vanderark14 Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOKVz2_fMHQ Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Great night, probably the best half time i've ever experienced. Also never watched a game at the corner between the Merkie and Souther, it was packed and everyone was standing - actually a great view point for the game especially with that atmosphere. Special night Link to comment
Leon_Mike Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Quite possibly the last time there was an atmosphere inside Pittodrie.... Agreed. The atmoshpere was alright that night but think Copenhagen edged it. It's confusing though - the vuvuzuelas helped boost the atmosphere at Copenhagen, might have been a little different without them. Anyway, aye - three years is a long time to go without a decent atmosphere Link to comment
Leon_Mike Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Great night, probably the best half time i've ever experienced. Also never watched a game at the corner between the Merkie and Souther, it was packed and everyone was standing - actually a great view point for the game especially with that atmosphere. Special night Were you not up in the cmmentary box that night? Seemed to remember you were for some reason. EDIT: Actually I'm speaking shi'te, I watched the Bayern game from the Main Stand. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Hard to believe that it has been 3 years I headed to game hoping we wouldn't be thrashed but left thinking we could have won. Link to comment
Leon_Mike Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Hard to believe that it has been 3 years I headed to game hoping we wouldn't be thrashed but left thinking we could have won. Even moreso, I left on a plane to M Link to comment
SkyeDon Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 3 years, wow! Absolutely brilliant night, it's probably my best experience at Pittodrie. A couple of Bayern fans wished me a patronising "good luck" that night on King Street, it was them that needed it in the end; in the first leg anyway... Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Came straight from my old pal Keith "Big Jimmy" Nicol's funeral wake to the game. Not ashamed to admit I was crying when I saw the "RIP Jimmy - The Hilton Legend" tribute across the DD stand.That result was for the big man looking down Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted February 14, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 14, 2011 3 years, wow! Absolutely brilliant night, it's probably my best experience at Pittodrie. A couple of Bayern fans wished me a patronising "good luck" that night on King Street, it was them that needed it in the end; in the first leg anyway... I hope your reply was "F.uck you ye Kraut K.unts" Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 LUCA TONI SHAGS ALSATIANS NA NA NA NA NA, NA NA NA NA!!! Link to comment
Brochdoll Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 LUCA TONI SHAGS GOLDFISH NA NA NA NA NA, NA NA NA NA!!!at the return leg Link to comment
K-9 Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 3 years ago today since wife proposed to me during game!! Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 So impressive when you look at the quality they had on the the field. Ze Roberto, Schweinsteiger, Toni, Klose, Lahm & podolski just to name a few. & even crazier is the fact that Diamond had Luca Toni in his back pocket Link to comment
northside Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Came straight from my old pal Keith "Big Jimmy" Nicol's funeral wake to the game. Not ashamed to admit I was crying when I saw the "RIP Jimmy - The Hilton Legend" tribute across the DD stand.That result was for the big man looking down Yeah was a day of mixed emotions, after the funeral quite a few of us and the Millwall lads met up in the Broadhill before going across and laying the wreath outside the RDS, was very emotional and even more so when said flag was draped over the RDS for all to see (Red Ultras take a bow) When the teams came out i was so pumped up and wanting a win for the big man it was unbelievable, the side didn't dissapoint and we were very very good that night, done the big man proud and even the Millwall lads were impressed by the atmosphere and the way the team went in about the big shots from Munich! R.I.P Jimmy, gone but never forgotten :thumbs: Link to comment
pullman_du Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 disaster I missed the game that night, boycott was on though and I couldn't break it not even for the euro games. was at the funeral though, a great turnout for a great lad. Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 ....crazy to think one of their players would clear our debt. Link to comment
Brown4pm Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Came straight from my old pal Keith "Big Jimmy" Nicol's funeral wake to the game. Not ashamed to admit I was crying when I saw the "RIP Jimmy - The Hilton Legend" tribute across the DD stand.That result was for the big man looking down Yeah was the same Ollie. Had a tear in my eye as soon as i turned onto Merkland road and seen the sign. Hard to believe it has been 3 years since Jimmys funeral. RIP Jimmy Link to comment
Westhill Red Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Greatest Valentines day of my life so far, I think this will be hard to top! I still remember the shock and adrenaline of our two goals hitting the back of the net! Link to comment
Red Morning Light Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Luca toni is a c**t. Link to comment
pullman_du Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 Luca toni is a c**t. ... and now he sleeps with the fishes. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 ... and now he sleeps with the fishes. Link to comment
