fine-n-dandy Posted February 1, 2011 Share Posted February 1, 2011 Deserves a thread, good great game tonight, played really well, great vision & put some great long & short balls forward. He stays fit I hope we extend his Loan or even sign him on.Same for Milsom, get this guy signed on FT Broon Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted February 1, 2011 Share Posted February 1, 2011 Yup, don't need to be a footballing genius to know that Milsom and Smith were by some distance our best players tonight. Would love to see them both signed-up long term but we all know how difficult that can be. Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted February 1, 2011 Share Posted February 1, 2011 Agreed. He defended well and serviced the attack well on occasions too. Milsom was great too. Just a pity they were on the wrong end of the result. Link to comment
winton54 Posted February 1, 2011 Share Posted February 1, 2011 Agreed! looks like a great signing and finally a recognised left back! put in some really meaty challenges tonight aswell which i liked! Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted February 1, 2011 Share Posted February 1, 2011 Yup, don't need to be a footballing genius to know that Milsom and Smith were by some distance our best players tonight. Would love to see them both signed-up long term but we all know how difficult that can be.It's not a great situation, if they perform well then other clubs come sniffing around. Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 1, 2011 Share Posted February 1, 2011 Was very surprised how quickly he settled into the game considering it was his first competitive match since November. As you say hopefully he stays fit as will be a key player for us in the next few months. Link to comment
pittodrie1903 Posted February 1, 2011 Share Posted February 1, 2011 at proper left back at last , good defensively and going forward, happy days Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 It's not a great situation, if they perform well then other clubs come sniffing around.True, but their arrival shows that there are better quality players out there if you know where to look. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 Class act and it showed. Obviously not match fit, but needs must and he was pitched in and aquited himself well. Solid in the tackle, good awareness, movement and passing good also. Another good aquisition by CB & AK. Hopefully we can keep a hold of this guy. Link to comment
carlos Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 some ball he played to maguire just before half time Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 Who was the balloon earlier saying he was pish and not good enough for Aberdeen,the guy looks head and shoulders above anything we have had or got at LB for years Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 Who was the balloon earlier saying he was pish and not good enough for Aberdeen,the guy looks head and shoulders above anything we have had or got at LB for years By default as he's our first natural left back since Dan Smith. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 By default as he's our first natural left back since Dan Smith. Stop the juvenile fishing , Dan Smith wasnt a footballer Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 Stop the juvenile fishing , Dan Smith wasnt a footballer Ok to rephrase he's the first person to be described as an out and out left back since Dan the Shagger. Link to comment
soofking Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 looks pretty composed on the ball and has an eye for a pass. here's hoping he stays fit, enjoys his time up here and decides to sign on for a couple of seasons (yn) Link to comment
phoenix Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 Yup ! Another Earth Sign - a Virgo. We'll have a hale team o' Earth Signs soon ! Steven Smith was born 30 August 1985 in Bellshill and is aScottish professionalfootballer , who is currently on loan to Scottish Premier League sideAberdeen from Norwich City. Virgo - Ox - Wood - Yin - 25 Reminds me of Brian Grant. Mind you they were all cranked up by the occasion last night given the previous 2 recent results and Conso getting red carded ; it was back to the walls STUFF and they did well , in spite of the result. And I like him ! Link to comment
tup Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 He looks and plays like Robbie Neilson He played very well last night, but the game was effectively over after the first minute and the referee was determined to turn a blind eye to brutal Celtic tackling whilst pulling Aberdeen up for every little misdemeanour. Celtic have pulled a masterstroke with their SFA complaints as all referees are now scared to put their head on the block and therefore don't give anything against them. Link to comment
