daytripping Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 The daughter is nipping my head to buy one of these consoles, which one is best?? I've never played an arcade game in all my life but am interested in the PS because of the blue ray, what is the main selling point of the xbox, does it play dvd? Are the games something a early 40's bloke could still master or have I missed the boat? I can forsee going online and being hammered by an 8 year old. Link to comment
dunc_afc Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 I have both but tend to stick to my PS3, Big gamers tend to say that the 360 is the better pure gaming machine but personally I never notice the difference. For a family i would go for the PS3, it is a much better multimedia system: -you can upload movies/ pictures -you can stream 4od/ iplayer/ itvplayer direct to it to watch on tv -t'interweb is free - PS3 move is a better wii style system than kinnect -the controller is much more comfortable -aye, it plays blu-ray, 360 will only play dvds -there are games you will be able to get into, not that hard and the possibilities for the system are huge, playstation have no plans yet for a ps4 so it wont be a redundant machine in 6 months Hope that helps Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 10, 2011 Author Share Posted February 10, 2011 Cheers, that does help a lot, looks like the PS3 would be the best option, been looking at Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 X-Box 360 is better by about 360 country miles but then PS3 controllers are shaped for little kids and females so I'd get her that. Link to comment
seanthesheep Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 X-Box 360 is better by about 360 country miles but then PS3 controllers are shaped for little kids and females so I'd get her that. I have owned both and have to say xbox is better of the 2. I don't understand why previous poster thinks Kinect is not as good as the PS3 move or fitever it's called. It blows it away as far as im concerned. Loads more to come from Kinect as well. Get an Xbox mate. Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 Kinect is what these games are meant to be, wireless motion sensors. The ps3 version is just a carbon copy of the wii with better graphics and a little light bulb at the end of the controller Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 PS3 is the best. Used to have the 360 and always got the dreaded 'Ring of death', which was a right pain in the hoop. Link to comment
buchanskii Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 I'd say xbox 360 is the better console, but I have a PS3 since I just got unlucky and was plagued with the Red Ring of Death all to often. I'd say get a ps3 since you were looking into gett ing a blue-ray player anyway. Link to comment
centraldon Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 Ah. The eternal question. In brief. Playstation for girls and gays. Xbox for blokes. Hope that helped. Ps. The kinect is the dogs bollocks. Dunno about the playstation wii wannabe hand thingy. Looks gay. Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 Ah. The eternal question. In brief. Playstation for girls and gays. Xbox for blokes. Hope that helped. Ps. The kinect is the dogs bollocks. Dunno about the playstation wii wannabe hand thingy. Looks gay.And i thought you were a sensible guy too CD Link to comment
robbo Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 your nicer than me OJ, i was just going to be childish and retort "your fkn gay" Link to comment
Red Morning Light Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 I have owned both and have to say xbox is better of the 2. I don't understand why previous poster thinks Kinect is not as good as the PS3 move or fitever it's called. It blows it away as far as im concerned. Loads more to come from Kinect as well. Get an Xbox mate. If you don't even know what the name is how do you know it blows it away? Typical hard headed Xbox user comment. Go PS3 min. Better all around entertainment centre and way more reliable. If she girns just keep the PS3 for yersel and get her an Xbox 360, fit are they about a fiver now? Link to comment
centraldon Posted February 10, 2011 Share Posted February 10, 2011 And i thought you were a sensible guy too CD Lol. Was keeping it non tech..... The kinect really is very good tho. Makes a great web cam also. Link to comment
thebladder Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Cheers, that does help a lot, looks like the PS3 would be the best option, been looking at Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Proof that it's for people with child or female hands. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 I have an xBox 360 and have absolutely no complaints about it at all. I prefer the controller to the Playstation 3 controller, much more comfortable. There is a great game selection for the xBox and you also have the arcade etc online to allow downloads of games etc. That said, I have played a Playstation 3 a handful of times, so I can't draw any real comparisons. I imagine there is no wrong choice, just depends what you want from it. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Proof that it's for people with child or female hands.Bollocks! Why is it that it hasn't changed in the many different incarnations there has been of it. The X-Box controller is just bulk for bulk's sake. The PS controller doesn't allow people not to play because their hands are too small, the X-Box one does. I know which one I'd rather have! Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Bollocks! Why is it that it hasn't changed in the many different incarnations there has been of it. The X-Box controller is just bulk for bulk's sake. The PS controller doesn't allow people not to play because their hands are too small, the X-Box one does. I know which one I'd rather have!Only a poof with small hands or a female would get this upset about it. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Only a poof with small hands or a female would get this upset about it. Plus, the PS3 controller is a much better shape for slipping up your arse Link to comment