pullman_du Posted February 14, 2011 Share Posted February 14, 2011 ahaha, aye, that's the laddy. Link to comment
foolsgold 9.53 Posted February 15, 2011 Share Posted February 15, 2011 Came straight from my old pal Keith "Big Jimmy" Nicol's funeral wake to the game. Not ashamed to admit I was crying when I saw the "RIP Jimmy - The Hilton Legend" tribute across the DD stand.That result was for the big man looking down Here's my pics of the night, along with some taken for us from Section Y & Paddock..... it was a busy time with all the coreography prep. My missus was the inspiration for it as she said what did i want to do for valetines day, of course i said we had bayern at home and i jokingly said i only had 'one love' .....she knows that but wisnae happy all the same!!!! I had planned the original display to have a heart as the card display but we decided to change it to blocks due to the early KO time change in case folk not arriving mucked up the heart outline.Plan 2 was for the the 'one love' banner to have a heart around the badge but we did not have big enough premises to get it laid out so we had to scrap it the night before.Plan 3 was what you see in the pics. I also had a video clip of when we painted the banner in the beach end, i walked along filming it and said a few words with a view to passing it onto JN's family, i canna find it now, i guess it may have got deleted by accident due to lack of memory card space I have a vid clip of the JN banner as the coreography started and the one love banner coming down over the top of it. The 'Schickeria' banner in the pictures belonging to Bayerns main group seen on the advertising boards is banned at the Allianz arena as is the schickeria group itself so only a huge 'munchen' banner is present.Many of their top members were / are still banned from the Allianz arena.Had a great night in town with some bayern lads and met up with them again in munich and spend the 2nd half of the away match in their section Link to comment
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted February 15, 2011 Share Posted February 15, 2011 Very, very special night at Pittodrie. One which I, and thousands of others, will never forget with our 'One Love'. Foolsgold 9.53, it was a fantastic display which I proudly contributed to by holding up my wee red bit of card! Even only 3 years later I can point out to my wee nephew where I was in the crowd, and I still have the One Love display photograph on my office wall. The following morning I almost slept in for my 0630 flight from Edinburgh to Tenerife! Turned up at check-in still half-pissed!, Aberdeen top on as well as Aberdeen woolie hat (as hadn't done my hair!!) The amount of positive comments from fellow travellers was brilliant, which kept up the "high" of the result. That 2 week holiday in Tenerife had been booked 9-10 months previously for my 40th Birthday. At the start of the footie season 07/08 a friend (Jute) said, but thats when the last 32 of UEFA Cup is. I laughed!! He got opportunity for "telt you"! on bus home from Copenhagen game! Fortunately for me, my 40th pressie was return flights from Tenerife to Munich with 2 nights in a hotel Despite the score, it was a fantastic experience, with the added bonus of heading back to the sunshine in Tenerife rather than home! Link to comment
foolsgold 9.53 Posted February 15, 2011 Share Posted February 15, 2011 Very, very special night at Pittodrie. One which I, and thousands of others, will never forget with our 'One Love'. Foolsgold 9.53, it was a fantastic display which I proudly contributed to by holding up my wee red bit of card! Even only 3 years later I can point out to my wee nephew where I was in the crowd, and I still have the One Love display photograph on my office wall. The following morning I almost slept in for my 0630 flight from Edinburgh to Tenerife! Turned up at check-in still half-pissed!, Aberdeen top on as well as Aberdeen woolie hat (as hadn't done my hair!!) The amount of positive comments from fellow travellers was brilliant, which kept up the "high" of the result. That 2 week holiday in Tenerife had been booked 9-10 months previously for my 40th Birthday. At the start of the footie season 07/08 a friend (Jute) said, but thats when the last 32 of UEFA Cup is. I laughed!! He got opportunity for "telt you"! on bus home from Copenhagen game! Fortunately for me, my 40th pressie was return flights from Tenerife to Munich with 2 nights in a hotel Despite the score, it was a fantastic experience, with the added bonus of heading back to the sunshine in Tenerife rather than home! Great to see what can be done when everyone works together A_L I still have my old RU calendar and would happily pay for a new one each year if they were available with the current dates as it's great to have on the office wall. Link to comment
Sonic Posted February 15, 2011 Share Posted February 15, 2011 Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Thank you jimmy calderwood. If only we knew... And Darren Mackie. And Jamie Smith. Link to comment
JAMJAR Posted February 15, 2011 Share Posted February 15, 2011 Wonderful memories of that day Watched the game on the pay-as-you-go television monitors, with my wife having contractions a week early of due date, in the maternity hospital in the ward prior to labour rooms with 2 main stand seat tickets just above the away dugout in my wallet. I could see my empty seats every time the cameras showed the dug out areas. Fantastic game, great score, wife hung on until end of game when the midwifes then insisted we proceed to a labour room. Our first born - my son - born early the following morning. His 3rd birthday today! Link to comment