minijc Posted February 2, 2011 Share Posted February 2, 2011 I thought he done really well lastnight. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 19, 2011 Author Share Posted February 19, 2011 BUMP........ How'd he play the day? Have to hope that Norwich get promoted, so we can maybe hopefully keep hold of him. Got to help that his Wife/Girlfriend is from Inverness & that he wanted up to Scotland cos he was homesick Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted February 19, 2011 Share Posted February 19, 2011 BUMP........ How'd he play the day? Have to hope that Norwich get promoted, so we can maybe hopefully keep hold of him. Got to help that his Wife/Girlfriend is from Inverness & that he wanted up to Scotland cos he was homesick He did well today. Its great to have a proper left back in the team. What is the deal with him? Does his contract expire at the end of the season with Norwich? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 19, 2011 Author Share Posted February 19, 2011 He did well today. Its great to have a proper left back in the team. What is the deal with him? Does his contract expire at the end of the season with Norwich? Na, I think he'll still have a year left. Link to comment
minijc Posted February 19, 2011 Share Posted February 19, 2011 Apparently he isn't good enough for us because Norwich wanted rid of him Really hope we can afford to keep him, our defence is now balanced and solid, if it was a facebook status I would like it. Link to comment
redtildead88 Posted February 20, 2011 Share Posted February 20, 2011 He's solid at the back, plays some great balls up the line and good link up play with Aluko. Link to comment
Goose Posted February 20, 2011 Share Posted February 20, 2011 It is amazing how your opinion of a player changes once they play for your club. Thought Smith was a hideous c**t when he was at the Huns but then most of them are. In saying that though, I always thought he was a decent player. Really like this guy now, gets forward and gets stuck in. Proving to be a great bit of business by Brown, even if it is only for the 6 months. Would love to see him signed permanently but I can't see it happening, I hope I am wrong though. Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 20, 2011 Share Posted February 20, 2011 It is amazing how your opinion of a player changes once they play for your club. Thought Smith was a hideous c**t when he was at the Huns but then most of them are. In saying that though, I always thought he was a decent player. Really like this guy now, gets forward and gets stuck in. Proving to be a great bit of business by Brown, even if it is only for the 6 months. Would love to see him signed permanently but I can't see it happening, I hope I am wrong though.Smith was one of the few huns i didn't mind. And that is a rarity seeing as though the majority of them are utter arseholes. Link to comment
Goose Posted February 20, 2011 Share Posted February 20, 2011 Smith was one of the few huns i didn't mind. And that is a rarity seeing as though the majority of them are utter arseholes. My main problem with him was that I had no previous opinion of him before he played for Rangers, all I knew of him was that he was a Rangers player. He was never on the same scale as McCulloch, Naismith or Novo (the list could go on and on) though. He was just simply a Rangers player and that made the slightest little thing he did 10 times worse. Now he is our player though he is a top guy. Football is a funny old game. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted February 20, 2011 Share Posted February 20, 2011 My main problem with him was that I had no previous opinion of him before he played for Rangers, all I knew of him was that he was a Rangers player. He was never on the same scale as McCulloch, Naismith or Novo (the list could go on and on) though. He was just simply a Rangers player and that made the slightest little thing he did 10 times worse. Now he is our player though he is a top guy. Football is a funny old game. One of the most ill informed crass posts i have read on here for a while Link to comment
Red Morning Light Posted February 20, 2011 Share Posted February 20, 2011 Smith was one of the few huns i didn't mind. And that is a rarity seeing as though the majority of them are utter arseholes. Remember seeing him on that Rangers academy programme that was on 5 years back. Always thought he had it. Still a hun like. Link to comment
Goose Posted February 20, 2011 Share Posted February 20, 2011 One of the most ill informed crass posts i have read on here for a while Aye maybe so. I'm not saying I hate Rangers players personally, just when they are playing, especially against us. Really happy with the signing of Smith though as he is quite clearly a good player and seems to have the right attitude. Link to comment
J4MRU Posted February 21, 2011 Share Posted February 21, 2011 Milsom is permanent now I think!! Smith would be good as a permenent deal, I love the aggression of Smith. He gets wired in and his timing in the tackle is great. Good passing and has vision when doing so. Get him in permanently Pa Broon! Link to comment