hopeisimportant Posted January 19, 2011 Share Posted January 19, 2011 My car is in need of an MOT and ideally I'd like to get it done near work - in the Bridge of Don. Last year I went to Bon Accord motors behing Morrisons on King Street so would go there again but I'd prefer somewhere in BOD. After a quick search I only found Kenway Tyres. With them being primarily a tyre place, are they able to do any small jobs which may be required should the car fail the MOT? I never trust these tyre shops! Anyone got any recommendations? Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted January 19, 2011 Author Share Posted January 19, 2011 I didn't like the guy at the garage which did last years MOT. He voiced the usual derogatory, cliched remarks about my car so I said to myself I'd never go back - even though the service was ok. However, unless I use Kenway Tyres, it seems they are the most convenient place to use. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted January 19, 2011 Share Posted January 19, 2011 My car is in need of an MOT and ideally I'd like to get it done near work - in the Bridge of Don. Last year I went to Bon Accord motors behing Morrisons on King Street so would go there again but I'd prefer somewhere in BOD. After a quick search I only found Kenway Tyres. With them being primarily a tyre place, are they able to do any small jobs which may be required should the car fail the MOT? I never trust these tyre shops! Anyone got any recommendations?Best go out and see Ginge at Lochside Motors on the back road fae BOD to Dyce Quick and reliable Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted January 19, 2011 Author Share Posted January 19, 2011 Best go out and see Ginge at Lochside Motors on the back road fae BOD to Dyce Quick and reliable Cheers for the recommendation. However, I've just booked it in to Bon Accord where it was done last year despite my dislike to the comments made. It is fine and handy for my flat and they do seem like an honest lot so I'll wait and see. You also gave me a recommendation for an aerial boy late last year but I can't remember who it was. I did phone him for a price but still haven't gone ahead with anything yet as I decided to put it off until after Christmas. What was his name again? Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted January 19, 2011 Share Posted January 19, 2011 Cheers for the recommendation. However, I've just booked it in to Bon Accord where it was done last year despite my dislike to the comments made. It is fine and handy for my flat and they do seem like an honest lot so I'll wait and see. You also gave me a recommendation for an aerial boy late last year but I can't remember who it was. I did phone him for a price but still haven't gone ahead with anything yet as I decided to put it off until after Christmas. What was his name again?Ha Ha. Billy "Bubbles" Ross, Quick Fit Aerials, AKA "The Aerial Boy". Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 19, 2011 Share Posted January 19, 2011 Best go out and see Ginge at Lochside Motors on the back road fae BOD to Dyce Quick and reliableagree with above comment. Used Lochside Motors for the past 8 years for all my work and never once been ripped off and go out their way to help you. Link to comment
Zico Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 Has anyone ever used Gordons Garage or Pittodrie Car Stadium for MOTs, repairs, etc? Any good? Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 Has anyone ever used Gordons Garage or Pittodrie Car Stadium for MOTs, repairs, etc? Any good?Ive used Pittodrie Car Stadium for a repair a few years ago. Did the business like. I know the owners daughter so got a wee deal. Link to comment
Henry Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Any further recommendations for a reliable, independent place in Aberdeen to get an MOT? Brither was asking me if there was a thread on AFChat about MOTs. Link to comment
zebradentist Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 If you think the car has a fair chance of passing first time then I'd consider a council MOT, can read about them here - http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/travel/cheap-mot Guy in the Kittybrewster depot even replaced a bulb for free and didn't fail me because he couldn't be bothered having me going away, replacing it and coming back again Link to comment
Poodler Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Best go out and see Ginge at Lochside Motors on the back road fae BOD to Dyce Quick and reliable He's my grunnies neighbour, he's been brilliant to my family. Never overcharged Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 I'd agree with Lochside Motors. Used them for years and always trust them. Only stopped using them cos of the lack of courtesy car and having to get someone to pick me up. Link to comment
GK55 Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 Ha Ha. Billy "Bubbles" Ross, Quick Fit Aerials, AKA "The Aerial Boy".my football manager - did a job for me recently - did a great job. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted July 24, 2012 Share Posted July 24, 2012 If you think the car has a fair chance of passing first time then I'd consider a council MOT, can read about them here - http://www.moneysavi...ravel/cheap-mot Guy in the Kittybrewster depot even replaced a bulb for free and didn't fail me because he couldn't be bothered having me going away, replacing it and coming back again Aye they are pretty good. Used them all the time when I worked for the Cooncil. Link to comment