Things You Love About Aberdeen

Tenerifered

Best thing when I was a kid was the toy shop round the corner from the prince of wales. Was it the toy bazaar? Just discussing that with the missus, telling her about the match stick cars under the glass and the shelves of toys behind the counter that looked miles high when your a nipper.

THAT is an abiding memory for me. That shop was brilliant and I remember it all the time.

What I love about Aberdeen?

It's home.

Anywhere else is a holiday, but Aberdeen for it's faults, is home sweet home to me.

If you want to go down that route...

The Rubber shop

(original) Virgin (next to Mr Bojangles)

Bruce Millers

Pappy Yokums

And Roslynn sports, got my first pair of pumas there, Dalglish Silver.

But aye probably a tangent best left to another thread another day that route.

Rowies definitely, the fitba festival (or used to as a youngin), I miss the smell of doughnuts from the market.

Continuing the nostalgia theme...

Blue Lamp , for drink discovery

Pelican Club, for other discoveries

and for banging various tarts...

Gabriels

Villas

Mr G's

Champers

Liked the original Albyn and Earls Court.

The Blue Lamp

This is a pic I took of Sandy, he fell asleep (at 6pm), just me in the bar (the lampie), stood there for ages watching the telly until he woke up to serve me, didn't have the heart to wake him up.

wwawwh.jpg

We used to bunk off school in 5th year, hide the blazers and go the the lumpie.

Sandy's ma used to own it and serve us.

On my birthday we were having zillions of drinks up the stair, mostly all different inc. Campari and all sorts o sh*t.

Sandy says "You guys are hitting it hard tonight, even for you. Celebrating?"

"Aye, it's my birthday".

"Congratulations. 21?"

"Nah, 18".

Should've seen his face. Good c.unt him, to this day.

Up the stair for a month over Xmas and NY was awesome when you were 17.

Brilliant, he is definitely a good egg, raising a glass to him now. That pic was afore xmas. Been going in there for 17 years, K5 on the juke box, Little red rooster by the rolling stones, that record must be almost 50 years old in that thing.

back in the day when i was a wee cheel....

codonas with sitdown deluxe outruns and space harriers and the death trap that was the sidewinder.

rubislaw quarry

robert raes and that pepe shop on union street

radar's

what's a mock chop? i googled it and got knowhere.

sounds like a move spock would do in this very famous scene in Star Trek "Amok time" music's awesum.

back in the day when i was a wee cheel....

codonas with sitdown deluxe outruns and space harriers and the death trap that was the sidewinder.

rubislaw quarry

robert raes and that pepe shop on union street

radar's

what's a mock chop? i googled it and got knowhere.

sounds like a move spock would do in this very famous scene in Star Trek "Amok time" music's awesum.

I was wondering too. From what I could see from googling, I think it's what's known as a 'king rib supper' elsewhere.

DSC013631.jpg