Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted January 13, 2011 Share Posted January 13, 2011 I'm starting the Fishing thread, whether it be fly, coarse or spinning. Discuss tackle, tactic's and catches here. Also suggest Lochs, river beats and fisheries here. I got a Sharpes of Aberdeen rod for my birthday after i liked my dads one. Gordon 2 Trout- 9'7'' 7- wt. I have been fishing for almost a year now. I went out a few time with my Dad and really enjoyed it. I usually fish at the fisheries like Loch Insch, Artloch, etc. Haven't been out for a couple of months now though. I might get a permit for some of the rivers this year since the river season starts soon. Tight lines. Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted January 13, 2011 Share Posted January 13, 2011 I'm starting the Fishing thread, whether it be fly, coarse or spinning. Discuss tackle, tactic's and catches here. Also suggest Lochs, river beats and fisheries here. I got a Sharpes of Aberdeen rod for my birthday after i liked my dads one. Gordon 2 Trout- 9'7'' 7- wt. I have been fishing for almost a year now. I went out a few time with my Dad and really enjoyed it. I usually fish at the fisheries like Loch Insch, Artloch, etc. Haven't been out for a couple of months now though. I might get a permit for some of the rivers this year since the river season starts soon. Tight lines. http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=8163&st=0&p=133462&hl=fishing&fromsearch=1entry133462 Link to comment
K-9 Posted January 13, 2011 Share Posted January 13, 2011 Nae into fishing mate but once had worms!! Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted January 13, 2011 Share Posted January 13, 2011 Nae into fishing mate but once had worms!! And crabs after Munich you said. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted February 14, 2011 Author Share Posted February 14, 2011 Caught my first Rainbow of the year at Loch Insch - a 5 & 1/2 lb 23" long beast Link to comment
Dubai-Dandy Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Caught my first Rainbow of the year at Loch Insch - a 5 & 1/2 lb 23" long beast Hows it fishing if you howked it out wi a net? Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted February 14, 2011 Author Share Posted February 14, 2011 Hows it fishing if you howked it out wi a net? It was hard work today caught it on a weighted green damsel in picture below. Wrestled with it for a good 15 minutes, it took out nearly all my line. Great fighting fish. Link to comment
tainboy Posted February 15, 2011 Share Posted February 15, 2011 dinna like fisheries really - pet trout. like to take wild brownies from rivers and lochs. Had a membership for the Kyle of Sutherland, but given it up due to lack of use on my part. Now have a holiday hoose in Scourie, so hopeing to get up there most weekends this summer for some cracking hill lochs. biggest wild brownie is 2 1/2lb which is decent for a hill loch. 7lb salmon which was a lot of years ago now. Not a huge fan of fishing for salmon as it's more luck than skill but brownies is more skill. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted February 15, 2011 Author Share Posted February 15, 2011 dinna like fisheries really - pet trout. like to take wild brownies from rivers and lochs. Had a membership for the Kyle of Sutherland, but given it up due to lack of use on my part. Now have a holiday hoose in Scourie, so hopeing to get up there most weekends this summer for some cracking hill lochs. biggest wild brownie is 2 1/2lb which is decent for a hill loch. 7lb salmon which was a lot of years ago now. Not a huge fan of fishing for salmon as it's more luck than skill but brownies is more skill. I'm gettin permit for The Deveron this Year, I'll be goin after the wild broons as soon as i can Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted February 15, 2011 Share Posted February 15, 2011 I'm gettin permit for The Deveron this Year, I'll be goin after the wild broons as soon as i can gotta have "clean tackle" for there Have a gander here: http://www.deveronfishing.com/guidance.html Download and complete the form Link to comment
Mouse Posted February 15, 2011 Share Posted February 15, 2011 Rangers are my second team. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted February 15, 2011 Author Share Posted February 15, 2011 gotta have "clean tackle" for there Have a gander here: http://www.deveronfi...m/guidance.html Download and complete the form,Cheers :thumbs: , i understand the reasons for having "clean tackle", i always disinfect my net after fishing anyway, and i can use other rods, reels etc for fishining the river. Do you fish The Deveron much yourself? Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted February 15, 2011 Author Share Posted February 15, 2011 Rangers are my second team. Wrang Bait min. Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted February 16, 2011 Share Posted February 16, 2011 ,Cheers :thumbs: , i understand the reasons for having "clean tackle", i always disinfect my net after fishing anyway, and i can use other rods, reels etc for fishining the river. Do you fish The Deveron much yourself? No but one of my mates is up there all the time thats the reason I know about the disinfecting. He said he would take me with him but due to work I aint been hame for a while. I actually prefer sea fishing but I do like casting the odd fly. We fish off the platforms down here in Angola and I have caught some monsters its pretty scary. Gonna give the deveron a go this year and 75 quid for a season permit its pretty decent. Maybe see you up there. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted February 16, 2011 Author Share Posted February 16, 2011 No but one of my mates is up there all the time thats the reason I know about the disinfecting. He said he would take me with him but due to work I aint been hame for a while. I actually prefer sea fishing but I do like casting the odd fly. We fish off the platforms down here in Angola and I have caught some monsters its pretty scary. Gonna give the deveron a go this year and 75 quid for a season permit its pretty decent. Maybe see you up there. Its Huntly Waters beats i'll be fishing on, i'm from Huntly so i get a residents permit. Costs something like Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted February 25, 2011 Author Share Posted February 25, 2011 Was at Loch Insch yesterday and caught one and also lost one. Today i was at Raemoir Trout Fishery for 4 hours and caught 4 rainbows all on the olive damsel. Tight Lines. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted February 28, 2011 Author Share Posted February 28, 2011 Me and my old man went to Loch Insch again yesterday, it seems to be very under-stocked at the moment with not many anglers were catching fish. I caught one Rainbow around the 2lb mark on an olive damsel while my dad landed 1 around the 1lb mark on a dryfly. Going to head out to Artloch tomorrow for a few hours and see how its fishing. Tight Lines. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted March 2, 2011 Author Share Posted March 2, 2011 Went to Artloch Fishery yesterday and caught nothing Today me and my Dad both went to Glen Of Rothes Fishery and again i caught nothing blanked 2 days running. However my Dad managed to catch 2 using a sinking line with an ace of spades lure. The Fishery manager did give me some good advice on which nymphs and flies to try out next time. Link to comment
athenaeum Posted March 4, 2011 Share Posted March 4, 2011 Bit cold for the rainbows imho Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted March 28, 2011 Author Share Posted March 28, 2011 Thinking about getting a permit for the Inverurie waters in time for the troot season. Haven't cast a line for over a week now, having withdrawal symtoms. Only another 5 days of work to get through. Tight Lines. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 Was up Lochter with my pal yesterday. Actually had a good laugh. Just spinning like, biting like f**k on sweetcorn yesterday. Love fishing but just dont get the time these days. Link to comment
Sploosh Posted October 14, 2011 Share Posted October 14, 2011 Fishing the Liddel Water for the next week. Can't wait. I can get a cast in the river from the front garden. Link to comment