scarface Posted June 6, 2009 Author Share Posted June 6, 2009 I just think the Gardens are part of Aberdeen's beauty; instead of filling them in, surely they could be really turned into something special, and people could be encouraged to make more use of it. It wouldn't cost anything near those mega-millions. Totally agree. Link to comment
Il Duce Posted June 6, 2009 Share Posted June 6, 2009 Loudspeakers should be installed playing the champions league theme tune on a continuous loop. Just to add a bit of culture. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 http://m.stv.tv/news/scotland/north/275128-union-terrace-gardens-plans-unveiled-to-the-public/I see the 6 short listed plans have been made public. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 http://m.stv.tv/news/scotland/north/275128-union-terrace-gardens-plans-unveiled-to-the-public/I see the 6 short listed plans have been made public. My three year old could draw a better plan. Here is the link for non mobile users. My link Link to comment