terenceandphilip Posted February 28, 2011 Share Posted February 28, 2011 Steven Davies said he wants be known as "a good cricketer, not a gay cricketer. Quite right, and he's quite right to say so. What got me bogged down in semantics today was when the bbc radio news informed me that he was 'the first gay cricketer to come out'. I've spend the rest of the day wondering if that's correct. He is certainly the first cricketer (professional) to 'come out' but implied in that statement above is the idea there have been other gay cricketers who remained silence. You'd suspect there must have been, but really, to be entirely accurate, the bbc should have reported that Steve Davies is the first gay cricketer - so far as we know. Anyway, I've got no prejudices that I know of and he's a brave man. And he's a gay wicketkeeper. Wonder if any football keepers are? Link to comment
scarlet pimpernel Posted February 28, 2011 Share Posted February 28, 2011 Brave ? Wouldn't say that, this is 2011 and nobody gives a rats arse if folk are gay or not. Think it's only the gays themselves that obsess about it. Link to comment
Slimfella Posted February 28, 2011 Share Posted February 28, 2011 I find it odd how, in some cases, people define themselves by what they like to stick their c0ck into for 90 seconds after MOTD on a Saturday. I had this mate at Uni who was gay (prob still is) and he would talk about c0cks etc all the time, shout at the top of his voice "HI LADIES!!" as you walked into a pub. Fair dos we would talk about birds and that, but it was constant about c0cks this and c0cks that, I think he had c0cks for his dinner. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted February 28, 2011 Share Posted February 28, 2011 No jokes about batting for the other team? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 1, 2011 Share Posted March 1, 2011 Brave ? Wouldn't say that, this is 2011 and nobody gives a rats arse if folk are gay or not. Think it's only the gays themselves that obsess about it. correct. he lives in a sporting bubble. brave doesnt come into it.i couldnt care less about his private life, nor that of hetrosexual footballers like john terry and wayne rooney.and neither do the right-minded majority of the u.k. Link to comment
tup Posted March 1, 2011 Share Posted March 1, 2011 I assumed all cricketers were homos. What stunning revelations next, the sky is blue? Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted March 1, 2011 Share Posted March 1, 2011 trying to tell me this cxnt wisnae a buftie ? Link to comment
Monkey Posted March 1, 2011 Share Posted March 1, 2011 Misleading title, there was already an "out" cricketer albeit he came out after he stopped playing.My link Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 1, 2011 Share Posted March 1, 2011 look at me,.... look at me,... i'm so gay,... i love men,....oooohhh, hello sailor,......look at me. i'm no different to you though. Link to comment
wilco91 Posted March 1, 2011 Share Posted March 1, 2011 Another reason not watch watch cricket Link to comment
minijc Posted March 1, 2011 Share Posted March 1, 2011 I play cricket, season starts in a couple of months. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted March 1, 2011 Share Posted March 1, 2011 I play cricket, season starts in a couple of months. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 1, 2011 Share Posted March 1, 2011 I play cricket, season starts in a couple of months. How long before your out? Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 17, 2011 Share Posted March 17, 2011 CREEPY cricket fan: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6C6oh8B5M8wee giggle at the lad 0.50 picking his nose. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted March 17, 2011 Share Posted March 17, 2011 CREEPY cricket fan: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6C6oh8B5M8I actually watched this game live, must of been nothing else on that day while I had breakfast. I can't believe they kept the camera on him for so long. As for a gay cricketer, who gives a toss? All these people in the public eye 'coming out' is getting a little boring unless it's 17 year old female Russian gymnasts or the whole Brazilian women beach volley ball team admitting they like a bit of carpet. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted March 17, 2011 Share Posted March 17, 2011 Just had a thought, what if an AFC player came out, what would you think? What do you think the rest of the support would think about it? I think it's obvious how opposition supports would treat him especially since we can possibly be the cruelest set of supports in the country. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted March 18, 2011 Share Posted March 18, 2011 Just had a thought, what if an AFC player came out, what would you think? What do you think the rest of the support would think about it? I think it's obvious how opposition supports would treat him especially since we can possibly be the cruelest set of supports in the country. A few poofs in our team or it seems that way at least. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 18, 2011 Share Posted March 18, 2011 Just had a thought, what if an AFC player came out, what would you think? What do you think the rest of the support would think about it? I think it's obvious how opposition supports would treat him especially since we can possibly be the cruelest set of supports in the country.Has happened before. Don't think anyone bothered then as he was such a good player. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted March 18, 2011 Share Posted March 18, 2011 I actually watched this game live, must of been nothing else on that day while I had breakfast. I can't believe they kept the camera on him for so long. As for a gay cricketer, who gives a toss? All these people in the public eye 'coming out' is getting a little boring unless it's 17 year old female Russian gymnasts or the whole Brazilian women beach volley ball team admitting they like a bit of carpet.The bowler? Just had a thought, what if an AFC player came out, what would you think? What do you think the rest of the support would think about it? I think it's obvious how opposition supports would treat him especially since we can possibly be the cruelest set of supports in the country.Maybe the sight of those fit young men in tight fitting tops and shorts is the reason for Maguires tongue hingin' oot. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 Has happened before. Don't think anyone bothered then as he was such a good player.But none of the current team are fit to lace his boots so could be open to receiving more stick from the fans. Also now we have the internet where information is widely spread, back then I would guess many wouldn't of been aware of his preferences. Link to comment
minijc Posted April 30, 2011 Share Posted April 30, 2011 Got first match of the season today at Duthie park, superb day for it. Link to comment