vanderark14 Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/2150092 Link to comment
tup Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 I'd be absolutely delighted if they both sign. Milsom has been highly impressive so far, and Maguire is pivotal to our future. Brown has barely made a bad call so far, perhaps playing three at the back at Hampden was his only faux pas since joining. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Be interesting to know how much time Brown has given Maguire? Link to comment
paddy Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 I suspect the deal offered to maguire would make him one of the highest paid players at the club. Link to comment
tup Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Be interesting to know how much time Brown has given Maguire? I think he'll sign, his prospects are far better now than they were in December. I don't think we need ultimatums just now as the transfer window is closed for a while, just give Maguire what he wants and be done with it is my view. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 I think he'll sign, his prospects are far better now than they were in December. I don't think we need ultimatums just now as the transfer window is closed for a while, just give Maguire what he wants and be done with it is my view.He needs us just as much as we need him if not more. No clubs came in for him January, we still hold a few cards yet before we give in to his every request.Give him an offer, a date in which he must sign, if not Link to comment
tup Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 He needs us just as much as we need him if not more. No clubs came in for him January, we still hold a few cards yet before we give in to his every request.Give him an offer, a date in which he must sign, if not He's got every right to ask to be one of our top earners. If my information is correct and the first offer made was Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 He's got every right to ask to be one of our top earners. If my information is correct and the first offer made was Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 He's got every right to ask to be one of our top earners. If my information is correct and the first offer made was Link to comment
tup Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Who? I seriously doubt it was 1300 a week, last check Ifil was on about 3/4 a week. Before he was punted that is. Im not sure if he does want to stay Tup, it would seem he's only interested in getting his big money move out of here. I have to disagree, I think he does want to stay but is obviously keeping his options open given the low offer initially made. Hence we need to up that considerably. Wolves made an enquiry about signing him, obviously they ended up signing Griffiths instead at a much lower price. But January is never a good time to do business and you can be certain there will be several clubs interested in him in June if he does not sign a contract. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Not to split hairs, but I head Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 I'm easy osey regarding Maguire - would like him to stay but the Link to comment
tup Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Not to split hairs, but I head Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 I have to disagree, I think he does want to stay but is obviously keeping his options open given the low offer initially made. Hence we need to up that considerably. Wolves made an enquiry about signing him, obviously they ended up signing Griffiths instead at a much lower price. But January is never a good time to do business and you can be certain there will be several clubs interested in him in June if he does not sign a contract. Does it not tell you something that Wolves signed a younger less established lad over Maguire who had been an SPL first team player for the last few seasons? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Lets not turn this thread into another "I hate Maguire" thread!!! I'd be delighted if both signed, havent had a chance to really see Milsom much this year but i've heard good things! Looking forwards to next season when we have two gingers running the show in midfield!! Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Hope they both sign, but I will be very surprised if Maguire does Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 yeah? what makes you so sure of that?What of his performances from this season do you feel he deserves a new deal? Lets not turn this thread into another "I hate Maguire" thread!!! I'd be delighted if both signed, havent had a chance to really see Milsom much this year but i've heard good things! Looking forwards to next season when we have two gingers running the show in midfield!!No no, not what i insuating at all. There is no denying Maguire has potential, if anyone could get it out of him id bet Brown and Knox could. Would be a positive move for the club so secure both signatures. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Does it not tell you something that Wolves signed a younger less established lad over Maguire who had been an SPL first team player for the last few seasons? Yep, they wanted someone with a good attitude and excellent discipline obviously... Griffiths has gone there and won't see first team football for years, short of them going down and Fletcher, Doyle and co demanding moves. I think Maguire realises a move at this time in his career where would have to unsurp two strikers who cost Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 New KeeperMcNamee New CH New CH Smith Hartley/Jack Pawlett Fyvie Milsom Maguire Vernon Acceptable Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Hopfully Paul Milsom signs ASAP, putting pressure on Maguire and making him look like a fud as he dithers and tries to come up with an elaborate excuse to put things off. Willie McKay will be on Maguires 3rd mobile phone as I type "Aye but wee man, look at McCarthy and McArthur at wigan etc etc". Dons should be awkward as f+ck during the tribunal, citing every little detail - I reckon we could push Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 24, 2011 Author Share Posted February 24, 2011 if i was him, i wouldnt why would he? he can go to a club that will not only pay him more, but also have supporters that dont get on his back even when he scores the winning goal when did this happen? Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 24, 2011 Author Share Posted February 24, 2011 Hopfully Paul Milsom signs ASAP, putting pressure on Maguire and making him look like a fud as he dithers and tries to come up with an elaborate excuse to put things off. Willie McKay will be on Maguires 3rd mobile phone as I type "Aye but wee man, look at McCarthy and McArthur at wigan etc etc". Dons should be awkward as f+ck during the tribunal, citing every little detail - I reckon we could push Link to comment
Red Loon Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Think Bebo shoud sign The recent history of Dons players going south to find fame and fortune is not good AndersonSeverinBarry NicClarkHeikennen (still cannae spell it)Hart etcetc Link to comment
Foster14 Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Think Bebo shoud sign The recent history of Dons players going south to find fame and fortune is not good AndersonSeverinBarry NicClarkHeikennen (still cannae spell it)Hart etcetc To be honest, that might be a reason for him to consider going, all those left it till later in their careers. He could look at McNaughton as the last similar example, and if he wasn't so injury prone he would have been a Scotland star by now and perhaps have earned a move to the EPL ) the Cardiff fans rate him highly when he is fit). Link to comment
K-9 Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 I'm easy osey regarding Maguire - would like him to stay but the Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 see loads of figures being chucked about... Ifil was on 2400 (or 2800) McGhee said so himself in the papers at the time. (just cant remember which figure)Maguire was offered more than the 1300 or 1400 thats being said as well. No idea how much more but Fyvie, Paton and Pawlett are all on 1K a week each plus playing bonuses etc so there is no way they'd offer Maguire, 1st team regular and a potential cash cow only 300 quid more. Saying all that, I agree with tuppy. Give Maguire and Milsom nice big contracts, 3 years, get them signed and then move onto looking for a replacement keeper and central defender (I know you disgree with the central defender bit tup but Diamond is sh*te!, fact and because I've said fact that now makes it 100% true, FACT) Not a fan of Aluko's at all but if he carries on as he is now he's back from injury then I'd also give him the same offer as Maguire... Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Hopfully Paul Milsom signs ASAP, putting pressure on Maguire and making him look like a fud as he dithers and tries to come up with an elaborate excuse to put things off. Willie McKay will be on Maguires 3rd mobile phone as I type "Aye but wee man, look at McCarthy and McArthur at wigan etc etc". Dons should be awkward as f+ck during the tribunal, citing every little detail - I reckon we could push Link to comment
tup Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Griffiths has gone there and won't see first team football for years He'll be playing for them soon enough, once he gets his diet and fitness in line with his team mates. Wolves got an absolute steal with Griffiths at Link to comment
Foster14 Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 He'll be playing for them soon enough, once he gets his diet and fitness in line with his team mates. Wolves got an absolute steal with Griffiths at £150k, it's only because most of our clubs are effectively bankrupt that the English teams can offer such derisory sums for our best youngsters. It only took McCarthy and McArthur a matter of weeks to make the transition from Hamilton to Wigan. We massively undervalue the talent we have in this country. Not sure on that one. Work with some Dundee regulars and although he does bang in the goals in spells, his attitude and discipline are apalling. He wasn't even always a regular starter at Dundee due to this (not just suspensions, but often benched). Maybe moving down there will get him out of the spotlight which he may be in a fair bit in the central belt and Dundee and he may wisen up a bit. Just can't see him getting the opportunity to make an impact any time soon unless they get relegated and some players move on. Link to comment
tup Posted February 24, 2011 Share Posted February 24, 2011 Not sure on that one. Work with some Dundee regulars and although he does bang in the goals in spells, his attitude and discipline are apalling. He wasn't even always a regular starter at Dundee due to this (not just suspensions, but often benched). Maybe moving down there will get him out of the spotlight which he may be in a fair bit in the central belt and Dundee and he may wisen up a bit. Just can't see him getting the opportunity to make an impact any time soon unless they get relegated and some players move on. It will sort him out, let's be frank and say professionalism is hardly considered important in Scotland. Adam was hounded at Rangers not so long ago, and was branded as having a bad attitude. Take these guys away from all the sh*te that goes on up here with their pals and weekend long benders, and soon enough the footballer will come shining through again. Griffiths has talent. Link to comment