Qpr's Adel Taarabt Wins Football League Player Of Year

To be fair he's a very good ball player in a league full of beefed up hatchet men, so he stands out a mile.

He probably is the standout but my point is that it is March and still fair chunk of the season to go which makes player of the year awards in March ludicrous.

Aye but I can see their point, none of the other clubs have anyone near as skilful, the default approach is brawn over ability in that division, so I think, given the rise of QPR, Taarabt deserves it.

There's too many teams like Sheffield United who just fill the team with brutal players and make it their duty to kick lumps out of their opponents and bruise them into submission.

Aye but Tup what K9 is saying is he is brilliant in that league but he could go on to play absolutely honking in the next two months. He'll then still be classed as the player who not is the most skillful but has performed at the highest standard for the whole season.

But you don't see massive variations in anything over that small a part of the season, he's hardly going to lose his ability, so if he deserves it now, and bear in mind he's the standout by some distance in that division, it's highly unlikely to change much in two months, keeping in mind the general lack of skill on display elsewhere in the league.

Taraabt could easily play for one of the top clubs in Europe, I'm not sure you could say that about many others in the English second division.

But you don't see massive variations in anything over that small a part of the season, he's hardly going to lose his ability, so if he deserves it now, and bear in mind he's the standout by some distance in that division, it's highly unlikely to change much in two months, keeping in mind the general lack of skill on display elsewhere in the league.

Taraabt could easily play for one of the top clubs in Europe, I'm not sure you could say that about many others in the English second division.

I agree this season he was the clear winner but they have the awards at this time of year every season. It won't be long before their big league has their awards too. It should be an end of season thing.

I think Taarabt would struggle in the EPL. I don't think QPR can allow him the freedom they do just now in the league above and I can't see any of the other teams taking a punt and giving him that free role he needs either.

Could definitely see him starring in the Continental leagues though.

tup in foreign fitba post shocker.

poty awards in march. its obvioulsy premature.

why cant it be announced after the final game?

pretty sure though the epl one will be announced very shortly too, from memory i think it happens to early also.

Bluto in following tups post shocker

perhaps both of you could give it a rest

you're wrong - entirely.

the guy could have a poor mentality and bottle it in the run in, or he could have a Balotelli-esque breakdown and cost his team promotion

bottom line is, you dont know the answer until the end of the season which is when the awards should be

80% of the season is finished, whether he costs his team promotion is irrelevant as it's about the best player and not the best team.

I'm saying the answer at the end of the season will be the same as now.

Is this award for 'player of the year' (i.e. player of 2010, in which caseit's OK to announce in March) or player of the 10/11 season?

Taarabt was a skillful player the few times I saw him play for Spurs but obviously he couldn't get enough games. However, for QPR he's been a stand out player in that league.

Not guilty squire, I've been doing my best to ignore him.

i must be getting to you cause you've changed since your ab-mad days!

;)

on top though - surely you canna think its right to dish out an award 3/4ths of the way through the season.

importantly, when did the voting start?

Aye well the point of it is so they can have an expensive backslapping ceremony at the end of the season, with expensive champagne and lobster and all the other nonsense quaffed by the rich and famous.

These things take time to prepare, so my guess is that's why it's announced now.

youre probably right.

but why dont they do it as a finale at the cup final night? or curtain raiser before the charity shield?

a random sunday night when there is plenty to play for is silly.

same with the world poty.

why do they do it over a calander year?

makes no sense in football world

Think he's a cracking player but agree with K-9 here, a bit silly, weird thing about the player is that Warnock himself said that had he been offered a player of his type 10 years ago he'd have told them where to go as he has loads of faults but now that he has changed his managerial style he loves te gu y and what he brings to the side as he has other players in the team to do the work Taarabt doesn't do.