Foster14 Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Plus, the PS3 controller is a much better shape for slipping up your arse Yeah, tried that with my xBox controller and had an all expenses paid trip to A&E. Would definitely do it again. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Yeah, tried that with my xBox controller and had an all expenses paid trip to A&E. Would definitely do it again.You should have to pay for that! Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Plus, the PS3 controller is a much better shape for slipping up your arse Must be a c**t having to lube up those analog sticks. The graphics are basically the same too. Link to comment
Jack_Glass Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 ps3 has a blu ray player & a wider range of games thanks to sony having a major head start in game development, also you don't pay annual internet fee's like you do with the robbing microsoft mob in terms of graphics there's little or no difference bare in mind when xbox was released it was faulty (red ring of death) they have a history of putting things on the market that are not ready for purpose then spend their time playing catchup...think Windows ps3 is easy to add to your home network, has bbc iplayer, love films and other online entertainment channels added from the various software updates, there's the online virtual cmmunity (kids like this) u walk about in a virtual town chatting with yur mates...bit freaky n nerdy if you ask me my kid had an xbox and it had to be sent away twice for repair, when we got it back a 3rd time the chasse was different, looked like an old one...was not please at all, but they do fix things quickly had my ps3 over 2yrs n never had a single problem with it, actually got it free with a tmobile phone contract, started working for tmobile a few weeks after that so ended up with a staff plan and a free ps3 n mobile phone...i was banking on getting the job right enough, frtunately it worked Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 I'm in a similar predicament to the original poster. Though experience has made me wiser. Bought a 360 at launch and amazingly, got 2 years from it before the red ring of death, just as it came out of warranty. So bought an Elite, 3 years down the line, red ring of death. On the contrary, I bought my sister a PS3 just after launch (she was a poor student and promised she'd pay me back, aye right), she still has it, plays it endlessly, and has never, ever had a problem. Consequently, no way I'm buying another Xbox 360, at Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 PS3 is for faggots. If you own a PS3 then you are a faggot. X-Box's are the mutts nuts and they are the future.Don't really know how you come to this conclusion. In what way are they "the future"? Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 ps3 has a blu ray player & a wider range of games thanks to sony having a major head start in game development, also you don't pay annual internet fee's like you do with the robbing microsoft mob in terms of graphics there's little or no difference bare in mind when xbox was released it was faulty (red ring of death) they have a history of putting things on the market that are not ready for purpose then spend their time playing catchup...think Windows ps3 is easy to add to your home network, has bbc iplayer, love films and other online entertainment channels added from the various software updates, there's the online virtual cmmunity (kids like this) u walk about in a virtual town chatting with yur mates...bit freaky n nerdy if you ask me my kid had an xbox and it had to be sent away twice for repair, when we got it back a 3rd time the chasse was different, looked like an old one...was not please at all, but they do fix things quickly had my ps3 over 2yrs n never had a single problem with it, actually got it free with a tmobile phone contract, started working for tmobile a few weeks after that so ended up with a staff plan and a free ps3 n mobile phone...i was banking on getting the job right enough, frtunately it workedI think Halo wipes the floor then shits on it again for you to clean with your first statement. Never had the ring of death and even if I did would still choose Xbox. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Marty McFly told me, so stick that in the pipe.Niiice. Excellent contribution! A games console once it's on the market is never the future. It can only be the present or past. I think Halo wipes the floor then shits on it again for you to clean with your first statement. Never had the ring of death and even if I did would still choose Xbox.Halo? I'm guessing it won't be progressing any further as there won't be much space on the disk. PS3 however... Microsoft made the wrong decision in putting out bowf gear and selecting a very poor disk that was bound to fail from the off. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 First part, HAHAHAHAHA Espcially after your contribution with the second part.Can you start explaining your points. I'd be right all the time if I just replied with "HAHAHAHA. You're wrong" Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 11, 2011 Share Posted February 11, 2011 Pudgie On this topic, I'm right and you're wrong. I don't need to say anymore on the matter because I have seen the future. Kind regardsRobertoXYou dinna half post some pish! Link to comment