Uefa Travel

Just a word of warning - Iceland is VERY VERY expensive! We were there last year. Pretty though, and you'll be able to sing "The Northern Lights of Old Reykjavik". I liked the place, but haven't been to the Czech Republic, so from that point of view, I'd be happy to head there...

Off to read a bit more and find Dynamo some water wings!

:dontknow:

Just a word of warning - Iceland is VERY VERY expensive! We were there last year. Pretty though, and you'll be able to sing "The Northern Lights of Old Rekjavik". I liked the place, but haven't been to the Czech Republic, so from that point of view, I'd be happy to head there...

How expensive is very expensive?

How much is a pint, meal etc?

Just a word of warning - Iceland is VERY VERY expensive! We were there last year. Pretty though, and you'll be able to sing "The Northern Lights of Old Rekjavik". I liked the place, but haven't been to the Czech Republic, so from that point of view, I'd be happy to head there...

How expensive is very expensive?

How much is a pint, meal etc?

Due to the credit crunch and every bank in iceland collapsing it has become cheap. I posted an article on the europa league thread in the afc and the spl section. You are currentley something like 366 Ikr to 1 pound. Means a pint of lager etc is now about the same price if not cheaper over there than it is here according to the prices that I found on the internet. These ranged from 500 to 700 Ikr on average apparentley.

EDIT: THis is just from digging about on the net have not actually been.

Due to the credit crunch and every bank in iceland collapsing it has become cheap. I posted an article on the europa league thread in the afc and the spl section. You are currentley something like 366 Ikr to 1 pound. Means a pint of lager etc is now about the same price if not cheaper over there than it is here according to the prices that I found on the internet. These ranged from 500 to 700 Ikr on average apparentley.

Makes Iceland seem more appealing. How much are flights usually out there?

I'll have to change that to "WAS" very very expensive then.

But I bet it's still fairly pricey for alcohol as these remoter places tend to have to ship stuff like that in.

Still, if you're chartering a boat, I'd better get you triple strength water wings if you're bringing the booze.

Makes Iceland seem more appealing. How much are flights usually out there?

As I said in the edit (damn you for being so fast RUL) this is just from doing some digging about on the net not actually having been. If the prices quoted on the net are to be believed 500 Ikr is about average for a pint and you are getting 366Ikr to the pound it'll be cheap. Also in the article I posted and read it said that the country is no longer allowing the locals to change currency from Ikr to other currencies. Thats how sh*t their economy is. So I have no idea how much the flights are. Never used to be too expensive but if we get them you can be sure the price will rocket.

Guest LondonScottish

EDIT: THis is just from digging about on the net have not actually been.

I really don't think it's "very cheap", even now. I've always been hammered every time I've been there in the hotels around

Guest LondonScottish
As I said in the edit (damn you for being so fast RUL) this is just from doing some digging about on the net not actually having been. If the prices quoted on the net are to be believed 500 Ikr is about average for a pint and you are getting 366Ikr to the pound it'll be cheap. Also in the article I posted and read it said that the country is no longer allowing the locals to change currency from Ikr to other currencies. Thats how sh*t their economy is. So I have no idea how much the flights are. Never used to be too expensive but if we get them you can be sure the price will rocket.

Flights have always been pricey because Iceland Air had the monopoly. I've paid as much as

Guest LondonScottish
That's because you are probably staying in the Hilton or or whatever there top of the range hotels are called.

Usually stay in the Radisson; quite nice, but Iceland hotels aren't anything special. Theres plenty range to choose from maybe starting around

Guest LondonScottish
My mums mate flew there for aboot 150 sheet return a couple of years ago. Disnae seem at pricey. Nae sure if it was a special deal though.

Weekend or christmas are always toppy, and you can bet you're bottom dollar that the airlines will know theres a football match on and will re-jig their prices accordingly.

Just have to wait and see, might not even be there yet.